Intro

NordicTrack Commercial 1750 Treadmill

The NordicTrack Commercial 1750 (C 1750) is one of the highest-rated treadmills the manufacturer produces, which is saying quite a bit since some of its “little brothers” are highly rated as well. That said, it does have its problems, which we’ll get into in the pros & cons.

The NordicTrack C1750 features a 3.8 CHP motor, 20″ x 60″ running surface, built-in iFit Live (with Google Maps), 7″ full-color touch screen display, iPod compatibility, Quadflex Cushioning and much, much more.

Learn more by reading our NordicTrack Commercial 1750 review below…


Video
Video Overview of the NordicTrack Commercial 1750:


Compare

Wondering if the NordicTrack Commercial 1750 is your best bet? Compare it to similar treadmills below:

Here are some other great treadmills you might be interested in:


Properties

Model NordicTrack
Commercial 1750
Rating

Our custom rating considers all of the treadmill's features, specs, warranties, and 100's of user & expert reviews, to save you time!

NT Commercial 1750 Rating: 93.6/100
Rating: 93.6%
List Price

Suggested retail price, typically higher than the price you'll pay with our recommended retailers.

$2,499.00
Best Price

Since prices change daily, this link goes to our preferred retailer for the current best price. Note: MSRP stands for Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price.

$1,499.99
Speed

Treadmill Speed is measured in Miles Per Hour (mph). Average running speed is 5-9 mph.

0 - 12 mph
Incline

Treadmill Incline measures the angle of the deck, and how steep it is relative to the floor (0% is flat, and 15% is like a steep hill).

-3 - 15%
Visit Site

After carefully evaluating each online retailer that offers this Treadmill, this is the website we recommend purchasing from.

Motor

The Treadmill Motor is what turns the belt as you run. We recommend at least 2 HP (Horsepower) motors, 2.5+ HP for jogging, and 3.0+ HP for running.

3.8 CHP
Deck

Treadmill Deck dimensions are measured in inches: Width x Length. The wider and longer the deck, the safer it is (55-60 inches long recommended for running).

20" x 60"
Belt

The Treadmill Belt is the surface you run on. The thicker the belt, the less impact on your joints. At least 2-ply (1 inch) recommended.

Runner's Flex Cushioning
Folding?

Some treadmills are designed to conserve space by folding up. This is a convenient option, but some features might be reduced.

Programs

Treadmill Programs allow you to complete a workout with changing speeds and inclines, without changing anything manually.

40
Max. Weight

Treadmill Max User Weight is the amount of weight, in pounds (lbs), that it can safely support, which can represent durability.

400 lbs
Heart Rate

Heart Rate programs allow you to track how many times your heart is beating per minute (bpm), and some control the workout for you.

CardioGrip™ Heart Rate Monitor w/ Polar® Wireless
Dimensions

Dimensions are included to help you figure out if this treadmill will fit properly (Length x Width x Height and Height x Depth).

82" x 36" x 60"
Weight: 315 lbs
Rollers: 3"
Display

Treadmill Display refers to the screen you'll look at to monitor workouts. LED and LCD displays are similar to TV screens.

7" Full Color Touch Screen
Easy Fold Up

Easy Fold Up is a feature that makes folding your treadmill much easier. Some manufacturers include a one-button fold feature.

Pulse Grips

Pulse Grips are handles you can hold while exercising to monitor your true heart rate.

Cooling Fans

Treadmill Cooling Fans are designed to help keep you cool during an intense workout.

Accessory Tray

Some treadmills include an accessory tray for holding items such as water bottles, wallets, keys, or MP3 players like iPods.

Music Ready

Treadmills that are music ready allow you to plug a music-playing device (iPod, smartphone, etc.) directly into the machine.

Sound System

Treadmills that include a sound system allow you to listen to your MP3 player/iPod through built-in speakers (no headphones).

Quick Controls

Quick Controls allow you to select speed, incline and even workout programs with the touch of a button (usually on the handles).

iFit

iFit is an online service that lets you map and simulate runs from anywhere in the world, and track your progress wirelessly!

Built-in TV

Treadmills that have a TV built in make it easier to get through your workouts by focusing on the TV while you're exercising.

Warranty

The warranty is a very important part of your investment. The longer the warranty, the longer you can get free/discounted repairs by the manufacturer.

Frame: Lifetime
Deck: Lifetime
Motor: Lifetime
Parts: 5 Years
Electronics: 5 Years
Labor: 2 Years
Best Deal

We do not sell Treadmills; we are a free Treadmill Reviews service. This link goes to our top-rated retailer for the NordicTrack Commercial 1750

Full Review

Quick Summary
Rating: 93.6/100. One of their top rated treadmills, the NordicTrack C 1750 has more features than we’ve seen on anything else under $1,500. Its only major drawbacks are the Android technology sometimes malfunctioning, incline calibration issues, and slow customer support if problems come up.

Pros:
- Wide running surface (20″ x 60″ deck)
- Positive incline as well as negative decline
- Music friendly (mp3, built-in speakers)
- iFit Live built-in w/ Google Maps
- Lifetime guarantee on frame, deck, motor
- Large, full-color touch screen display

Cons:
- Android OS malfunctions in some machines
- If computer malfunctions, machine is unusable
- Not very portable at 315 lbs. (but does fold)
- If problems arise, support takes too long
- Incline calibration is difficult
- Max speed can be off on some machines

Update: We heard complaints about the 2011′s Android technology malfunctioning, but only a few about the 2012.

While the C 1750′s specs and features are fantastic, poor customer support and malfunctioning technology are serious issues when investing $1,500 in a treadmill, so here are some similar models to consider in this price range:

- Similar specs and price: Sole F83
- Lower price and feature like iFit: LiveStrong LS13.0t

Introduction

The NordicTrack Commercial 1750 has industry-standard specs across the board, as well as numerous quality extras that make the treadmill one of the most popular on the market.

The C1750 is able to power just about any user on a 3.8 CHP motor, 20″ x  60″ running surface, highly durable frame, with 40 workout apps.

The treadmill also is equipped with iFit Live, iPod dock, Intermix Acoustics 3.0 built-in speakers, integrated iPad holder and 7″ HD touch screen display.

If that is not enough, the C1750 has one of the best warranty packages on the market (more info, below), making it a very good value at  $1,500.

Workout Programs

Get the results you want with 40 built-in workouts designed by a Certified Personal Trainer. Users may select from ten All-Terrain Workouts or twenty Quick Calorie Workouts that automatically adjust your speed and incline to match your workout goals.

The NordicTrack C1750 also already has iFit Live built-in to the treadmill. Which means, unlike other treadmills available, you will not need to purchase the wireless adapter (commonly sold separately) in order to enjoy iFit.

Sign up for membership and get instant access to workout programs from Jillian Michaels as well as access to Google Maps, a revolutionary new feature that re-creates actual terrain or allows you to create your own maps.

Select a map and iFit automatically adjusts speed and incline to match the actual territory. We have had a few customer complaints about the Android technology not working, which is clearly important to note.

The NordicTrack C1750 provides the Set-a-Goal Workout Center for further customization.

Get the most intense workout possible with heart rate monitor easily accessible through built-in pulse grips or Polar heart rate monitor.

Treadmill Features

Listen to tunes on your iPod with the built-in dock and enjoy solid sound on Intermix Acoustics 3.0 speakers.

Exercise data and other information looks amazing on the HD 7″ full-color touch screen display. Navigating through iFit Live workout stats and options have never been easier. Quickly view your speed, time, distance, calories burned, pulse and incline on the large, easy-to-read display.

Stay cool and comfortable with a large, 8″ AutoBreeze workout fan which automatically adjusts the airflow on the fan based on how hard you are exercising.

Keep your bones and joints protected with commercial-grade Runner’s Flex cushioning on a spacious 20″ x 60″ running surface. Protecting your back, hips, knees and joints is one of the many advantages to owning a treadmill.

Quickly adjust speed and incline with 1-Touch controls. The NordicTrack C1750 reaches speeds of 12 mph and incline of 15 percent, as well as a negative incline which targets other muscles.

When not in use, the NordicTrack C1750 easily folds with Space-Saver technology. It’s a nice option, though the trainer is not very portable at 315 lbs.

Now available on the 2013 edition, the NordicTrack C1750 also features an integrated rack for your iPad. A sturdy, removable bracket holds your iPad in place while you workout. It’s located at eye-level above the display, so you can easily view your screen without disrupting your workout.

Warranty & Guarantee

The NordicTrack C1750 treadmill warranty and guarantee includes:

- Frame: Lifetime
- Deck: Lifetime
- Motor: Lifetime
- Parts & Electronics: 5 Years
- Labor: 2 years (in-home)

NordicTrack has a 30-day money back guarantee on all exercise equipment. Dial 1-866-896-9777 for questions and concerns.

Conclusion

The NordicTrack C1750 is a very good treadmill, though Android OS and computer malfunctions on the console are obvious questions of concern.

At the end of the day, the NordicTrack C1750 is backed by one of the best warranties on the market, which can make up for its occasional technology flaws, making it one of the better treadmills on the market.

123 Comments

  1. Skip
    January 17, 2012

    We were very please with this unit when it arrived, looks very sharp and the display is great.
    The new smell hasn’t even worn off and we are already starting to see problems. The entire unit is completely dependent on the on board computer (running Android OS), it gives it some great features but it can just as easily cause problems. Our’s is quite often completely unusable, even in manual mode, because the computer is locked up.
    Service is very difficult to deal with and requires very a long (30-45 minutes) wait on hold. This has been the result for several calls, not just a random call during their peak time.
    I did a fair amount of research on this treadmill before I bought and found plenty of good reviews. However now that the product has been out for a little while when I look at the reviews again, I see that many people are having problems with them. Most of the positive reviews are based on initial use. I can’t recall a positive review that indicated it had been used for any length of time.
    Everyone seems to agree that you get a lot of features for a low price. I think it is safe to say now that durability/quality is not part of the package.

  2. Kyle
    January 17, 2012

    Hi Skip,

    Wow, thanks for bringing that to our attention! We really appreciate the feedback.

    Sorry their support hasn’t been very helpful too. We have seen that with other customers (persistence is key unfortunately), but we didn’t know about the computer issues.

    For anyone considering the 1750 that’s worried about this problem, check out our comparison of the top Treadmills in the $1,000 – $1,500 price range.

    There are quite a few other models to choose from that do not rely on a computer with the Android OS, like the Sole F80.

    Thanks again for helping us all out Skip!
    Kyle

  3. Jeff
    February 5, 2012

    Kyle,

    We recently received the Nordic track 1750 as a replacement for an obsolete Nordic track elite 2900. Initially the machine looks and runs great.

    My question is this.

    On our old machine you could easily set up two distinct user profiles. You could start a manual workout as either user 1 or user 2 and the machine would track your progress according to your personal weight and stats. You did not have to enter your weight and stats each time.

    Have you received any information on how to do this on this machine without ifit live?

    My wife likes ifit live, but it is not really my thing. I just want to jump on the machine as user 1, start a manual workout and have it track my calories and such without entering my weight each time.
    Any information would be appreciated.

    The manual does not mention anything about profiles or users other than the ifit live stuff.

    If there is not this capability, I would say that families without the internet or who simply don’t want to interact with ifit live should give this treadmill a miss.

    Thanks,
    Jeff

  4. Kyle
    February 6, 2012

    Hi Jeff,

    Thanks for the comment! You’re right:

    iFit Live is the new way they handle profiles, so we can’t use the traditional method, and I agree that it would be nice to have a faster/simpler low-tech option as well.

    Sometimes new and improved technology can get in the way of simplicity, and this is a good example.

    That said, once you get used to it, iFit is a very cool concept, and can be a useful tool for increasing the intensity, duration and motivation of your workouts.

    Have a good day Jeff,
    Kyle

  5. AL
    February 8, 2012

    Skip,

    Just checked out a Nordic Track C1750 at Sears, the price on line is 1398.00, however there was a problem, they couldn’t get it to work.

    The computer was locked up, didn’t realize it this morning but after reading several posts, that surely was the issue.

    Going with the Sole 80 or 85. Hope this helps….

    Al

  6. Kyle
    February 8, 2012

    Thanks for the feedback Al. We appreciate it!

    The C1750 is a fantastic machine, but the Android OS seems to randomly cause problems, so we’re running the 2012 model through our rating algorithm to reflect these new issues.

    As for the Sole F85, I’ve been using it heavily for almost a year and it’s never had any issues.

  7. Gabriel
    April 28, 2012

    There are two 1750 models under similar names:
    - 2011: 1750 Commercial Grade (Norditrack# NTL14010, Sears# 00634588000)
    - 2012: COMMERCIAL 1750 (Norditrack# NTL14011, Sears# 00624914000)

    As of today (04/28/2012) Sears is still selling both of them, with the 2012 model being $200 more. It appears that the 2012 has built in wifi web browsing capacity and some of the components are silver instead of dark gray.

    Based on the reviews, it is not clear which model’s Android system is more prone to fail. I am waiting for a 2012 1750 after returning THREE C1500s to Sears for various problems.

    I had to reject two of the C1500s for defective frame: the links between the subframe an the treadmill dock were bent, causing the dock to shift to the left so much that the plastic covers around the legs did not even fit. The 1750 seems to have the same frame, if you run into this problem then be brave and return it (twisted frame messes up bearing and belt life).

    The third C1500′s console keeps periodically freezing up. I called Norditrack’s 1-800-INDIA number about and was advised to check the wiring connections then call them back again… is it even legal to ask a customer to work on a high voltage appliance? I called Sears and got an upgrade to a 2012 COMMERCIAL 1750. Fingers crossed while waiting for another week. I strongly urge everyone to buy thru Sears and spend the extra $70 or what for in-home delivery. They are friendly and easy to deal with plus they already came back twice to pick up the defective units. If you buy directly from Norditrack then good luck getting things fixed/replaced.

  8. Kyle
    April 29, 2012

    Hi Gabriel,

    Thanks for the helpful feedback!

    Hope the new one works well for you,
    Kyle

  9. Gabriel
    May 7, 2012

    Update on my previous post: The 2012 Commercial 1750 arrived this weekend. At first glance it looks the same as the C1500 except the 7″ touchscreen instead of blue LCD, also the motor cover and the pulse grip crossbar are painted to a darker shade of gray.

    Quality? Well, Nordictrack is sending me a new motor. The one currently in place sounds like a sewing machine. Contrary to last weekend, my experience with Nordictrack’s customer service was pretty good. Although I still find it worrisome how they trust their customers to mess around under the engine cover, they never asked if the power was actually off for example. The knocking sound issue was familiar for them. The first operator asked me to loosen the motor mounting screws and adjust the drive belt between the motor shaft and the first roller, saying that if the drive belt is too tight then the motor bearings are noisy. During the follow-up call another operator instructed to completely remove the drive belt and run the motor just to make sure the ticking noise truly originates from there. A new engine is being shipped to my house and a technician already called about service arrangements.

    When powering up the first time, be prepared for a tv commercial running on the touchscreen on maximum volume if you did not insert the safety key yet. Under setting/equipment this commercial can be easily disabled, so it won’t play each time the key gets removed. The touchscreen is nice, the menu is straightforward. Setting up wifi connection and downloading firmware update was easy. There is a USB port on top of the console for those who do not have wifi at home, the update can be downloaded onto a PC and transferred with a USB drive. Calibrating the incline function under settings is a must or the feature simply won’t work. The screen size is adequate for working out and the way the info gets displayed is just plain beautiful. Now the same screen is a bit small for normal web browsing and the sites are not opening automatically in mobile mode. Being an iPhone user I could not figure out yet how to zoom in/out with the Android system, the finger pinch or double tap did not work. Because of the Android, the treadmill literally has to boot up after each shut down. After hitting the start button there is about a second long delay then the belt yanks hard into full speed with no speed transition. The treadmill came with free one year iFit live subscription. For adding new workout maps I found it easier just to log into iFit using my cell phone than dealing with the built-in browser.

    Conclusion: Even with the motor issue, I should have started with the 2012 Commercial 1750 instead of the C1500 model. For a couple hundred dollars more it offers a stronger engine and a useful touchscreen with web browsing functionality.

  10. Kyle
    May 8, 2012

    Awesome feedback, thanks Gabriel!

  11. Dennis
    June 3, 2012

    I am considering a c1750 but I need to know what a reasonable height requirement is for this machine. I am planning on putting it in our basement which has a relatively low ceiling, about 6 1/2 feet.

    Thanks Kyle

  12. Kyle
    June 4, 2012

    Hi Dennis,

    I was curious about the same thing when I bought the Sole F85 for my basement.

    With about 78″ to work with, it will be cutting it close, depending on your height. The treadmill’s deck is about 6″-9″ off the ground, without incline, which will leave about 6 feet to the ceiling.

    This is common of most treadmills, so if you’re taller than 5′ 6″ you won’t have much headroom (or the room for incline).

    If that’s the case, you could always look at an exercise bike instead.

    Let me know if there’s anything else I can do to help!
    Kyle

  13. Michelle Crossley
    June 19, 2012

    You can download, share and search for new iFit maps to run! Do a search for iFit Maps. You can use the search feature to find the exact map(s) you want based on: location, machine type, incline and distance. Very useful for iFit users that use the maps feature to always stay motivate with new maps.

  14. Dennis
    June 21, 2012

    Thanks, I am thinking about a rowing machine. No issue with clearance with one of those and I prefer rowing to cycling.

  15. Jesson
    July 23, 2012

    Hi Kyle:

    I am big fan of the site, first time commenter. How has the 1750 been treating you, now that you have had time using it for at least several months. Any issues with the firmware and freezing? Also how quiet does it run? Compared to your old sole 80?

    Thanks!

  16. Kyle
    July 23, 2012

    Hey Jesson,

    Thanks! It’s always nice to hear the site is helping.

    My wife and I are actually still happily running on our Sole F85 since we found out about the Android technology problems with the C1750.

    For a similar price and specs, check out the Sole F83. If iFit is a big feature on your list, the LiveStrong LS13.0t has something similar for a lower price.

    Let me know if you have any other questions!
    Kyle

  17. Gopal
    September 15, 2012

    Now, it is middle of the September 2012. Are there still issues with this treadmill? Did NordicTrack make any changes in their service and/or OS of this machine?

    Thanks,

  18. Kyle
    September 15, 2012

    Thanks for bringing this up! I’ve been meaning to post an update about this.

    I have been closely monitoring customer reviews on the 1750 over the past 3-6 months, and haven’t seen any more negative reviews posted since January.

    I’m not exactly sure what’s causing the shift, so it seems like the software updates are helping.

    As for the service, I have heard less complaints recently, across all of their machines, so that appears to be due to NordicTrack responding with better training, etc.

    Every company has its problems with support, so I’m sure it’s still not perfect, but the improvement is a good sign for current customers.

    Thanks again, and have a great day Gopal!
    Kyle

  19. James
    September 26, 2012

    Well I guess I was an unlucky one and got a lemon. Sears delivered the Nordic Track 1750 this morning and guess what… O/S is not working. When they completed putting the machine together and turned it on the firmware was trying to update and then totally shut down the whole treadmill. The delivery guys looked and me and shrugged their shoulders and said, “well we have to have a tech come out and service the machine”. Are you kidding me???? This is a brand new machine and you are telling me we now have to wait again for a tech to come and see if he can either fix the issue or have the treadmill replaced. This is nuts!!! I told them to take the machine apart and replace it with a new one and they stated to me that they can’t take it back until the tech tell them to. What a joke!

  20. Kyle
    September 27, 2012

    Hi James,

    Sorry to hear that man! It’s so frustrating when you get the run-around like that.

    If there’s nothing the delivery guys can do in that situation, I hope NordicTrack will at least put a rush on the tech getting it up and running for you.

    Keep us posted on how it turns out, and good luck!
    Kyle

  21. jamie
    October 17, 2012

    I have owned a c1750 for almost a year now and I have had to replace the head unit(the interface), the incline motor, and the deck(ya the wood you run on). I admit that I have gotten alot of use out of it and am looking at over 1000 miles so far but come on, who spends that much too just have the machine break.

    Also there are some issues when running some of the Ifit workouts since the last firmware update but apparently that is in the process of being fixed.

  22. jamie
    October 17, 2012

    I havent had any problems on the other hand with the service from icon fitness since I am located in Canada, and the service company that has been doing all the work have been great. It did how ever take 3 weeks to get the deck replaced due to lack of parts, and slow transportation.

  23. Kyle
    October 17, 2012

    Thanks for the feedback Jamie!

  24. James (again)
    October 24, 2012

    Well here we are four weeks after I had a defective c1750 delivered to my home. Nordictrack shipped out the thurmb drive with the new firm ware, and we were able to use it for a whole eight days. Then on 10/11 the O/S went down and had to call Nordictrack, who informed me that they have to send out a new control panel. Control panel was delivered on 10/19, had it installed and here it is 10/24 and I go to use it and guess what? The system has failed, the O/S once again is out and we once again have no treadmill. I’m so very frustrated, the eight days that we were able to use it I loved it but wondering if its even worth getting fixed or should we just have Sears come and pick it back up becuase of it being defective?

  25. Kyle
    October 25, 2012

    Hi James,

    Wow…after all that, I would definitely have Sears come pick it back up and get a new treadmill.

    Since the 2012 model is a big improvement over the 2011, we haven’t seen many cases of this lately, but not wanting to take your chances with another 1750 would be reasonable at this point. :)

    Another option to consider if you’re still looking at NordicTrack is the C900. It’s about $300 cheaper, and still iFit compatible, though it doesn’t come with it), but it doesn’t rely on the Android OS like the 1750.

    If NordicTrack isn’t what you want at this point, the “editor’s choice” treadmill (i.e. what I run on in my basement) is the Sole F85.

    It doesn’t have as many bells and whistles, but it was our #1 rated model when I bought it, and they’ve made some great improvements to it in the past 2 years.

    My wife has been running half marathons and we both run 5k races, and we haven’t had any issues with it since buying it in March of 2011.

    I hope that helps, and good luck with everything. Feel free to let us know how the return process goes and what you decide to replace this with!

    Thanks,
    Kyle

  26. Skip II
    November 10, 2012

    Just purchased one of these units based in part on your review.

    I just wanted to note, that it doesn’t appear to have an iPod dock like you stated, but only an audio input to connect a double ended audio cable from any device with a headphone jack. (ipod, cell phone, portable CD player, mp3 player, etc.)

    Just though it was worth mentioning.

    Thanks.

  27. Kyle
    November 10, 2012

    You’re so right, thank you for pointing that out.

    We made it more clear in the tooltip explanation, but the word “dock” doesn’t fit every machine’s way of allowing users to listen to music.

    So, I just updated all the treadmills, ellipticals and exercise bikes so the field is now called “Music Ready”, and the tooltip is even more clear now.

    Thanks again for your help! I really appreciate it.

  28. Skip II
    November 10, 2012

    a quick addendum to my last post…

    It’s a shame they can’t come up with a software update that would allow you to enter profiles for more than one person the old-school way that Jeff brought up back on February 5th. Is it even possible to track information for multiple users using iFit without having to buy a second subscription (or is that the point!?)?

    Also disappointing that they don’t have a video-out jack to use the google-map street-view feature on a larger screen… that would have been quite cool.

    Lastly, it’s unfortunate that the Android system is so limited… I tried going to HBO GO, and Xfinity.com to stream some video, but both websites recognized the unit as an Android device, so wouldn’t let me access their full web-sites. Of course I can’t download their free apps to the device from the android marketplace (incompatible device), so I guess I’ll get creative with some AV in my basement.

    I know I could have spent more for a machine with extra bells and whistles, but it seems like they set up intentional roadblocks just to make you pay for a more expensive unit, when incorporating some simple extras would be easy, without adding significantly more cost.

  29. Kyle
    November 11, 2012

    All excellent points. Using such an “open source” platform, it seems a little strange that they would restrict it so much with these machines.

    It could be hardware limitations, I suppose, but even then it would be nice if they created a standardized video potential customers could watch explaining the differences between the models as to how the Android OS works with each.

    Thanks for your comments! Have a great day,
    Kyle

  30. Jim
    November 14, 2012

    We purchased the 1750 in mid 2011 because it was the top of the line commercial machine and we’ve had good experiences with Nordic Track products in the past. This machine, alas, has been a total piece of crap.

    Here’s the list of problems
    1) Frame cracked within 45 days — replaced
    2) Belt threw off more black gunk than Mt St. Helens — replaced after three months — ok since
    3) Incline stopped working at 6 month point — still not working after 3 tech visits
    4) Console went haywire, replaced and ok now (except for incline)
    5) Resistors (shock absorbers) worn out after 9 months
    6) Phone tech diagnosed that running board had cracked. Sent replacement and repair guy found frame broken again!

    If any machine is a lemon, it’s this one. We paid for the best machine Nordic Track offers and this is it? Very disappointed. It’s been out of commission more than it has been used.

    Spoke with Nordic Track again today (it’s still on the manufacturer’s warranty); rep said the situation will be resolved within two-to-three weeks. Frankly, I’m not holding my breath because it’s been out of commission since early October The worst part: I have exercised induced asthma and have been running outside, which is terrible for my body.

    Caveat Emptor

  31. Kyle
    November 14, 2012

    Hi Jim,

    Sorry to hear that! I really hope they make this right for you so you can get back to running inside.

    We’ve heard such a wide variety of feedback on this machine, that we are currently working on updating our rating for the newest model (again) to include the unacceptable issues some of the machines have.

    Thanks so much for your helpful feedback. We’ll definitely include this detailed review in our updated rating.

    Have a great day Jim!
    Kyle

  32. Blad
    December 2, 2012

    I am looking to buy either 1750 or the sole f80, f63. From the reviews I’ve seen it seem that norditrack has many issues. Although the sole s don’t have to many specs they seem very reliable. What do you all think ?? Aiming towards the sole !!

  33. Kyle
    December 2, 2012

    Hi Blad,

    Great points. After our latest ratings refresh, including the new 2013 models, the 1750 fell from #1 to #4, mostly due to the issues you mentioned causing lower customer satisfaction ratings.

    You’re so right too: the NordicTrack has excellent features, but the Sole F80 is more reliable and now that its specs are similar (like the 3.5 HP motor), it is higher-rated overall.

    My wife and I are still running on a Sole F85 after more than 2 years of training for races and near-daily use, so between my personal opinion and the rating algorithm I can confidently recommend the new Sole F80 over the 1750 at this point.

    Hope that helps! Have a good day,
    Kyle

  34. Anthony
    December 2, 2012

    Hi All. I bought this 1750 machine earlier this year to replace another model. Anyway, it was working just fine until last Thursday when it started doing an software up while I was using it. I thought that was a little strange but I didn’t make anything out of it. It didn’t finish, however, and in fact, it has shut me out of the machine all together because it couldn’t finish it’s update. Does anyone know how to do a hard reset? Sort of a CTRL ALT DEL?

  35. Donna
    December 3, 2012

    I am also having that problem with my 1750. It needed to do an update two days ago and then I came to run on it today it said it couldn’t initialize and it won’t let me do any other actions as it keeps trying to initalize. What are we supposed to do? Is this a problem with iFit?

  36. Kyle
    December 4, 2012

    Hi Donna,

    From what we’ve heard, it’s a problem with the Android Operating System trying to upgrade.

    I would call NordicTrack support (1-877-993-7999) to have them take care of it for you, and they might be able to walk through a system reboot over the phone.

    Have a good day Donna!
    Kyle

  37. Jaclynn
    December 14, 2012

    Hi!

    I’m having issues with my ifit on my nordictrac 1750 treadmil, My first week of use I had awesome access to google maps & could follow myself running on a map.
    But now when I down load my latest run the map it does not show the map.. just a blank screen.. any ideas?

  38. Kyle
    December 14, 2012

    Hi Jaclynn,

    It sounds like this is the Android OS malfunction issue.

    Their support line is at 1-877-993-7999. Give them a call and they can send someone out to take a look at it for you.

    Have a good weekend,
    Kyle

  39. Andy
    December 20, 2012

    Hi Kyle, Like many here, I am torn between a 2013 NT 1750 and a 2013 Sole F80. Its so hard not to be enamored with all the unique features of the NT: 40 built in programs, 3% decline (which is unique), looks of the treadmill etc. However, the Sole seems like a more solid and reliable source from what I’ve read. My question is, any idea if they have gotten the bugs out of the Android OS for 2013? Or is this a mystery at this point?
    Thanks for your input.
    Best, Andy

  40. Kyle
    December 21, 2012

    Great question Andy!

    You’re right: The NordicTrack has the extra bells and whistles, but the Sole is more reliable. It’s a tough call, to be honest.

    Personally, I went with the Sole F85, because I was less concerned with the extra features.

    Anyway, the new 1750 only has 1 review on the NT website so far (as of writing this on Dec 21st), and it’s from a NordicTrack engineer, so it’s impossible to tell if they have truly fixed the Android issues yet.

    If it were just an issue that removed an extra feature and everything else worked when the OS malfunctioned, then I would probably recommend the 1750. But, unfortunately, it’s shutting down and collecting dust while owners wait for it to be fixed.

    So, in my personal opinion, if you’re buying a treadmill now, I would go with the Sole F80.

    I hope that helps! Have a great day Andy,
    Kyle

  41. Andy
    December 21, 2012

    That helps a lot Kyle! Done deal, gonna order a Sole today. Thanks for you help with this.

    Happy Holidays, Andy

  42. Patty
    December 22, 2012

    I’m having the same problem as Donna and Anthony. I bought the C 1750 in October. Right off the bat the stereo speakers were not working properly. I called customer service and they sent me a new console, which I installed. After using the treadmill a handful of times since then, it started an update yesterday and can not initialize the update. Now the entire treadmill is inoperable. I plan on calling customer service tomorrow, but find it frustrating that now I can’t use my treadmill and have to wait for a service tech. I wish I had not bought this model and would rather have a treadmill I can use reliably than one with all these features I can’t even use.

  43. Kyle
    December 22, 2012

    Hi Patty,

    Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to help out other FitRated readers.

    I sincerely hope NordicTrack comes out quickly and takes care of the problem for you!

    Have a great day,
    Kyle

  44. Travis
    December 23, 2012

    I just bought the 2013 Nordic track C 1750 Pro from sears and already have issues with the incline not working correctly.

  45. Brie
    December 23, 2012

    I’ve been running on my new NordicTrack C1750 for about a month now, but often times the incline % just doesn’t feel right. When set on 0% incline it can often feel like a 1-2% incline and I sometimes have to put it at a negative grade for it to feel flat. I’ve tried calibrating it twice but it still hasn’t helped. When placing a level on the treadbelt when the incline is set to 0% it doesn’t show that the belt if level. Are there any other tricks I can try other than the calibration?

  46. Kyle
    December 24, 2012

    Thanks for the feedback Travis. I hope NT support takes care of this for you quickly.

    If you get a chance, come back and let us know how it goes.
    Kyle

  47. Kyle
    December 24, 2012

    Hi Brie,

    Thanks for the feedback. We all appreciate it.

    Travis mentioned this same problem, so it seems like it could be an issue with the 2013 model.

    My suggestion was going to be calibration, but it sounds like that’s not taking care of the problem for you, so I would recommend contacting NT support to ask them about it. Since you just got it, they will come out and fix this under warranty if necessary.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  48. bob mossy
    December 25, 2012

    I almost pulled the trigger on the 1750, but after reading all the review, who needs all the BS/aggravation. Most peeps get turned on with all the bells and whistles……..whay a great marketing/snow job Nordick does!!

    For a few bucks more I’m getting thee work horse Precor c 956i!

  49. Michele
    December 26, 2012

    After reading through this, I think I’ve talked my husband out of this machine. But, he really likes the idea of a negative incline. Is there anything in this price range that is reliable with a negative incline?

  50. Kyle
    December 26, 2012

    Thanks for the feedback Bob!

    Enjoy your new treadmill,
    Kyle

  51. Kyle
    December 26, 2012

    Hi Michele,

    Their Incline Trainers have better customer reviews (with a larger incline and decline), though they could still potentially have issues with the Android OS.

    We haven’t seen any of the malfunctioning complaints on those machines so far, so they might be a better bet.

    The only other decline treadmill I can think of is $4,699 (Precor 9.35).

    One thing to consider is that decline can be really cool for simulated terrain, but it can also cause shin and knee problems if used too often.

    In my opinion, it’s better to use incline than decline.

    I hope that helps. Let me know if there’s anything else I can do to help out,
    Kyle

  52. Josh
    December 30, 2012

    Hi Kyle, This was a very informative review, especially with all of the helpful feedback. I was seriously considering the 1750, but now knowing the issues with the OS, it seems like too much technology to go wrong. I was also leaning towards the Sole F80, however I really wanted a treadmill with iFit or something similar. The Sole stands out as far as quality and value at that price, other than lacking the iFit option. Can you recommend anything else as reliable with iFit or similar in <$1500 range? Proform power 1080? Livestrong 13T?

    Also was reading up on the Proform Perf 1450, it has android… is it also powered by a computer OS like the Nordictrack C1750? Wouldn't want the same problems.

    Based on the reviews, I'm getting lost between 4 or 5 models and having a hard time narrowing it down.

    Thank you for your time!
    Josh

  53. Kyle
    December 31, 2012

    Hi Josh,

    Glad it’s helping. Great questions too!

    The new Sole F80 is a great machine, but if you want iFit, the ProForm Performance 1450 is a high-rated choice for $1,500.

    Another treadmill worth checking out is the LiveStrong LSPro 2, a solid option for a little over $1,500.

    Happy new year!
    Kyle

  54. Seth
    January 2, 2013

    Hi Kyle, We just got the 1750 and I do like it, but I thought they would have some sample maps or something without having to pay $10 a month for ifit. Is there any easy way to do programs without having to pay extra? I got the treadmill so we wouldnt have to pay the monthly gym membership fee! I dont really want the extra cost of another membership! Thank you – Seth

  55. Kyle
    January 2, 2013

    Hi Seth,

    I totally agree. The “membership sold separately” aspect is the downside to iFit for sure.

    That said, the new iPad holder might help with this if you have a tablet. I’m sure there are some great apps you could use to enter and track your progress. It wouldn’t be the same as iFit, but it could be a good replacement to save the monthly subscription fee.

    Have a great day Seth!
    Kyle

  56. noel
    January 3, 2013

    have a 1450 2010 model , worked mostly ok for the last year. (glad i got the 6 year warranty) lately it has started acting up. ifit wont connect, turns it self on, if you boot it and dont start a workout right away it locks up.
    some times it boots and the incline calibration is all messed up. (ive had to re calibrate it 9 times in 2 weeks. i contacted ifit by email next day answered some questions (they had me check the wires) then they scheduled a service call and sent out a new console. 3 weeks (after i was on hold for 45 min to find out where the parts were) later the new console arrived. i’m hoping it will fix the issues, other than the android tanking on me (its 2.2) a common issue its been a good unit. ive got 485+ miles on mine, reading about the issues , with the new website and android problems i’m hoping i didn’t make a long term mistake by not getting a sole.

  57. Kyle
    January 4, 2013

    Thanks for the feedback Noel!

  58. Mike
    January 7, 2013

    Purchased a C1750 in January of 2012. Worked fine for 10 months and then froze and machine could not operate. Tech support sent me a flash drive (which I had to wait for because it was on backorder) which did not solve the problem. Like others have reported, I was sent a new console to install with NO INSTRUCTIONS whatsoever. This new unit did not solve the problem. Finally after 6 weeks without use of the product I received a second console, reinstalled it, and now I am back to running. However, after reading these comments and talking to the tech support people, I feel like I have bought what might turn into a lemon. Nordictrack offered to sell me an extended warranty for 79 dollars for my trouble (which totally felt like upselling). Now, I just have to figure out how to mail the 2 quite large consoles back to Nordictrack.

    M

  59. Kyle
    January 8, 2013

    Hi Mike,

    Thanks so much for the feedback! We all appreciate it.

    Glad to hear you’re back to running again (though I wish it hadn’t taken them do long to fix the problem).

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  60. Dan
    January 16, 2013

    Hi Kyle, has anyone reported an issue with not being able to log in on the console to ifit? We got the 1750 2wks ago and everything has been working great, no lock ups, it took the updates with no issues.. I used it yesterday morning, logged into iFit and had no problems. Last night my wife tried logging in and it rejected her username/password.. I tried same thing, we can log into the website with same credential no problem. I even tried changing my password and that hasn’t worked. I was just wondering if you or anyone else had this problem. On a side note all the other 40 programs work like a charm..

  61. Kyle
    January 16, 2013

    Hi Dan,

    Glad to hear it’s working well for you!

    As for the 2nd iFit account, I haven’t heard of that before. It could be due to any number of server or account issues, so it’s tough for me to tell why it’s happening. I would recommend going to the iFit website and clicking the Support tab to log a ticket so they can fix it for you.

    Sorry I couldn’t help more with that part, but I’m glad the other programs are working for your wide until iFit gets her account rolling.

    Have a good day!
    Kyle

  62. rob
    January 21, 2013

    I just ordered the 1750 today. I am very worried after reading these post. any chance the 2013 model will be better than the previus years? I hope so. they seemed to have shipped it already so can’t really cancle. hope I make out better than most of you I will let. you know.

  63. Kyle
    January 22, 2013

    Hi Rob,

    Don’t worry! They have a 30-day trial period, so you can get a full refund if it’s defective.

    If it’s not defective, the worst case scenario is their 10% restocking fee and shipping it back.

    Side note: Their return policy is one of the factors that lowered NT treadmill ratings in our algorithm, but it’s nice to know you can still send it back to get most of your money back even if it’s not defective.

    Let us know how it goes Rob!
    Kyle

  64. Michelle Uhrick
    January 23, 2013

    I just bought this model and am having the same problem with the incline that Brie has. I have to put the treadmill on -1.5% incline for it to measure at level. I called Nordic Track and they said that’s just the way this model way. Has anyone else found a way to correctly callibrate or adjust this. I have also done the callibration several times and it does not correct it.

  65. Brie
    January 24, 2013

    We had a Nordic Track service guy out to look at ours last week to check out the incline problem and fix a piece that was broken from the beginning. He agreed that 0% incline did not feel flat at all and re-did the calibration (which I had already tried multiple times). This did not fix the problem, so he is ordering us a new incline sensor and if this doesn’t fix it then he said a new board/control panel thing will be the next step.

    That being said, I still love my treadmill. Michelle- sometimes my incline feels accurate if I take it down to -3 and then bring it back up to 0% a half percentage at a time.

  66. Kyle
    January 25, 2013

    Thanks for the insight Brie!

    Have a good weekend,
    Kyle

  67. Rob
    January 28, 2013

    My treadmill was delivered today. I had no idea how big this thing is. 315pounds was the total shipping weight. It was pretty easy to put together. It’s a very solid machine. Android updated fine. The only issue I noticed is that after the incline calibration it’s not quite level. It’s about a 1/4 inch off so it still has a little incline when it’s suppose to be at zero. I may try a thin piece of plywood under the back. It’s no really noticeable but I tried a level on it and that’s what I got. I haven’t really tried it out yet so I can’t say much of anything else yet. I will update you in a month.

  68. Kyle
    January 29, 2013

    Thanks so much for the feedback!

    Enjoy your 1750,
    Kyle

  69. Courtney Allen
    February 1, 2013

    We just purchased this tread mill directly from Nordic track because we wanted to make sure that we got the 2013 model with the iPad holder.

    First problem: It took only 3 days to get from the factory in Logan, Utah to Seattle – and then sat at the freight forwarder for another 10 days before they called to arrange for delivery the following week. So it took them 15 days to get it “the last mile”. Not acceptable. The actual delivery went well with the delivery guys actually bringing the machine into the house for us.

    Second Problem: Out of the box the incline function did not work. Called customer support and they diagnosed the problem as relating to an optical sensor. It took roughly 5 minutes to navigate the menus and get in the queue for tech support, and connect with the rep. The rep offered to set up a service call but since I claimed to be a gear head,gave me a rough explanation of the sensor location and suggested that it might only need cleaning. I followed the lead and actually found the sensor cable had been cut cleanly in two. I theorized that the person who bundled up the excess 6 inches of cable with a cable tie cut the cable when they clipped the tail of the tie. Called back to Customer Service (again, taking no more than about 5 mins to get through) and the rep ordered me a new sensor. I was able to repair the cable to tide us over until the replacement part arrives in “4 – 7 working days”.

    Third problem: The wireless network antenna is pretty weak and the treadmill will connect up to our network, but the signal strength is too low for it to connect to the internet and transfer data. The treadmill isn’t moving and neither is our router so I purchased a wi-fi range extender for $80. Note other devices (iPad, laptop) work fine in the vicinity. I’m using my hotspot for the time being to update the firmware and so my wife can connect to her iFit account.

    The tm is well built and feature-rich. I expect that everything will be OK from here.

  70. Kyle
    February 1, 2013

    Thanks so much for the detailed feedback Courtney!

    Have a good weekend,
    Kyle

  71. Amanda
    February 22, 2013

    We’ve had the NT C1750 for a week now…after it took almost a month and several heated phone calls to get to us. From the second we started running it just wasn’t right.
    -It does feel as though it is on a constant incline and my husband and I, who both average 20 miles per week, could barely make it through a normal workout. Even set at a decline it just feels as though there is major drag on the belt. We run nearly 1mph slower on this model as compared to our C2400, that served us well for years, and compared to the treadmills at our gym.
    -The touchscreen does not consistently register our touch and when it does it will move several points instead of just 1.
    - The screen is also set back so far that I kick the motor hood when adjusting my speed.
    - We have not been able to use any of the interactive features due to the weak signal connection.

    We could probably get used to the last 3 issues if it didn’t feel like we’d never run before every time we got on it. We did try calibrating it which did not help. Customer support offered few other options. We called today to have it picked up and returned, for which we are being told we will pay $150. We are so frustrated with the fact we’ve basically been without a TM for over a month and have to pay the equivalent of an upgrade in order to send this back and are very paranoid about making an equally bad decision on our next replacement.

  72. Kyle
    February 23, 2013

    Hi Amanda,

    I’m sorry to hear that! NordicTrack has been a good brand for such a long time, so I can’t tell what’s going on with this machine.

    I have a feeling that maybe because there is such a huge focus on the new features that these machines using cutting edge technologies are skimping on the fundamentals of engineering the treadmills themselves.

    I say this because I’ve noticed a disproportionate amount of customer complaints with new models that have touchscreens, iFit, the Android OS, etc. than compared to those with features that were considered extras only a year or two ago, like cooling fans and iPod docks.

    Either way, I really hope the replacement works out much better for you!

    Come back and let us know how it goes. Have a great day,
    Kyle

  73. Bill
    February 23, 2013

    Just ordered the treadmill only hours ago and then found this site…it has me pretty worried.

  74. Kyle
    February 24, 2013

    Hi Bill,

    Don’t be worried at this point. There is a risk of getting a faulty machine, but there’s still a good chance yours will be fine.

    Keep in mind that this comments section, as with all unbiased and unfiltered customer reviews, tends to focus more on the negative experiences since these customers have questions that need answers and want to let other potential customers how things went for them. Unfortunately, we don’t hear as often from the people that got a perfect treadmill right on time.

    I hope yours arrives quickly, and works perfectly! Come back and let us know how it goes for you.

    Have a good day!
    Kyle

  75. Rob
    February 24, 2013

    I have had the 1750 now for several weeks now.
    I would like to say a few words on issues others have.

    1 .The screen is as responsive to touch as most tablets. Make sure its clean and it works pretty good but not perfect ( but neither are the 3 brands of tablets i have)
    2. I have notice there is an issue with the incline is a bit off. I have to wonder if this is by design as when you unlock the tread mill walking area so it isn’t firm it bends with every-step so that perhaps they are trying to compensate for that, not sure. I find if I calibrate and set incline to -1 it feels pretty good.
    3. The speed on this machine is very inline with the $6000 machine we have at work.
    4. The wifi is a little weak but there can be several factors affecting this. Distance away from the router and so on. I have not really had any issues with getting a connection and my TM and its about 50 feet away from my router.
    5. If your a shorter person you may have issues reaching the touch screen while walking, I am 5’10 and I do not have any problems. The incline and speed are easily adjusted by my 5foot tall girlfriend while walking so no problem there.
    6. The shipping took a week. even if it had of taken longer you need to keep in mind this thing is 300 pounds and needs to be shipped by freight not the post office.

    My girlfriend and I have been using top of the line treadmills for years and over all I think we are REALLY happy with this purchase and the only real negative i have encountered is that I find I have to calibrate the incline more times than i would think that I should have to ( a few times a week) but really not a big deal. Considering our experience to date I would recommend this treadmill. Its not perfect but neither is the $6000 one we have at work. I think some of the complaints i have read about this machine are because of false expectations and/or varying needs (example, short people may have a hard time using the touch screen while walking, others will not. But do you need to be using the touch screen while walking? I don’t.) I will update you in a few months

  76. Courtney
    February 25, 2013

    Hi Bill,

    Kyle is right, people don’t often sign in here and say everything is great as expected!

    This prompted me to give readers an update. We had a few problems with setting up the delivery and then had a problem with incline and networking. I can wield a screwdriver pretty well, and customer support helped me determine that the wiring for the incline sensor had been cut in manufacturing – they sent me a new one, I plugged it into the circuit board and that problem is resolved. I had to purchase a wireless range extender to get the web features working but honestly, even our ipad had problems connecting on that end of the house network. That is no longer a problem.

    A month or so after receiving it, my wife loves this treadmill. It’s been flawless. She uses the iFit function extensively – for instance she just ran in the Disney Princess Half-Marathon in Orlando. She had plotted the route in iFit and has been running portions of it for a couple of weeks, She has also plotted her favorite neighborhood routes for when the weather or time of day keeps her from running outdoors.

    So chin up, everything’s going to be OK.

  77. Kyle
    February 25, 2013

    Great feedback, thanks to both of you!

  78. Bill
    February 25, 2013

    Thanks Kyle, Courtney and Rob,

    You have put my mind at rest a little, I did not cancel the order, so like the fish I wait with baited breath…will keep you updated to any and all surprises.

    And thanks for responding so quickly.

    Bill

  79. Jeff
    February 27, 2013

    I am seriously considering buying this treadmill and just have one question for those who have the 2013 model with the iPad holder. Is the holder adjustable so that you can secure an iPad mini or is it designed to strictly work with the full sized iPad?

    Thanks!

  80. Neil
    February 28, 2013

    Hey guys,

    I too have had issues with my incline being off and after much troubleshooting have found a fix that i wanted to share with you guys and it will hopefully fix your problems as well.
    I believe the issue relates to the fact that this treadmill has a decline and after powering on the computer is not sure of its current position. what you must do is bring the inline to full travel in one direction (i use -3) and then back to 0. When it returns to 0 it should be flat again. You can verify this with a level. The incline should remain accurate until next time you power off your machine at which point you will need to perform the above technique again when powering back on. This technique obviously doesn’t fix the error with the machine but in my mind it is a suitable workaround. I have just opted to not power off my machine anymore.
    Hope that helps.

  81. Kyle
    February 28, 2013

    Great tip, thanks Neil!

  82. courtney
    February 28, 2013

    Jeff, as far as I know the iPad holder is not adjustable so it fits only the full size device. Check out the RAM mounts – I’m sure you could adapt it to fit.

  83. Gerard
    March 5, 2013

    I have a c1750 right now The screen will not turn on. I have checked the power at the bottom board and at the console. Have anyone seen this problem as well.

  84. courtney
    March 6, 2013

    Do you have the magnetic safety lanyard in it’s recess?

  85. Judy
    March 16, 2013

    The C 1750 is pretty much a piece of junk. My husband ordered it for me for Christmas and 2 machines later we still do not have one that works! The incline would not work on the first one and after several service calls and replacement parts that didn’t work we asked for a new one. Again after numerous calls and time on hold a new one arrived. The incline again did not work and along with that the speed control did not work correctly. Again numerous calls, time on hold, replacement parts and the treadmill incline and speed control still don’t work! So we called to have it returned and were told it would take 4 to 6 weeks to have it removed! We also called to cancel the extented warrenty and after 45 minutes on hold this was finally accomblished. I am so disappointed with this entire process. With reading these reviews it looks like the incline issue is a common one. So why are they still selling this and why is it not communicated to all the service personnel so that this can be taken care of! I would like to write the CEO of ICON and demand answers. And I am still without a working Christmas present and it is almost Easter!

  86. Rick
    April 6, 2013

    I’ve owned the C1750 since August 2011. My experience:

    1. There are two screws for the tail roller that provide belt tension and alignment. After a few months use one broke. As it turned out the axle of the tail roller was not supported on a frame, but instead was suspended in the air by these two horizontal screws. Replaced screws and fashioned support for axle.

    2. There are six coiled springs that support the walking platform. One by one they would break. Had to replace all six to stop the problem.

    3. Was running one morning when the entire lower assembly became visibly misaligned from the upper frame. Removed motor cover to find that the right hand bolt to the lift arm missing. Nut had backed off. Replaced with longer bolt and nylok nut with Loctite.

    4. Less than one year old and walking platform split in half (may be related to failing spring issue). Nordic Track provided replacement.

    To date I have performed all of the repairs myself, with good success.

    5. Finally, but most frustrating IFit went to a new website and web server 29 November 2012. Site has not functioned correctly since. New web services not backwards compatible with Android equipped treadmills from previous years. To this day treadmill still cannot display Google Maps or course profile data. Web site records miles run but calculates distance in kilometers, and was recording elevation gains on flat courses. Their data migration to the new server took one month. No Android fix for my treadmill yet available.

    I still use the treadmill (over 1500 miles run), but ignore the IFit. I stopped calling or emailing Support two months ago. Polite, but no response where fixes or at least anticipated dates are concerned. When the web and Android problems first occurred they offered users. 45 day member extension. We’re now 130 days into the problem.

    Nordic Track took a good concept , poorly executed it in design and manufacturing, and then allowed the IFit software team to ruin it.

  87. Kyle
    April 7, 2013

    Thanks for the feedback Rick!

    Have a good day,
    Kyle

  88. John
    April 12, 2013

    If you are being screwed by NordicTrack or their parent company Icon Industries because of faulty equipment I advise you to call your credit card company, start a dispute and get a full refund before the warranty runs out. DO NOT! buy an extended warranty from them, it will just hamper the refund process. It will be a long process but don’t give up, that’s what they want, tell them that the machine is defective and you want a full refund including the delivery. I just got my refund and it took 13 months from the day I first ordered it.
    We purchased a NordicTrack 1750 on 3/7/12 with the Platinum Delivery. The whole thing was a nightmare that would haunt us for over a year and here’s how it went down. The first delivery came on a truck and they wanted to deliver the machine curbside which I refused since we had purchased the platinum delivery. After many calls to NordicTrack someone finally admitted that the unit had been “lost in transit” and they were going to ship another one. My credit card company then calls us and said that NordicTrack was trying to charge my card for a second unit and advised me to cancel it and they would send me a new one. Then after many calls to NordicTrack they finally shipped the unit.
    The unit was delivered by a guy and his son, in a beat-up old van, the guy was around 6’ and couldn’t have weighed more than 150 lbs. and his kid was maybe 120 lbs. Keep in mind that the unit weighs around 350 lbs. The unit was still in its box as it was being delivered to my basement. The kid was on the downside of the stairs, the father was going to lower it down slowly and the kid was going to hold it from sliding down the stairs. Well, the father let it go and the whole thing slid down the stairs nearly crushing the kid.
    They removed it from the box and put it together. I could plainly see that they were not even familiar with how to assemble it. After assembly they turned it on and said it works. They were in a hurry and wanted me to sign off on it without showing us how to use it. When I asked them how it works the father picked up the instructions and started to read the directions, a clear sign that he didn’t know how it works, so I told him we would figure it out and let them go. Obviously, they were not representatives from the company, they were basically just hired to deliver it.
    The unit failed after about 20 miles of use. So, I called NordicTrack and they set up an appointment which was 2 ½ weeks out. The parts were received via UPS and the repair guy and his wife showed up about 1 ½ weeks later to change the console and wiring harness, tried it out and left. After another 20 miles or so of use, the video would not run when the belt was moving and vice versa. So again, we called for repair and their answer was that our Wi-Fi was not connecting with the unit. After much trial and error we determined that was not the case.
    Every time my wife called they would ask her to try this or that, until finally fed up, I told them the unit is not working and I want them to come pick it up and give me a full refund. The woman said that they would make arrangements and that was the last I heard of them for a few months.
    Since they were not contacting me, I called my credit card company and started a dispute, keep in mind that this is now early September. I kept calling and they finally said that they will send a box and when it arrives I should call JB Hunt to come get it. Well the box came on 11/28/12 and I immediately called for pickup. The unit was finally picked up on 12/28/12. BTW, the box did not fit so I took photos before they disassembled it and got the driver to sign off. We were told that my card would be credited the full refund in 4-6 weeks so again we waited. I called in mid-February to ask where’s my refund and NordicTrack told me that they haven’t received the treadmill back yet. After a few calls I tracked it down and it was sitting in a warehouse about 40 miles north of here. I then started calling weekly until the unit was shipped back to Icon in Utah. Which was a few weeks later, it was finally delivered to them sometime early March. I called them and asked when will I receive my refund and they said that it will take 7-10 days. Again, I waited and the refund never was applied to my credit card. So, I then called and asked what was the holdup? They said that there was still a dispute filed with the credit card company and I would have to call the credit card company and they would have to fax NordicTrack a letter saying that the dispute was dropped and they could go ahead with the refund. I asked why didn’t they email or call me about this her answer was “I don’t know”. When I called the credit card company they said that NordicTrack should be calling the Merchant Services Dept. of the credit card company if there was any questions and not give me the runaround. I asked the credit card company to send me an email stating this, which they did and I forwarded this to NordicTrack asking for my money before I seek further action and I finally got my refund on 4/11/13 over 13 months from the initial order date.

  89. Kye
    April 15, 2013

    Commercial grade, touch screen, Android, iFit, Incline and decline. All great features, a shame none lives up to the hype.

    Purchased new in Dec 2012. Machine didn’t work properly from day one. After numerous calibrations, the incline still required a -2 to be level. This essentially eliminates the decline function entirely and makes set programs worthless. Touchscreen response is poor at best. Only a shell of Android exists. You cannot add apps or really stream any media without issues. OS locks up a lot, sometimes the belt continues to run and others the whole thing locks up. This is not a safe condition.

    Boards, sensors, control panels and motors all replaced multiple times and finally after months, CS finally admits it is a “defective machine”. The broken decline is a “known fault”, yet I was lead to believe the entire time a fix was coming. Icon is well aware of the incline issue as well as the touch screen problems. They claim it is just luck of the draw. Really?????

    CS said I could just “deal with it” or get a refund, as if I would keep this junk! Now I only can hope they follow through with the refund. Still waiting. This model should be pulled.

    Similar experience as others. Delivery and setup was poor. Taken to the basement and thought the guy on bottom was going to get crushed. They had never setup this model before and had no clue. They were going to throw away the upright covers until I showed them where they went. At least educate these people a little bit.

    I recently went in to look at new treadmills. Just for laughs, I checked out the 1750 on display. Yep, screen is all locked up. Obviously NordicTrack is off the list.

  90. Stephanie Beers
    May 13, 2013

    I bought the treadmill & set it up on May 4th. Loved it!! It worked until May 10th! Six whole days! Yes, it was the computer glitching which rendered it unusable.

    I am sending it back for a full refund and am going to look for another treadmill. I will not buy a NordicTrack. I do love the ifit and want one with that feature. I am soooo disappointed that you pay $1500.00 for something that doesn’t work. I will check out the Sole F85.

  91. Jose
    May 19, 2013

    I just got my C 1750 pro delivered and the incline does not work.

  92. Terry
    June 13, 2013

    Wow, I was seriously considering this treadmill after reading the review at Consumer Reports but after reading these comments I think I will keep looking.

  93. Kyle
    June 13, 2013

    Hi Terry,

    It’s a great machine, it’s just a gamble as things stand right now (which is why there’s such a spread on the ratings, even at Consumer Reports where there are two 1-star reviews from April, and 5-star reviews from earlier).

    I’m guessing they will address the issues that these customers are having, and that will bring this model back to where it deserves to be, but for now I’d say you’re making a wise decision.

    Let me know if you’d like any help choosing a treadmill.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  94. Andree
    June 18, 2013

    I was ready to buy the C1750 but concerned now after reading of operating system problems. One of the features i really like about it is the integrated ipad holder – do any other quality treadmills have such a feature? I’ve seen ipad holders marketed separately, but they interfere with the console

  95. Kyle
    June 19, 2013

    Hi Andree,

    I really like how they created a “lip” that easily holds the iPad too!

    Most tablets will still cover up the majority of the LCD screen, but in landscape mode the full-sized iPad will show the top of the screen. Of course you can always just tilt it back a bit to see your progress really quick when needed, but it would have been nice if they could have lowered the lip some to show more of the screen in my opinion.

    Anyway, the top rated treadmill that includes secure support for your iPad is the Smooth 9.65LC.

    It has a custom-built clip system to securely display your iPad (over the LCD screen).

    Hope that helps! Have a good day,
    Kyle

  96. Shanna
    June 19, 2013

    I am considering the new 2450 model (a step above this one, about $500 more expensive, but with all the same type of technology built in). Does anyone know if significant improvements have been made to this model, or if it is likely to experience similar computer issues? Thanks.

  97. Karen
    July 15, 2013

    Have to agree with the current poor reviews on this product. I purchased the product based on the earlier reviews on this website and have been completely disappointed in the machine because of problems with the incline. I have to set it at -2.5% in order to be level. We have had the sensor, motor, and console replaced with no change. I was advised by Customer Service that they “hadn’t spent enough money yet to justify replacing it” but the product would be replaced if they tried to replace the sensor again and it didn’t work. The new sensor made no difference, and when I contacted them to follow-up on the replacement machine I was told that the incline error is a known problem and that they will not replace the machine because it is working (just not as advertised) and the previous rep should have never promised to replace it. According to Customer Service, the -2.5% error is within tolerance because they had to make a change to the incline so it doesn’t pinch the cables. If you want to set the incline manually it isn’t a problem since you can just adjust it by 2.5%, but it makes the programmed courses and I-fit features useless. It seems to be false advertising when you claim the machine goes to a -3% decline and the you say that -2.5% is actually level. I purchased the machine because of the ability to use the different courses and wasted the additional money because the features are useless. Should have purchased a different machine – and not wasted my money on an extended warranty since they won’t do anything to correct it. This is the fourth treadmill I have owned and the only one that I have had any issues with. I do not recommend this product to anyone who wants to use it for anything other than manual settings.

  98. Kyle
    July 17, 2013

    Hi Karen,

    Thanks so much for the feedback! The 1750 has really been hit or miss this year, which is unfortunate since the specs and features are so solid when it does work properly.

    It sounds like their support team isn’t that concerned with it too, which always makes matters worse. If a major car company had a recurring issue like this, there would be a recall instead of waiting to fix it in the next year’s model.

    Anyway, I totally agree with you, and sorry the incline has given you this trouble. I hope you’re still able to get a good workout from it.

    Thanks again, and have a great day!
    Kyle

  99. sata
    July 17, 2013

    My 1750 recently downloaded a firmware update. Does any know what this update addressed?

  100. Brie
    July 17, 2013

    Karen- our nordictrack 1750 sounds identical to yours. After many visits from a service tech due to incline problems, and after many parts were replaced it still didn’t function. When my husband talked to a customer service tech and complained very strongly that person said they would send a refund check with in 15 business days. After waiting a month for it, my husband called again and this time a higher up tech said that the first person was incorrect in saying they could give a refund as that is not their policy. So, we thought we were out of luck and stuck with a malfunctioning treadmill. But then out of the blue about a month later a refund check arrived in the mail! So, I guess the take away is that if you complain enough times you might see some action. We’ve looked at a replacement and are thinking the Sole F85 will be our choice. Good luck karen.

  101. Kyle
    July 17, 2013

    Hi Brie,

    Great advice thank you!

    I’m really glad you were able to get the refund. The squeaky wheel gets the oil, they say. :)

    Excellent choice for the replacement too. My wife and I have been running on and training with our Sole F85 for over 2 years now and we love it.

    Have a good day,
    Kyle

  102. Ben
    July 29, 2013

    We have been very happy with our 1750 but for the last six months or so it seems to be much louder. It makes a loud noise each time the belt seam circulates. Kyle, is this a known issue? Any ways to calibrate it to reduce the noise?

  103. Kyle
    July 30, 2013

    Hi Ben,

    Glad to hear it!

    I haven’t heard of this happening with the 1750, but I would give them a call (1-877-993-7999) since it sounds like you have narrowed it down to the belt already.

    If you can explain it to them, or even let them hear it over speaker phone, they should be able to help out pretty easily.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  104. M-A
    August 4, 2013

    Hi Kyle
    I really appreciate this website -especially because you take the time to reply to the comments, and help keep things in perspective.

    I’m writing because my husband would like to buy a treadmill and everything he’s researched online seems to point to the NT 1750 as “#1″, “top pick”,”best buy”.

    Consider his profile: he likes to jog approx 4 miles every other day. He runs outdoors because we haven’t had a gym membership for a while, but it can mean jogging late at night (or having to skip his run) because evening thunderstorms, a big dinner, and late arrivals from work can all factor in his start time. A treadmill solves this and when we’ve had gym memberships, he says he quite enjoys a treadmill run in the A/C. Nothing fancy, he just does a flat run, same as he would outdoors (we’re in flat, flat Florida).

    So despite having settled on the NT 1750, I’m the nosey wifey who would rather he invest a little bit more up front and buy the Precor 9.23 or 9.27. (Especially since I’M the one that will be losing hours of my life dealing with customer service, from the sounds of it.)

    But alas, its HIS machine and I can’t keep trying to talk him out of the 1750.

    So, please help me understand: why is the NT 1750 ranked on this website as #4 and Precor way down at #30? (Remember, he’s not really all that into the bells and whistles- the decline, iFit, google maps, etc. He’ll probably figure out how to use them, but really, his ONLY real reason for picking it over the Precor is because it “ranks” better.)

    Despite “inferior rankings” (or lack of “best buy” ribbons) all over the internet, isn’t Precor going to be better for someone who will only use the flat run program and is willing to spend an additional $800 or so? (And I say “better” but I’m thinking “far superior”).

    Or is there actually a real possibility that we will get lucky in NOT receiving a nordic track lemon AND that he’ll actually enjoy the NT more than a Precor?

    I’m just scared that there’s a headache, a return, and a consequent Precor purchase in my future…

  105. Kyle
    August 5, 2013

    Excellent question. Glad to hear you’re enjoying FitRated too!

    You nailed it when you mentioned not needing the bells and whistles.

    The Precor 9.35 is currently #9 overall, but it’s very expensive ($5,000). The 9.31 is in a similar situation at #19 ($4,000).

    The 9.23 is in the same price range, but on paper (or screen :)) the 1750 has a lot going for it:
    - More deck space
    - Better cushioning
    - More powerful motor
    - Way more workout programs, etc.

    Their warranties are very similar, but the overall quality of the specs is far better with the 1750. Add to that all the modern features/luxuries, and the rating algorithm ranked it much higher than the 9.23 overall.

    That said, it fell in the rankings from #1 when people started having problems with it, because the algorithm also considers customer reviews.

    The tricky thing with the 1750 is that it’s one of the best models on the market, but it’s a gamble right now. The probability of getting an awesome treadmill is still high, but not as high as it should be for the time being.

    If he’s focused on quality over features, I would check out the Sole F85 and the Smooth 9.65LC.

    I hope that helps! Have a good day,
    Kyle

  106. Megan
    August 10, 2013

    I bought my 1750 in February 2013. I finally got around activate ifit so I could create my next half marathon course and practice with the hills. Well, I have not gotten ifit to log-in on the treadmill, it keeps telling I have an incorrect user name and password. Yes this is the same user name and password that successfully logs me into the web.

    Problem #2, my treadmill is prompting me that there is a firmware update, I try to update, and its the spinning wheel of death (the longest I let it spin was 48hours) and it says “checking for update” but never moves to another screen. Yes I am connected to the internet with excellent strength, I even disconnected and reconnected. BEYOND frustrated that customer service is not open for calls on the weekend, they are only open weekdays while I am away from home and at work!

  107. Hoffa (NT C1750 - 2013)
    September 3, 2013

    Hi,

    I have had a C1750 for a month now. Love it even though I have had some issues. The motor belt somehow got lubricant on it during shipping and was slipping when stepping hard on the deck. It was replaced the next day by the guys from Fitness Concept Malaysia. Similar to other folks, I have had the login issue with IFit live. I can log into the website with my details but not from the Treadmill interface. I have seen a few possible fixes on this site and others today so will try them when home.

  108. Megan
    September 3, 2013

    Hi Hoffa, I finally got logged into iFit after about 3 weeks and countless emails. NordicTrack had to send me an SD card to reboot the Android system (firmware). I had to completely dismantle the console to even find the insert for the SD card, keep in mind with no directions since this is no where to be found in the owners manual (but it does exist, I was beginning to think it didn’t) Once my Android system was reinstalled and I Power Cycled the treadmill, I was then finally able to log into iFit. My treadmill was not able to update the firmware on its own. I hope you have a more simple problem. But hey at least I got that $100 SD card for free while I am still under warranty.

  109. Hoffa
    September 6, 2013

    Hi Megan,

    I have tried everything now…and ready to give up when I saw your post :)
    I think I need to reinstall the firmware as well but cannot seem to do it via the system at the moment. how big is the file on the SD card. is it something that can be emailed or is it too big? I live in Malaysia so I having anything sent to me will most likely not make it to me.

    is the file downloadable from anywhere?

    thanks

  110. Sara Greene
    October 29, 2013

    I’m interested in the NordicTrackC1750 mainly because of the -3% decline feature that no other treadmill seems to have. I’ve actually never tried to run on a declining treadmill, but the idea appeals. I currently have a NTC900 that only works by manual input. I bought it used on Craig’s list ~ 2 yrs ago. The electronics worked up until about 6 mo. ago, so I suppose I have gotten my money out of it. My personal experience plus the reviews about the OS make me reluctant to purchase another NT. What are your thoughts?

  111. Kyle
    October 29, 2013

    Hi Sara,

    It’s an interesting feature, and definitely unique. The only other treadmill I can think of off the top of my head that has a negative incline is the Precor 9.35, but that’s in a very different price range than the 1750 ($4,999).

    In my opinion, the decline option is nice if you run hilly races – it’s harder to run down hill at a fast pace than you might think – but in general I’m not sure the risk of leveling issues are worth the benefit of the decline itself (many customers have reported that the only way they could make it level was to set it at -2% decline).

    Overall, the C1750 is a great machine, but it is a bit of a gamble since there are so many bells and whistles with this year’s model…iFit, decline, etc.

    If you’re trying to decide on something for around $1,500, I would recommend looking at an option that quite a few people have told me they chose in this situation, the Sole F80.

    I hope that helps!
    Kyle

  112. rob
    October 29, 2013

    I bought ours in January 2013. The only issue I have had is the incline tends not to be right on and I end up either doing s calibration or setting vthe incline to -1 in order to make it level. Not a really big deal for me. I have had several firmware updates that went fine. We really like the interface. The speakers are not high end but are OK for listening to movies, I don’t use them much. I do not regret the purchase at all. Resenlty put new silicon under the track. Only regret I have is not getting my butt on it more.

  113. Kyle
    October 29, 2013

    Haha, thanks for the feedback Rob!

    It’s great to hear from someone that bought the C1750 and is happy with it.

    Like I mentioned earlier, “the squeaky wheel gets the oil”, so it’s less common to hear from people like you that are happy with their purchase. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

    Have a good day,
    Kyle

  114. Donny
    November 13, 2013

    Well I don’t own this machine but have owned two Sole F80 units..An 05 model and now an 08 model..The decks wear out on them pretty quick if you are an avid runner..I have put 3 decks on this 08′ model as of now..Even when lubed they still run hot and wer out over time..The first model the 05 the frame itself actually broke and they sent me this 08 as a replacement..

  115. Rob
    November 27, 2013

    So I have a similar ceiling height issue. Can someone on here go measure their deck height from the floor to the top of the deck at 15% incline? I’d REALLY appreciate it before I start to unpack and assemble it. I may need to move it upstairs!

  116. Sabrina
    December 5, 2013

    Hi kyle, i am currently looking to buy a treadmill and was really interested in the nt c1750 mostly because i tried it at sears and it was so quiet compared to the other treadmills – even the sole f80. And it has 3 inch rear rollers which help. I really wont be using all the extra bells and whistles or the internet.. So if i do buy it will it even work if its not connected to a wireless internet? What if we dont even have internet at the property – then will this machine even work?
    I like it quietness and durability but i hate having to deal with software and computer issues as i get enough of that at work.

  117. Kyle
    December 6, 2013

    Hi Sabrina,

    I totally agree with you. The 1750 is an excellent treadmill, and has been improving over the past couple years, but it does still have its flaws.

    I don’t see as many complaints about tech issues now, but since the rating algorithm rated the Sole F80 higher and I haven’t heard any complaints about it in a very long time, I would recommend it.

    Have a good weekend,
    Kyle

  118. Steve
    December 30, 2013

    I purchased a Nordic Track treadmill in March, 2013. Like many others that have posted here, I found that the treadmill when it is set at zero degrees is actually at an incline of about 2 degrees and I have to “shim” it to get it level. Nordic Track had me replace sensors twice, sent a tech out etc…. It took many months of back and forth and now finally today – December 30, 2013 – they told me that there is no fix and that’s just the way the treadmill is designed.

    I checked several other treadmills at Planet Fitness, Snap Fitness etc… and none have incorrect inclines. People were looking at me like I was crazy with my 4 foot level setting it on the treadmills!

    Regardless, Nordic Track says it’s not their problem. I’m so disappointed that such a huge player in the fitness industry won’t stand by their product.
    The incline / decline was a major seller for me too. My ‘shim’ method isn’t perfect and they tend to move every so often and it drives me crazy to have to put a level on my treadmill every time I use it. If this is no biggie to you then it’s a pretty solid treadmill. In my opinion though, NordicTrack’s reaction to the problem and customer service are so poor I’m done with their products.

  119. NordicTrickedMe
    January 5, 2014

    Did its job for 2 years (for an occasional/light user) then, 1 day it died mid-jog. $1200 fix for a $1500 machine = ridiculous. For this kind of money, I would have expected a better product & customer service who cares.

  120. rob
    January 5, 2014

    That suck. I am confused why it would would cost $1200 as you would still have warrenty after 2 years?

  121. David
    January 16, 2014

    Ordered from ICON my NordicTrack c1750 was delivered curbside to my home. When ordered the info stated the unit would be delivered up one flight of stairs and inside. This was not the case as the shippers documentation clearly showed “Curbside Delivery Only”. I emailed ICON customer service and they referred me to the billing department with no explanation. It was a major issue getting this hulk of a treadmill (over 300 lbs) to the spot we wanted.
    The treadmill would not maintain speed from day one. After many attempts at telephone troubleshooting with ICON support and long holds waiting they finally agreed to send a new speed control for the unit. This took weeks to arrive. So far it seems to have solved the problem.
    The video screen is fine for viewing anything but video on ifit. You would have to be between 6 and 7 feet tall for the proper site line to view video. Much like having a laptop screen at an improper angle to view.
    So far I have not been able to find any adjustment for the viewing angle.

  122. Mike
    February 13, 2014

    So thankful to have found this site. Was just about to take the NT road, but now have switched lanes for another! Can not stand crazy glitches or even crazier customer service. Will be looking elsewhere until NT learns that customer service actually does matter.

  123. Matt
    March 30, 2014

    Don’t buy this. Nordic tracks service is great. It’s a good thing as you’ll need it. Incline has not worked since new. Replaced board, wire harness, motor and updated software. Seems we have a tech here every few months. Works fine on flat….but now after 2 years it’s falling apart…..good thing spring is close!

Post Comment