Intro

ProForm Power 995 Treadmill

The ProForm Power 995 is equipped with all the latest features, including iPod/mp3 compatibility, NikePlus.com access, iFit Live (featuring Jillian Michaels), built-in Intermix 3.0 speakers and multi-window LED display.

Without a doubt, the 21st century did not skip the ProForm Power 995.

In terms of general specs, the treadmill features a 3.0 CHP motor, quality size running surface (20″ x 60″) and SpaceSaver folding technology.

Learn more by reading our full ProForm Power 995 treadmill review below…


Video
Video Overview of the ProForm Power 995:


Compare

Wondering if the ProForm Power 995 is your best bet? Compare it to similar treadmills at the pages below:

Here are some other great treadmills you might be interested in:


Properties

Model ProForm Power 995
Rating

Our custom rating considers all of the treadmill's features, specs, warranties, and 100's of user & expert reviews, to save you time!

ProForm Power 995 Rating: 87.9/100
Rating: 87.9%
List Price

Suggested retail price, typically higher than the price you'll pay with our recommended retailers.

$1,999.00
Best Price

Since prices change daily, this link goes to our preferred retailer for the current best price. Note: MSRP stands for Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price.

$979.00
Speed

Treadmill Speed is measured in Miles Per Hour (mph). Average running speed is 5-9 mph.

0 - 12 mph
Incline

Treadmill Incline measures the angle of the deck, and how steep it is relative to the floor (0% is flat, and 15% is like a steep hill).

0 - 15%
Visit Site

After carefully evaluating each online retailer that offers this Treadmill, this is the website we recommend purchasing from.

Motor

The Treadmill Motor is what turns the belt as you run. We recommend at least 2 HP (Horsepower) motors, 2.5+ HP for jogging, and 3.0+ HP for running.

3.0 CHP
Deck

Treadmill Deck dimensions are measured in inches: Width x Length. The wider and longer the deck, the safer it is (55-60 inches long recommended for running).

20" x 60"
Belt

The Treadmill Belt is the surface you run on. The thicker the belt, the less impact on your joints. At least 2-ply (1 inch) recommended.

ProShox Elite 2 Cushioning
(Commercial Grade 2-Ply)
Folding?

Some treadmills are designed to conserve space by folding up. This is a convenient option, but some features might be reduced.

Programs

Treadmill Programs allow you to complete a workout with changing speeds and inclines, without changing anything manually.

20
Max. Weight

Treadmill Max User Weight is the amount of weight, in pounds (lbs), that it can safely support, which can represent durability.

325 lbs
Heart Rate

Heart Rate programs allow you to track how many times your heart is beating per minute (bpm), and some control the workout for you.

Dual-Grip EKG Monitor
Dimensions

Dimensions are included to help you figure out if this treadmill will fit properly (Length x Width x Height and Height x Depth).

81" x 37" x 59.5"
Display

Treadmill Display refers to the screen you'll look at to monitor workouts. LED and LCD displays are similar to TV screens.

Multi-Window LED
Easy Fold Up

Easy Fold Up is a feature that makes folding your treadmill much easier. Some manufacturers include a one-button fold feature.

Pulse Grips

Pulse Grips are handles you can hold while exercising to monitor your true heart rate.

Cooling Fans

Treadmill Cooling Fans are designed to help keep you cool during an intense workout.

Accessory Tray

Some treadmills include an accessory tray for holding items such as water bottles, wallets, keys, or MP3 players like iPods.

Music Ready

Treadmills that are music ready allow you to plug a music-playing device (iPod, smartphone, etc.) directly into the machine.

Sound System

Treadmills that include a sound system allow you to listen to your MP3 player/iPod through built-in speakers (no headphones).

Quick Controls

Quick Controls allow you to select speed, incline and even workout programs with the touch of a button (usually on the handles).

iFit

iFit is an online service that lets you map and simulate runs from anywhere in the world, and track your progress wirelessly!

Built-in TV

Treadmills that have a TV built in make it easier to get through your workouts by focusing on the TV while you're exercising.

Warranty

The warranty is a very important part of your investment. The longer the warranty, the longer you can get free/discounted repairs by the manufacturer.

Frame: Lifetime
Motor: Lifetime
Parts: 3 Years
Labor: 1 Year
Best Deal

We do not sell Treadmills; we are a free Treadmill Reviews service. This link goes to our top-rated retailer for the ProForm Power 995

Full Review

Quick Summary
Rating: 87.9/100. Weight-loss workouts designed by a Certified Personal Trainer including daily updates from Jillian Michaels, America’s Toughest Trainer, as well as several preset workout programs built-in to the treadmill.

Pros:
- Industry standard Mach Z 3.0 CHP motor
- Spacious 20″ x 60″ running surface
- Multi-Window LED display for readouts
- Treadmill supports iFit technology
- Music ready (mp3 player, speakers)
- Great variety of workout programs

Cons:
- Folds, but not the most compact trainer
- No warranty coverage on deck
- iFit Wireless module sold separately (needed for iFit Live)

Introduction

The ProForm Power 995 is a good value considering that you get solid specs across the board and a lot of great add-ons like iFit Live and NikePlus.com access.

The treadmill operates smoothly with a 3.0 CHP motor and ProTech Adjustable Cushion deck that is according to the manufacture capable of protecting your joints up to 15 percent more.

Backed by a solid warranty, ProForm claims that the Power 995 has endured intense testing including “deck-pounding with 475 pounds of force over one million times, console testing, software checks, and 200 hours of human testing”.

Workout Programs

In terms of workout programs, the ProForm Power 995 has all the bases covered.

The treadmill contains 20 built-in workout routines including: 5 speed, 6 distance/endurance, 6 weight loss and 5 calorie burn workouts, all designed by a Certified Personal Trainer.

Along with the large selection inside the console, the ProForm Power 995 is compatible with iFit Live (features workouts powered by Google Maps, training with Jillian Michaels, automatic speed and incline controls, workout downloads) and NikePlus (connect your iPod, workout, and then sync results online at Nikeplus.com).

NOTE: iFit Wireless Module Sold Separately (Need To Use iFit Live)

Treadmill Features

The ProForm Power 995 virtually has no limitations when it comes to monitoring and tracking workout results, an important aspect of improving your health and fitness.

The treadmill also features iPod dock/mp3 capabilities and Intermix Acoustics 3.0 speakers that sport rich, powerful sound quality.

Stay cool with the CoolAire workout fan directed right at your face. Fold and store the Power 995 quickly with EastLift Assist and SpaceSaver Design.

Built-in heart rate sensors keeps your heart rate on track and alerts you to higher or lower readings.

The multi-window LED display tracks calories, time, distance, speed, pulse and incline. While the intensity controls adjusts speed up to 12 mph and incline to 15 percent.

Adjustable ProShox Elite 2 Cushioning reduces impact on your joints by 15 percent as compared to road running. Customize your cushion to match the firmness of a road, or the forgiveness of a trail.

Warranty & Guarantee

The ProForm Power 995 treadmill warranty and guarantee includes:

- Frame: Lifetime
- Motor: Lifetime
- Parts & Electronics: 3 Years
- Labor: 1 Year

ProForm offers a 30-day trial period on all products. If you are not satisfied for any reason call 1-866-896-9777.

Conclusion

For its price, the ProForm Power 995 is a quality buy, yes, even in the $500 to $1,000 price range has always been a very competitive market for treadmills.

Compare to other treadmills $500 to $1,000.

19 Comments

  1. Tim schreier
    March 5, 2013

    Can i use my iphone 5 on this treadmill

  2. Kyle
    March 6, 2013

    Hi Tim,

    To use the iPod dock with your iPhone 5, you could use the “30 pin to Lightning adapter” to plug into the dock.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  3. Jeanette
    April 13, 2013

    How loud is this treadmill compared to others?

  4. Kyle
    April 15, 2013

    Hi Jeanette,

    The Power 995 is rated in the middle for noise level, which is common in the $1,000 price range.

    One treadmill for the same price is quieter and has a similar overall rating: the Sole F63.

    Have a great day,
    Kyle

  5. Dee
    April 16, 2013

    Putting price aside, if I you were buying a treadmill to train to run distance, lose some weight inside your home, would you choose proform 995 or nordic track 1750 c?

  6. Kyle
    April 16, 2013

    Hi Dee,

    Price aside, considering all features and ratings, I would go with the ProForm Power 995 between those two.

    If you’re considering other options in this price range, I would definitely look at the Sole F80 as well.

    Let me know if there’s anything else I can do to help!
    Kyle

  7. Bill
    April 25, 2013

    looking for the best value for the price. I am trying to decide between the ProForm Power 995, LifeSpan TR 1200i and the Sole F63. The family will use it mostly for walking and minimal running. The treadmill we have which cost around a 1000.00 electronics has gone out numerous times and we had to call the dealer to reset. Had to replace the main bord once and now it will not run. wWe need a treadmill that will be reliable for many years. what do you recommend?

  8. Kyle
    April 26, 2013

    Hi Bill,

    Great question, thanks for the comment!

    I would go with the Sole F63 if your focus is on reliability. They have a great track record, and I can say as a customer I’ve been very pleased with our Sole as well. My wife and I have trained on it for over 2 years, and haven’t had any issues.

    Let me know if there’s anything else I can do to help.

    Have a good weekend!
    Kyle

  9. Bill
    April 26, 2013

    Kyle, thank you for the quick response and I was just about there to buy a Sole f63 and then read a couple of bad reviews on the treadmill. Things like not running right had to wait on parts and front design was a poor and these reviews scared me. Then read how the Sole f80 had a thicker belt etc.

    I like your reviews on treadmills the most so I need you to steer me in the right direction. I am 5’-7” and weigh 260 lbs and need a strong treadmill and a nice deck to prevent injuries. I workout in spurts and when it is a go I will be the treadmill every day, trying different programs for incentive for a couple months and then I hit the busy in life mode and no more treadmill until another YOU KNOW BETTER SCREAM (from my unhealthy body) kicks start me back into a workout regiment.

    I like free weights and will use the treadmill for warm ups, cool downs and cardio. Read a lot of good reviews on LifeSpan TR 1200i but sometimes I feel internet reviews are mostly people justifying there purchase. I like your reviews because they sound like you have tried the different machines and have done research on them.

    My only experiences with treadmills are the industrial lines in gyms and the ones Academy sale. I would like a machine like the ones in the gym and was hoping the Sole f63 or LifeSpan TR 1200i would be comparable? Am I being unrealistic and might need to save a little longer and holdout for better machine you recommend or go with the Sole f63 (the last year models are less then 900) and the problems people had are the exceptions and the LifeSpan is also pronged to similar problems? I am not familiar with SOLE products but from what I read there high end equipment is really good.

    I hope my rambling will give you a profile of me and help you recommend a treadmill for me. I would like to make a purchase soon because my BODY IS REALLY UPSET WITH ME! The final decision will be mine and I will not hold you responsible.

    Sincerely Yours,
    Bill

  10. Kyle
    April 26, 2013

    Hi Bill,

    You’re so welcome! I’m always happy to hear the reviews are helping.

    With some companies, the higher-end models are not worth the extra investment, but in Sole’s case the F80 and F85 are worth it, in my opinion (my wife and I bought the F85).

    That said, you’re absolutely right about the customer reviews we see online. Most the time, they fall into one of two categories: Justifying their purchase (good or bad) with a 4 or 5 star review, or complaining about something that could randomly happen to anyone with such complex manufacturing and logistics. That’s exactly why I spent a crazy amount of time creating a spreadsheet algorithm…to compare everything side-by-side, removing as much bias as possible.

    According to the rating algorithm, the LifeSpan is rated 78.9%, while the Sole F63 is rated 87.2%. The ProForm is slightly higher, at 87.9% all things considered, though since it’s so close I considered a couple factors that are much more difficult to quantify (e.g. customer support complaints, occasional excessive shipping times, and that I own a Sole personally), which is why I would recommend the F63 at this price point.

    If you’re willing to invest more in the F80, it has a much higher rating than all of these models (94.1%).

    Whether you choose the Power 995, the F63, or the F80, you will very likely be happy with your investment. I hope that helps!

    Feel free to come back and let us know what you chose. Have a good weekend,
    Kyle

  11. Beth
    May 27, 2013

    We were leaning toward the F63 until we went to a store today to run on them. My husband preferred the cushioning of the C900 Pro. Now I’m comparing the C900 or C900 Pro to the ProForm 995 (which we couldn’t test). I read that they are made by the same company and had some common components. What are the practical differences between them? Do you know if they are equally “comfortable” to run on?

  12. Kyle
    May 28, 2013

    Hi Beth,

    The C 900 has the best cushioning out of these 3 models.

    The 995′s cushioning is right between the others, so if cushioning is your top priority, the C 900 is the one to go with.

    Have a good one!
    Kyle

  13. Helga
    September 24, 2013

    I recently purchased the Proform 995 and can’t seem to figure out where to dock my iPhone to play music. Help,
    Thanks!

  14. Matt
    September 24, 2013

    My wife and I are looking for a treadmill and have found the ProForm 995 to be the best fit for us. The only problem is that we are going to put it into our basement and I’m 6’3. Is there anyway you could tell me the deck height of this model? I emailed the company and they told me they didn’t know which I found unhelpful. Thanks.

  15. Kyle
    September 25, 2013

    Hi Helga,

    It’s above the speakers, and below the main screen, just about in line with the 5% incline button.

    Have a good day!
    Kyle

  16. Helga
    September 25, 2013

    Thanks, Kyle. There is a little door there, but I opened it and it was just wires and whatnot – no port for my iPhone. Frustrating…

  17. Kyle
    September 25, 2013

    Hi Matt,

    I agree! I really wish this was a provided spec, but unfortunately it’s not.

    To give some insight, I’m also 6′ 3″ and I frequently run at an incline on my Sole F85 in my basement, which has an 8ft ceiling.

    Many treadmill decks are in the 5-8″ range from the floor, and I’ve heard that some NordicTrack/ProForm models are more in the 7-8″ range.

    I would plan on the higher end of the range to be safe, and leave a few inches of clearance at the top. If your ceiling is 8ft, you should be fine. If it’s 7′ 6″, that’s when the measurements will need to be more precise.

    Hope that helps! Have a good day Matt,
    Kyle

  18. Helga
    September 25, 2013

    I’ve had mine for two weeks and love it. The instruction manual is lacking in a big way though. I can’t figure out how to play music from the machine.

    I think the deck is about 6-8″ from the floor.

  19. Gord
    March 15, 2014

    I bought the 995C a few weeks ago and it seems to be a good machine with one exception. It can’t maintain control of the speed at higher inclines.

    I even tried setting the speed at just 1 mph and slowly raising the incline to 15. The speed just kept increasing, until it got to the point that i couldn’t even run fast enough to stay on the treadmill. All the while showing 1 mph on the display. Has anyone else had this issue?

Post Comment