Intro

Bowflex TC5 TreadClimber

The Bowflex TC5 utilizes the same TreadClimber technology as the higher-rated TreadClimbers, but has just the essentials to make it more affordable.

The TC5 does not come with all the features of the TC10 or the TC20, and while it is a decent piece of equipment, customer ratings and our research & rating algorithm show it’s not as good of an investment as the higher-rated models.

That said, if you save money compared to the higher-end models, the Bowflex TC5 is a good way to experience the TreadClimber technology for a much lower price. Learn more in our full Bowflex TreadClimber TC5 review below…


Video

Video Overview of the Bowflex TC5:

If you’re ready to order a TC5, click here for the best price.

Still not sure? Compare all 3 TreadClimbers side-by-side.


Properties

Model Bowflex TC5
Rating

Our custom rating considers the TreadClimber's features, specs, warranties, and 100's of user & expert reviews, to save you time!

75.2/100 Rating
List Price

Suggested retail price, including shipping. Typically higher than the price you'll pay with promotions.

$1,399.00
Best Price

This link goes to the best price we've found online, including shipping (with coupons & sales).

$1,399 $1,019
Resistance

Resistance is what determines calories burned per stride. The more levels, the more precisely you can control the difficulty.

User-Generated
Speed

TreadClimber speed is measured in Miles Per Hour (mph).Average speed for TreadClimbers is around 3.5 mph

0 - 4.5 mph
Visit Site

After carefully evaluating each online retailer that offers this TreadClimber, this is the website we recommend purchasing from.

Functions

There are 5 main TreadClimber functions: Speed, Distance, Time, Calories and Heart Rate.

4 Functions
Heart Rate

Heart Rate programs allow you to track how many times your heart is beating per minute (bpm), and some control the workout for you.

None
Display

The Display refers to the screen you'll look at to monitor workouts. LED and LCD displays are similar to TV screens.

LCD Display
Max Weight

Max User Weight is the amount of weight, in pounds (lbs), that it can safely support, which can represent durability.

300 lbs
Dimensions

Dimensions are included to help you figure out if this TreadClimber will fit properly (Length x Width x Height and Height x Depth).

Length: 43.1"
Width: 27"
Height: 52.8"
Profiles

The TreadClimber will store and track different users' settings and workout history.

Climb Indicator

The Climb Indicator will visually track the distance you have traveled in miles.

Quick Controls

Quick Controls allow you to select speed, incline and even workout programs with the touch of a button (usually on the handles).

Accessory Tray

Some TreadClimbers include an accessory tray for holding items such as water bottles, wallets, keys, or MP3 players like iPods.

Portable?

Is the TreadClimber easy to move? Does it have wheels? These can be crucial factors when buying a TreadClimber.

Warranty

The warranty is an important part of your investment. The longer the warranty, the longer you can get free/discounted repairs.

1 Year (Entire Machine)
Best Deal

We do not sell TreadClimbers; we are a free TreadClimber reviews service. This link goes to our top-rated retailer for the Bowflex TreadClimber TC5

Full Review

Quick Summary
Rating: 75.2/100. Good choice for low-impact, high-calorie burning exercise at this price. Very basic feature set and 1-year warranty earn the TC5 a lower rating than the TC10.

Coupon Code:
Save $180 on Shipping with the coupon at the top of the exclusive TC5 discount page.

Note: If you want a better deal, Bowflex is having a sale on their higher-rated models. They’re more expensive than the TC5, but they are much higher quality, so it’s worth considering an upgrade during this sale.

For all the details, compare all 3 TreadClimbers side-by-side.

Pros:
- Compact and portable trainer (smallest model)
- Innovative 3-in-1 motion burns lots of calories
- 4 Functions: calories, time, speed & distance
- Built-in indicators including calories burned & climb
- No need to plug in to an outlet and use electricity
- Low joint impact (great for injury prevention & recovery)

Cons:
- Motorless trainer is desired by some, not others
- Full coverage warranty only lasts 1 year
- In January 2012, some shipments arrived damaged

Introduction

The Bowflex TC5 is an economical way to burn calories, fat and lose inches in four weeks.

The TreadClimber was designed to provide 3 workouts in 1 thus allowing the user to walk forward like a treadmill, step up like a Stairclimber as well as enjoy the generally smooth operation of the elliptical.

When you combine these three elements into one compact trainer like the Bowflex TC5 you get a workout that is unrivaled and actually guaranteed to burn more calories when compared to a standard treadmill.

Workout Programs

The Bowflex TC5 offers four workout functions which is nothing special yet enough to get the job done.

We do wish the TC5 would include a heart rate monitor, but since the price tag for the model is so low they have to strip some features from the wallet friendly version.

One thing we really like about the Bowflex TC5 is you can experience the treadmill, Stairclimber and elliptical motions at the same time.

It’s an extremely versatile workout experience.

TreadClimber Features

The Bowflex TC5 allows the user to reduce exercise time with an efficient, low impact workout. Since you get the workout motion of the treadmill, StairClimber and elliptical you burn calories much faster than simply exercising on a treadmill or elliptical.

The TC5 features user-generated resistance including four individual functions, and it is equipped with LCD display including readouts of speed, time and distance.

Reach speeds that max out at 4.5 mph on a quiet, motorless operation that some consumers absolutely love and others despise (it depends on personal preference).

Make sure you are getting the ultimate workout with built-in indicators including “Calories Burned” and “Climber”.

The Bowflex Body Weight Loss Plan is included with purchase.

Warranty

In January of 2012, some customers told us their TC5 arrived damaged.

I talked to Bowflex and they said the issue has been addressed, though I still recommend the TC10 over the TC5 because of its higher quality and features.

Either way, it’s always important to have a solid warranty and money-back guarantee on fitness equipment.

The Bowflex TreadClimber TC5 warranty includes one year of full coverage on the entire machine.

Guarantee

The money-back guarantee gives you 6 weeks to try it out.

If you don’t think it’s worth the investment, call (800) 647-3405 and ship back for a full refund of the purchase price.

Conclusion

With a budget around $1,000 but you want to experience the 3-in-1 motion of the TreadClimber — the Bowflex TC5 is the entry-level model.

This model does not provide many extras (and could really use some basics like a heart rate monitor), but overall it’s a solid trainer that gets the job done.

Overall, we highly recommend upgrading to the Bowflex TC10 if your budget allows for it.

If you would like to talk with Bowflex or place an order on the phone, their customer support number is (800) 647-3405.

Where to Buy

The best deal on a TC5 is currently at this page.

140 Comments

  1. Donna
    November 29, 2011

    Does the TC5 burn twice the calories as your other treadclimbers claim to do. I have a treadmill but I am on that for 40 minutes and only burn 240 cal. Will this machine be different

    Thank you so much for your time and look forward to hearing from you.

  2. November 29, 2011

    Hi Donna,

    Great question! While their specs are different, Bowflex claims that all of the TreadClimbers (including the TC5) help to burn about 2x the calories of other types of machines.

    That said, we always recommend focusing more on intensity than the calories displayed on screen with any cardio workout.

    This is because they are never 100% accurate, and this rule of thumb allows you to focus on what’s most important: that you’re getting great exercise that is pushing you toward your goals.

    Long story short, yes. You can definitely burn a lot of calories on the TC5!

    Take care,
    Kyle

  3. Amy
    December 5, 2011

    I was wondering how easy the TreadClimber TC5 belts work considering there is no motor for this version.

  4. December 9, 2011

    Hi Amy,

    The motor-less aspect does change the feel of the TC5 compared to the TC10 and TC20 in that you have to work a bit harder to get the belts up to speed.

    The benefits are that the TC5 costs less than half the money and you burn a few extra calories to build the momentum when you first get moving on it.

    Let us know if you have any other questions,
    Kyle

  5. ErnieB
    January 4, 2012

    There are a couple of things making my decision more difficult: 1.) I can’t try it. – new machine, no motor… what if I don’t like it? While less expensive, it’s still $1,000. and 2.) How much assembly? Not found of afternoon projects to discover missing parts/pieces that delay project. Can live with assembly. I guess not being able to see/try is the major obstacle to my not moving forward.

  6. January 5, 2012

    Hi Ernie,

    Thanks for the comment. Those are very common concerns, and I’ve had them myself when buying fitness equipment online.

    Here are the things I looked at when deciding whether or not to buy:

    1) Do they have a money-back guarantee? Is it hard to get the refund?

    Bowflex has a 6-week money-back guarantee. After you try it out for over a month, if you don’t like it, you can call (800) 675-9973 for a “return merchandise authorization number” to print and send back with the TC5. They will refund the purchase price (less shipping fees since those are paid to the delivery company, not Bowflex).

    2) Is the assembly difficult? If so, is there an assembly service?

    Bowflex recommends the TC5 be installed by 2 people since the machine weighs 163 lbs in total, but the manual has very clear diagrams and simple instructions. Each step is labeled with the parts you need and a simple picture of what the step entails. There are 13 steps to assemble the TC5.

    Personally, I prefer to pay an expert for this sort of thing (which I did with the treadmill in my basement) Though the in-home assembly service isn’t cheap, I think it’s worth it.

    Here’s what in-home assembly comes with (for $219):

    – Move machine packaging from delivered area to workout area (up to 12 stairs if changing floors)
    – Complete 13-step assembly by a qualified technician
    – Product check: Testing and calibration
    – Removal of all boxes, packaging, etc.

    You can check availability for this service on the TC5 page at BowflexCatalog.com by typing in your zip code. If it’s not offered in your area, there are usually local installation & repair techs that could do it for you (maybe even for cheaper).

    I hope that helps!
    Kyle

  7. Phil B
    January 9, 2012

    I am soo close to buying a TC5. I have read the revies and seen the TC5 assembly video on youtube. The only thing I have a question about is the 12 level Resistance. Since it has no motor how do you change the Resistance? Just walk faster? Is that really what they mean?

    Thanks

  8. Kyle
    January 9, 2012

    Hi Phil,

    Great question! Bowflex just updated their TreadClimber line, and our review has been updated to reflect the new User-Generated resistance (as opposed to the 12 levels it had with a motor).

    You’re exactly right: the resistance is controlled entirely by you, which makes it easier to focus on your workout instead of worrying about adjusting settings.

    Enjoy your workouts and have a great day Phil,
    Kyle

  9. Alex Rodrigues
    January 22, 2012

    Hi Kyle,

    I’m worried about the noise of the machine, since I live in an apartment in NYC with neighbors below, and the floor is made of old wood.

    Do you think the TC5 or the TC10 will make enough noise to bother the neighbors downstairs?

    Thank you,

    Alex.

  10. Kyle
    January 22, 2012

    Hi Alex,

    I’ve never thought about that, but it’s a great point to bring up!

    The TreadClimber machines don’t use a high-impact running motion, so they’re much quieter than treadmills.

    In this case though, I would recommend putting down a rug and/or a workout mat (both couldn’t hurt) to reduce the creaking noise from the machine’s motion, and you should be good.

    Have a good day Alex,
    Kyle

  11. Mary jane
    January 25, 2012

    Hi Kyle,

    Thank you for your thorough review – it helped me in deciding to purchase this. At your suggestion, I’ve also decided to get in-home assembly. The assembly itself is quite pricey so I’m wondering—do you tip them?

    Thank you!
    MJ

  12. Kyle
    January 26, 2012

    Hey MJ,

    Thanks for stopping by, and I’m happy to help!

    As for tipping, that’s a great question that I’ve honestly never thought about for some reason.

    Each time I’ve paid for home delivery, my line of thinking was like yours: the cost is so high they must be making good money to do it, so it never crossed my mind to tip. That said, I’m not sure how much of that money the actual techs are seeing, so I’ll be sure to ask around.

    I’d love to hear from others about this though. Has anyone tipped for in-home delivery?

    Have a great day,
    Kyle
    FitRated.com

  13. Pam
    January 27, 2012

    We ordered the TC5. Be sure to inspect both Box 1 and Box 2 as soon as you can after delivery. We received the initial boxes, and both boxes were virtually destroyed and not reusable. There was interior damage to Box 2 contents (the treadclimber base assembly portion). Nautilus worked quickly with us, and put us on the list for a replacement Box 2 – unfortunately this was another 4 weeks, in addition to the original 6, but Nautilus said our 6 week trial would not start until we informed them we received the replacement and assembled the unit.
    It is however sad that when the replacement Box 2 arrived, it was also damaged in shipment. I reported both times to Nautilus, that the boxes are not well suited to shipping, and that the interior contents are not sufficiently packaged to keep from shifting, causing holes in the box, and ultimately damage to the unit. We are returning our entire unit and opted to not get a replacement. In our case, Nautilus approved us (a 2 day process) to return the unit at their cost.

  14. Kyle
    January 27, 2012

    Hi Pam,

    I’m sorry to hear that! It’s strange that the packaging isn’t better suited to protect the product during shipping, but I’m glad you told them about it.

    I’ll also contact them to put in my vote for better packing materials, and hopefully they’ll upgrade them.

    Update: They did it! Thanks for your feedback on this, because the new packing materials have solved the damaged box issues.

    Thanks for your feedback, and let me know if you need any help finding a different piece of equipment,
    Kyle

  15. Monica
    February 3, 2012

    I also received my T5 badly beaten up, and I’m waiting for cosmetic replacement parts. I’ve been able to use it but it is very noisy. I’m wondering if anyone else has reported banging noises from the machine? It’s loud enough that I may return it. It’s not the belts, and I have oiled it up.

  16. Kyle
    February 4, 2012

    Hi Monica,

    Sorry to hear that! We’ve gotten quite a few emails about receiving it with damages, though only one other about the banging noises.

    Update: The new packing materials they are using have resolved these issues.

    From their experience, it seems like the noise was from the problems it had upon shipping or something that happened during assembly, because when everything is working it’s not a very loud machine.

    If you would like to return it for a refund, give them a call at (800) 675-9973 to get the process started.

    Thanks for your feedback, and please let us know how things turn out.

    Have a great day Monica,
    Kyle

  17. Jane Smith
    February 5, 2012

    I just recieved my TreadClimber TC5, and it is totally what i wanted.

    Just need to know one thing: how do i make it into a treadmill?

    This is the best machine i have ever worked out on, anybody know the answer please let me know….Thanks

  18. Kyle
    February 5, 2012

    Hi Jane,

    TreadClimbers get the effects of a treadmill, elliptical and stair climber in one machine, so you don’t have to change anything while you work out to cover all three motions.

    That’s the beauty of it. Glad to hear you like it…
    Kyle

  19. Chelsea
    February 7, 2012

    hello, I’m hesitant to buy the TC5 because of the fact that it has no motor, does it make a huge deal? I dont care about the whole no heart monitors, or calroie counter things, I jsut want to know how it is walking wise, because it is 1000$ and i dont wan tto buy something thats not good quality

  20. Kyle
    February 8, 2012

    Hi Chelsea,

    The machine’s power is based on the user’s motion, so the TC5 has its pros and cons…

    Pros:
    - Your workout will be as intense as you can make it
    - You don’t have to worry about changing speeds with buttons

    Cons:
    - Without the machine staying on pace, it’s easy to slow down
    - The TC5 has been reportedly been shipped with damages lately

    Ideally, everyone would get the TC10 or TC20, but they are significantly more money. So, if you’re looking for a cardio machine in the $1,000 price range, the Sole E25 elliptical is a solid option.

    You could also check out our comparison of the top 5 walking treadmills if that’s your focus. The top model is $799.

    I hope that helps! Thanks for stopping by Chelsea,
    Kyle

  21. Chelsea
    February 8, 2012

    Id be interested in an elliptical but I’m looking for financing, i really like the treadclimber but I’m quite concerned with the no motor aspect, know any websites that offer financing?

  22. Kyle
    February 8, 2012

    In that case, I would apply for Bowflex’s 18-month interest-free financing option.

    If approved, you could get it, try it out, and return it if you don’t like it.

    If it is what you’re looking for, you’ll have 18 months to pay it off without any fees.

    Good luck Chelsea!
    Kyle

  23. Alex Rodrigues
    February 13, 2012

    Hi Kyle,

    So I bought the TC5, and like other customers, I received a damaged machine!
    I called customer service, waited for more than 30min to get an agent, and after saying that I don’t want a replacement part because I don’t want to got through another 4h of assembling the “thing”, or getting another defective part (as other people have reported) I was told that I have to wait for at least 5 business days to see if they will approve the return or not!! Or that I could return it and pay for it myself!
    Could not believe it! Worst customer service ever!

    Also, my machine makes the banging noise. I recommend people not buy this machine.

  24. Kyle
    February 14, 2012

    Hey Alex,

    Wow, that’s crazy man! So sorry to hear that. Stick to your guns about the money-back guarantee…though this is a big mistake, they are historically a good company, so I’m confident they’ll give you the refund you deserve.

    I’ve updated the review to make sure everyone here in the FitRated community sees these issues right away, so thanks a ton for your feedback.

    Also, now that 5 people have seen this damaged shipment issue, I’m going to contact Bowflex directly with all of our comments to get to the bottom of this.

    Thanks for taking the time to help all of us,
    Kyle

    Update: I was able to get in touch with them, and they upgraded their shipping materials/process. In the many months since, I have not heard one complaint about the TC5 being damaged during shipping.

  25. Pam
    February 14, 2012

    Hi – I posted on 1/27, and I shared that I went through the experience Alex is about to embark. They approved mine, and if you have supporting info (I sent them photos), you should be good to go – it’s a bit of “red tape” I’m sure so hang in there.

    We were responsible for repacking and getting the boxes to a FedEx facility. In all, we had to REPLACE the boxes because they were so mangled from the original shipment. We have a wholesale box company in Houston that specializes in all kinds of box sizes so boxes were horribly expensive, and we could get one in almost the original sizes.

    Note going forward – you may still have some battles…KEEP every shred of documentation. I returned mine on 1/30 and Nautilus got my machine back on 2/3…so far NO credit, so you MUST file a dispute with your credit card company (this is typically in writing, btw) and they want copies of emails, phone call dates and conversation summaries, along with outcomes of what Nautilus verbally promised you. I took advantage of the 18 months no interest offer, and I had to file a complaint yesterday with FTC about horrible practices by GE Money Retail Bank! On top of everything else – I sent dispute paperwork to the address on website (calling was useless – I tried and they didn’t have a clue what I was referring to “credit card dispute”). I find out yesterday, after checking on dispute status – they “didnt’ get paperwork” and after they confirmed address, the website paperwork ALL has the incorrect address!!!!

    So, as of 11 days later, I don’t have a credit from Nautilus, and the credit card company has a temporary “dispute” hold on my account until Nautilus posts the full refund.

    I’m out about $50 of my money, and probably 12 hours of phone time…to this point.

    It’s a shame that I never got to try the machine, and that in the future we will never consider buying again from Nautilus, simply becaue they didn’t ensure proper shipping requirements. The boxes only needed some wood supports and heavier ends and it would have made a lot more customers happy and Nautilus would have better product reviews and sales in the future.

    Forgot to mention – I ordered my TC5 back in October 2011…the first damaged shipment came at Thanksgiving, and the replacement came mid January.
    In all, roughly 6 months from intiial order, to when I expect credit card company reimbursement for what I’ve paid to date (probably end of February or early March).

  26. Kyle
    February 14, 2012

    Hi again Pam,

    Thank you so much for your valuable feedback, and you’re right: it is a shame that such a simple fix could have prevented all this hassle.

    I just sent an email to Bowflex asking them if they’re already fixing this, with a link to all of our discussion on this page, so hopefully they will prevent this issue on future orders.

    Update: Your feedback definitely helped. Bowflex has greatly improved their packaging, and there haven’t been any reports of this happening since, so thank you again!

    Have a great day,
    Kyle

  27. Jeremy
    February 14, 2012

    I just ordered the TC5 yesterday, so I’ll let everyone know in what condition it arrives and how well it works out. I’m a bit sad I didn’t see this thread before I ordered it, but I was wanting something for inside the house so that after I do my P90X workout in the garage I could come inside and do some additional cardio work. The lower price tag on the machine is why I went with the TC5, Bowflex has always been a superior product and done well in the past to not ship faulty equipment with their name on it…so I’ll be a bit upset with them if this is a serious issue and mine arrives damage or broken.

    I recently got their adjustable dumbbell set and it arrived without any issues or problems, so hopefully the issue is isolated or perhaps regional in nature and the damage is happening upon arrival to the local area and not happening out of transit.

  28. Kyle
    February 14, 2012

    Hi Jeremy,

    Hopefully you’re right and there are no problems with your TC5.

    I also just bought the SelectTech dumbbells with zero issues, so I’m glad to hear the shipment went well for you too.

    Please let us know how it goes when your machine arrives.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  29. Alex Rodrigues
    February 15, 2012

    Hi Kyle,

    So finally Nautilus approved the return of the damaged TC 5 that I received .

    However, they will not send me a return label that will allow FedEx to pick up the boxes at my house, as it was delivered!!

    Can you believe that? I’ll have to carry almost 200lbs to a FedEx store?

    This is so ridiculous and outrageous!
    If they delivered it to my door, why not pick it up at my door?

    How much more this would cost to Bowlflex?

    I think they do this in the hope the the customers will give up to return it, since it will cost a lot of money to make private arrangements to have this picked up and taken to a FedEx store.

    I’m totally disappointed and frustrated with my experience with Nautilus-Bowlflex.

    I’ll do all I can to publicise the horrible ways that Nautilus customers are subject to.

    Thank you for the space you provide here so customers like us can expose the horrible side of some companies.

    Alex.

  30. Kyle
    February 16, 2012

    That’s really frustrating…I wish these kinds of things never happened, but unfortunately even the best companies make these mistakes sometimes.

    I’ve spoken directly to Bowflex about these issues, and they assured me that they have corrected the problem that was causing this mess, so things should be fine from now on.

    Update: Again, for anyone reading this, these shipping issues have been resolved.

    Good luck Alex! Have a good day,
    Kyle

  31. Lisa
    February 23, 2012

    Kyle,

    I don’t know the questions to ask because I do not own one of these machines. I have two questions and on request.

    Would you purchase a treadclimber? If you did, would you consider the motorless TC5 or the other models with a motor.

    Any information you would have on the two versions would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Lisa

  32. Kyle
    February 24, 2012

    Hi Lisa,

    My personal choice is the TC10, because it’s a great balance of features and price.

    The TC5 is a solid option (now that they fixed the shipping issues) for the price, but if you’re willing to invest more in your fitness equipment, the TC10 is a better option.

    Hope that helps! Let me know if you have any other questions.

    Have a good weekend,
    Kyle

  33. Chris
    February 29, 2012

    We just purchased the TC5 and it arrived badly damaged. My wife called the return number, and called, and called again but never reached anyone. She finally called the purchasing number and got straight through very quickly, but when the operator found out we were not trying to buy a machine, my wife was on hold for quite a while. Replacement parts will be shipped out but we will not receive them until the end of March. The operator said that we could use the machine without issue until the parts arrived, so we started giving it a go. We too have a rather noisy, banging experience during workouts, but it does deliver quite a workout! Now that we have tried the TC5 out, we think we would enjoy a powered machine much more. It is quite difficult to maintian a steady pace and we find ourselves struggling to remain on the machine for more than 15 minutes at a time. This may be a good thing, to force us to work harder and get a better workout, but we feel like something just isn’t right. We have not given up on it yet, but feel a bit dissapointed in what we got, compared to our expectations.

  34. Kyle
    February 29, 2012

    Hi Chris,

    I hope they straighten things out quickly for you! I’m sure the loud noise is annoying, but I’m glad you’re at least able to use it for the time being.

    Also, if you would like the motorized TreadClimbers better, I also prefer the TC10 and TC20. They’re quite a bit more expensive, but I’ve never heard if any shipping issues, and many people prefer the motor and structure of these machines over the TC5.

    Good luck, and let us know how things turn out,
    Kyle

  35. Lisa
    February 29, 2012

    Kyle, Thank you for your earlier response. I have two more question – is the TC20 $1,100 better than the TC10 and how do these machines compare to the commercial version of a treadclimber

    Thanks,
    Lisa

  36. Kyle
    February 29, 2012

    Hi Lisa,

    No problem! Personally, with all the research I’ve done, my favorite is the TC10.

    It’s the best balance of features and price overall.

    Here’s what makes the TC20 different from the TC10:
    - Multiple User Profiles (TC10 has 1)
    - Max. speed of 4.5 mph (up from 4.0 mph)
    - 1 more function
    - Slightly bigger (some say sturdier)
    - More money ($1,100 like you mentioned)

    If you want the best available, the TC20 is right up your alley. If you’re looking to get the best bang for your buck, the TC10 gets my vote.

    Let me know if you have any other questions,
    Kyle

  37. Gloria
    March 5, 2012

    I just recently bought a TC5 Treadclimber and I haven’t used it for over a month, due to the treads bouncing when I walk on it and it makes a loud noise. Just wondering what could this be?

  38. Sue
    March 6, 2012

    Hi Kyle,

    Thanks for this great site, it’s been sooo helpful!

    I am considering the TC5, mostly becuasae the bow flex website says it is quiet. Is it? Is it quieter than the 10 or 20?

    Will it be quiet enough that in the evenings while we are watching Tv I can be using it and my husband can still here Modern Family and Raising Hope?

    Thanks,
    Keep up the great work, much appreciated!
    Sue

  39. Kyle
    March 7, 2012

    Hi Gloria,

    Some users have reported this issue, saying it was something a Nautilus tech had to fix, and others realized they could fix it themselves (if something was assembled correctly).

    Either way, I would recommend calling them to schedule an appointment since it’s still in warranty.

    Good luck, and let us know how it goes!
    Kyle

  40. Kyle
    March 7, 2012

    Thanks Sue! I appreciate the kind words, and I’m really glad to hear FitRated is helping.

    You might have to turn Modern Family up a bit, but there’s nothing wrong with that, right? :) What an awesome show…

    Anyway, it is definitely quieter than the TC10 and TC20 since there’s no motor, but it does still make noise due to the moving parts. As far as cardio equipment goes, the TC5 is going to be one of the quietest options you’ll find, along with some exercise bikes.

    Hope that helps! Let me know if you have any other questions,
    Kyle

  41. Michael S.
    March 22, 2012

    Kyle

    Thank you for the value your site offers, always great to see what others think. I have a question for you, I’m on the fence about this piece of equipment mainly due to the negative issues relating to delivery damage etc. You mentioned you talked to them recently about this and they assured you that they had taken care of it. Do you know what they did to remedy this issue? Also is your coupon code till usable and how does it work for me.

    Michael

  42. Kyle
    March 23, 2012

    Hi Michael,

    You’re quite welcome, and thanks for the comment. I appreciate it, and I’m glad FitRated is helping.

    That’s a great question…I would be feeling the same way with all the complaints that came in about damaged orders.

    When I spoke to the Bowflex rep, he told me they changed their packaging and packing materials right when they realized what was going on. Those sorts of manufacturing process changes take time, but within a few days of hearing this, all of the issues seemed to stop at once, so it looks like the problem has been taken care of.

    The coupon code still gets you a free exercise mat, but the free shipping offer is over now (page updated, thanks!).

    I hope that helps, and let me know if you have any other questions,
    Kyle

  43. Pam
    March 23, 2012

    Kyle – I hope you are right. I actually spoke to several individuals all the way back at the first part of DECEMBER and indicated there was a problem with the packing and that they would continue to have them unless they upgraded the packing substantially. I provided significant details also about the prime weaknesses. Something that size should be in a crate with wood supports.
    However, in early January, (4 weeks after we informed them they needed better packing) we got our replacement machine in January, they had NOT yet changed the packaging. It was also damaged.
    All in all, from the time we ordered until we got our refund, it took over 6 months (we ordered in October, got the first machine in late November, then a replacement in early January, then shipped the 2nd machine back immediately).
    Credit processing was a whole other issue – at first, they received the machine, but there was no credit for a couple of weeks after receipt. Apparently at the warehouse they forgot to mark it “received”. However after 3 MORE weeks, there was still no credit (over a month now). At that point I involved Credit services, and had to snail mail15 pages to them, showing it was returned and all the correspondence between us and Nautilus. They got with Nautilus and it took a couple more weeks for Nautilus to respond to them – we also filed a complaint against Nautilus as well as the Credit Card company (who gave me the WRONG dispute paperwork address – it’s wrong on their website too!) so I ended up sending it twice. They did reimburse me for the shipping fees on first since it was there error. I am convinced if I hadn’t filed complaints with the federal agencies where they have to respond in a timely manner, I’d still be waiting on a refund.
    It’s not just the merchandise packing that was poorly designed, but their credit company who offers the 18 months no interest, who also is understaffed, poorly trained, with a website that is not maintained. I was told they were in midst of changing over, so I have not verified this. We began corresponding via email and snail mail since complaints are typically handled that way. We finally got our refund check last week and I have requested that the credit account be formally closed. I do have documentation from the credit card company with regular progress and status, so that was at least something done correctly (per Federal guidelines).

  44. Kyle
    March 23, 2012

    Hi Pam,

    Thanks for the update, and I’m glad to hear you got the much-deserved refund for the shipping fees!

    I spoke with the Bowflex rep on February 17th, so I think it took them quite a while to improve their process, and in the month since I haven’t heard any of any issues with orders.

    Have a nice weekend,
    Kyle

  45. Lea
    April 25, 2012

    What are the 4 work out functions? I just bought one from a friend who didn’t like it and don’t see anything in the manual about that.

  46. Kyle
    April 26, 2012

    Hi Lea,

    Sorry for the confusion there. I just updated the wording to make it more clear:

    “4 report functions: calories, time, speed & distance”

    Enjoy your new TC5,
    Kyle

  47. Ariella
    April 27, 2012

    Hi Kyle!
    I am so glad that I found your site. I am debating between the TC5 and TC10. I used to run quite a bit but have runner’s knee and can no longer run. I am looking to loose the last of the baby weight (after three babies in the last five years) and get a good cardio workout. I am also only 5’2.

    Overall do you think the treadclimber is suited for knee problems? We would pay for the in-home installation. Do you think the TC10 or TC5 is preferable based on my height? I see the handle bars are different.

    Thank you so much!

  48. Kyle
    April 29, 2012

    Hi Ariella,

    Thanks for stopping by! I’m happy to help.

    I’m no doctor, but I can say with confidence that you’ll get a lot less joint impact on a TreadClimber than a treadmill, so it will be one of the best types of equipment for knee problems.

    As for the handlebars, you will likely have a better experience on the TC10. I’m 6′ 3″, so I’m not the best guy to ask on this one, but the handlebars are slightly angled downward, so you’ll get a better angle. That said, you probably won’t use them too often anyway, and both machines are well-designed for a wide range of user heights.

    Overall, the TC10 is a better investment if it’s in the budget.

    Have a great day,
    Kyle

  49. Scott Mansour
    May 13, 2012

    Kyle,

    We are looking to buy a tread climber and was looking at the TC5 due to the price but with the current discount the TC10 for only $800 more with the free shipping. My concern is I am 6’4 and saw one comment about the tread length being a problem for a 6’5 user. I really do not want to step up to the TC20 for the price they are looking for hard for me to justify with the 20 gyms near me that charge less than $20 a month to join. Do you have any feelings for taller users?

  50. Kyle
    May 14, 2012

    Hi Scott,

    I totally understand! I’m 6’3″, and there’s nothing worse than hitting your knee on something that wasn’t made for tall people. :)

    All the TC models are pretty similar in this way, but the only problem I could see is feeling like you have to lean down to grip the handlebars (which would require really long legs).

    Bowflex says it was built for tall folks too, though certain body types could have troubles I suppose. If you don’t feel like you need to hold onto the handlebars (strong quads, calves and back), this wouldn’t be a problem either way.

    I hope that helps. Let me know if there’s anything else I can help with,
    Kyle

  51. V Fawn Lagnefors
    May 15, 2012

    I recently bought a Bowflex TreadClimber TC5 the green one. It took me some time to decide on buying it due to the expense. I even phoned around to several gyms trying to see if there was a place I could go to try it out, but to no avail. I even called the Bowflex people several times asking them, is this OK, I have a bad knee that is arthritic, they pretty much assured me, that, it was easier to walk on the treadclimber, than walking to my mailbox! They actually said that to me.

    So, the machine arrived, no problems and the repairman came to set it up. I managed to work my way from 1.5 minutes to 5 minutes. Once I got to the five minute mark, my knee flared up something awful and I was off work for almost 2 weeks!!! I literally could not walk!! {It made me wish that I had gotten a more expensive machine w/motor instead of this “Green” one.) Having never used the motorized one, it left me to wonder if there is a difference (aside from all the bells and whistles)?!?!?

    If ever I wanted something to work this would be it! I am beyond disappointed. I actually feel a little devastated!

    My knee is now better, I may try again, I want this to work so badly, you have no idea! But, if it does not work well for me, I will definitely have to get rid of it.

    The problem now is that I am stuck with this expensive piece of equipment!! Bowflex should have some way for people to try these machines out before spending this much money on it. Had I had that opportunity, I would probably have gotten one with a motor.

    Has anyone else had a similar experience out there?

  52. Kyle
    May 15, 2012

    I’m sorry about your knee!

    They do have a 6-week money back guarantee, so if you’re still in the first 6 weeks, be sure to call them at (800) 675-9973 to get a return number.

    It’s never fun shipping something this big back, and the return is less shipping fees, but it sounds like returning it would be your best bet in this case.

    One option might be to call them and ask about “trading up” to the motorized option (I like the TC10). Maybe if you’re upgrading they could credit the shipping?

    In any case, good luck, and I hope your knee feels better!
    Kyle

  53. V Fawn Lagnefors
    May 15, 2012

    Thanks for your quick response Kyle!! I am going to maybe try the “trading up” and see how that works. My 6 week money back is over unfortunately over! But first, I have a Dr’s appt next week and I will speak with my dr about it and see what he suggests.

  54. Kyle
    May 15, 2012

    You’re welcome! That sounds great.

    Let us know how it works out,
    Kyle

  55. Lea
    May 15, 2012

    My tread climber is extremely noisy. Making a squeeky noise. How do I fix this? I live in Canada so having a service agent over is not possible.

  56. Kyle
    May 15, 2012

    Hi Lea,

    If it’s making a squeaking noise, you should be able to fix it by tightening the frame’s hydraulic bolts.

    I hope that helps!
    Kyle

  57. Jill Brindley
    May 19, 2012

    I am so unhappy with the quality of the TC5. The six weeks have passed so I cannot return it, I might try to sell it. It so so noisy and I think it is hard to use. I have almost fell several times because the threads get stuck. For $1000 I cannot believe the poor quality of this machine. My monitor has never worked either. Now I am stuck with making payments trying to pay this machine off and I will never use it. Do not buy this model!!

  58. Kyle
    May 21, 2012

    Hi Jill,

    I’m sorry to hear the TC5 didn’t work out well for you! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for the community.

    It sounds like you might have received yours during a time when they were having lots of problems, which is unfortunate.

    One option at this point would be to call a fitness equipment repair shop to see if they can fix it up for you. If that’s too expensive, you could sell it to a sports store (e.g. Play It Again Sports) to help pay it off.

    Have a good day,
    Kyle

  59. Gavin
    May 22, 2012

    I am a very obese male (6′, 375 lbs), 53 years old and obviously out of shape. Both of my knees are arthritic with very little cartilage left, especially the left one. I am likely going to have them replaced within the next 2 years, but need to lose a significant amount of weight before I have the surgery. My question is, given my size and knee issues, would the TC5 be a wise choice? Are there advantages to the motorized TC10 that would make it a better choice? I fear the experience that the above writer experienced with their knee.

    Thanks for your help.

  60. Kyle
    May 22, 2012

    Hi Gavin,

    I would recommend either the TC10 (mostly due to the quality complaints we are seeing, but also because of its motor and features).

    Another option might be to check with your doctor about the benefits of an elliptical or exercise bike.

    Depending on the type and location of the arthritis, it might be best to pick a machine that uses a different motion and amount of impact on the joints for best results.

    Hope that helps! Let me know if there’s anything else I can help with.
    Kyle

  61. Tricia
    May 22, 2012

    I purchased the TC5 a couple months ago and I feel like I completely wasted my money. We can’t use it one issue without a motor it is hard to get the momentum going it just feels strange. The big issue I can’t get past is it knocks its annoying and after 5 mins I am so annoyed I stop working out I would rather jog on a $60 trampoline. The display has never worked I push start and it has power but just never comes on. For the price I paid it is junk I would estimate the true value at 100 but not even that since it is not usable. Extremely disappointed. With the financing I have made a few payments but the balance hasn’t gone down so don’t plan on paying it off in any reasonable time. I thought the interest was low but apparently not!

  62. Kyle
    May 22, 2012

    Hi Tricia,

    Thank you so much for your helpful feedback.

    This is another comment that reinforces my vote for the TC10 or the TC20.

    Again, I would recommend calling a fitness equipment repair shop to see if they can fix it up. If not, try selling it to a sports store to help pay it off.

    Thanks again for taking the time to help us all out,
    Kyle

  63. Tim
    May 24, 2012

    Kyle, I am debating geting tc10 or tc20.. I am 6’5 almost 6’6 , I am looking ath the tc20 because it says it has longer treads. Is this what i will need for a tall guy like myself. I notice on my tread mill that the treads are long enough to run or walk on. but they hand bars are slightly to low for good confort if i need them.. will that problem presist on the treadclimbers too.. are the handballs adjustable :)

  64. Kyle
    May 24, 2012

    Hi Tim,

    Great question! I am 6′ 3″, so I totally understand where you’re coming from.

    Here’s the breakdown…
    TC5: 52.8″ tall
    TC10: 52.3″ tall
    TC20: 55.25″ tall

    The TC20 is the tallest overall, and has the longest handlebars.

    It gives about 3.5 feet from the treadles to the handlebars, and many people are more comfortable holding the front handlebars than the sides, which are a bit higher.

    In this case, I would recommend the TC20 for the most comfort and power.

    Let me know if you have any other questions,
    Kyle

  65. Tim
    May 24, 2012

    Dang thought you would say that.. Thats a big diffenrece in from from tc10 or tc20… wow i gotta really consider it… lots more money for only a inch or two. :(

  66. Kyle
    May 24, 2012

    Good point. I was only focusing on the height, ignoring price altogether.

    All things considered, you’re totally right: that extra little bit of height is probably not worth the added investment (though there’s more to it than the dimensions).

    Overall, considering price as well, my vote is for the TC10.

    Keep in mind too that you can try it out for 6 weeks, and return it or upgrade if you want.

    Hope that helps with the decision!

    Have a great night,
    Kyle

  67. Tricia
    May 24, 2012

    Thanks for the response Kyle I agree upgraded models are probably the way to ago. I can’t advise anyone to purchase the TC5. I did call them and they are sending me a new display and they told me some things to check for and adjust for the knocking. Hopefully it works and I can begin to use and try to get my moneys worth out of it.

  68. Kyle
    May 24, 2012

    That’s great! I hope it’s quick and the improvements make it work well for you.

    If you think of it, come back and let us know how it goes. Thanks!

  69. Diana
    June 7, 2012

    Just finished assembling… tried it out and almost fell off it. How do I increase the resistance of the treads?

  70. Kyle
    June 7, 2012

    Hi Diana,

    The TC5 is manually controlled, so it might take some getting used to if you’re familiar with treadmills and/or ellipticals.

    Many people say they like to start out as slowly as possible, then gradually build up to their preferred speed (up to 4.5 mph).

    After you use it a few times and get used to the unique motion, it will get a lot easier.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  71. Carolyn
    June 27, 2012

    My question is about maintenance. I have an older model of a treadclimber, and when I needed maintenance it took me months to get the machine fixed. If I buy this I, want to keep it up so that I don’t have that problem. What can you tell me about self maintenance and what I can do to keep the machine working and in good shape.

  72. Kyle
    June 27, 2012

    Great question Carolyn!

    The most important thing to consider is the machine itself. In this case, I would recommend looking at the TC10 because of the many complaints we’ve seen in the FitRated community.

    That said, here are some tips for self-maintenance of TreadClimbers from the owner’s manual:
    - Look for incorrect, worn, or loose components and then correct, replace, or tighten prior to use.
    - Replace any inoperable components before using the machine (inspect once per month to order new parts early).
    - Do not stand on the Plastic Frame or Drive Covers but always step directly onto the Side Foot Support Platforms.
    - Never step onto the treadles at a high belt speed. Start your workout slowly and gradually increase to your desired workout speed.
    - Do not attempt to run on the TreadClimber® machine, but keep your highest speed at a brisk walk.
    - Never use your TreadClimber® machine with the Plastic Drive or Frame Covers removed.
    - Keep the surface of the TreadClimber® machine dry and free from dust or moisture.
    - Always connect the power cord to a circuit capable of handling 10 amperes with no other loads.

    I went through and picked out the safety points Bowflex mentioned in the owner’s manual that affected the machine’s maintenance as well as the user’s safety.

    Hopefully that helps!
    Kyle

  73. Assembly Tech
    July 27, 2012

    Kyle, Mary Jane
    In response to your Jan 25/26 post. I’m a tech that assembles these machines. I don’t mind sharing that I get paid $46 to assemble these. I do however also get paid mileage if I have to travel more than 100 miles round trip from my home to do an assemble.

    As for tipping, I’m every so greatful anytime I get receive a tip from a customer on any home delivery and or assembly that I do for them. However I’ve found several other customers to have the same thoughts as y’all do about tipping. However when you look at the bigger picture that most assembly techs are contractors and have to pay there own taxes and expenses out of there payout amount. I personally am greatful to have the work to do and as always look for God to provide for me as to if I receive a tip or how much a job payout is. I know that I contract my services out to the bigger companies that contract directly with Bowflex and other manufactures, therefore I can’t look for the bigger piece of the pie. I have been able to sometimes share with customers that if they plan to make any other purchases or have friends that might need my services that I can save them money and do the work directly for them. I do this type of work for several different companies and always looking for to expand my business. I also do work for Sam’s, Wal Mart, Lowe’s, Dick Sporting Goods and other manufactures through the bigger companies.

    Hopefully this help you both with your post and reply. I’m in the Tn area, but close to Va and NC area and as always looking for more work to grow my business.

    Have a blessed day,
    Assembly Tech

    Here’s my personal email address if someone wants to contact me directly. peet.repeet@yahoo.com

  74. Kyle
    July 27, 2012

    Thanks for the feedback!

    Now that I know more about how things work from the assembly tech’s perspective, I will be sure to tip when I buy my next piece of equipment.

    Good luck with your business, and please feel free to come back and share your knowledge and experience with the FitRated community.

    Have a good weekend,
    Kyle

  75. Tiffany
    August 4, 2012

    Just got my TC5 last week. I used your coupon code for the free mat – so thank you!
    No need to pay for pros to put it together for you. I’m a 35 year old woman and had no trouble doing it myself.
    It’s not the smoothest machine but it’s incredibly sturdy and fairly quiet.

  76. Kyle
    August 5, 2012

    Hi Tiffany,

    No problem! It’s always nice to get a little free bonus, huh? :)

    Glad you like the TC5.

    Have a great day,
    Kyle

  77. Robb
    September 8, 2012

    Kyle,

    Thanks for all this info. Can you tell me if the TC5 and its shipping issues have been resolved? I am debating but all those issues clearly have turned me off. I don’t have the patience to deal with lousy service, poor quality….any current complaints? Thanks…

  78. Kyle
    September 10, 2012

    Hi Robb,

    Totally understandable. I would be skeptical about this too.

    Yes, the shipping quality issues have been resolved.

    While talking to Bowflex increased my confidence in the TC5 arriving safely in good condition, what really proves it to me is the fact that no one has complained about their TC5 in months.

    When that was going on, I heard from dozens of people here on FitRated, but those comments virtually disappeared after Bowflex adjusted their shipping/packaging process, so it seems to have improved things dramatically.

    Hope that helps!

    Have a good day Robb,
    Kyle

  79. Donna A. Creed
    October 15, 2012

    Kyle, I’m considering the TC10; however, I was wondering if there are any “codes” currently available for discounts or “free” mat ?? With in home set up I’m looking at $2,500+ & could use a break, if one is available. Thanks for your time.

  80. Kyle
    October 15, 2012

    Hi Donna,

    I totally understand! Here’s the best deal right now on the TC10.

    The coupon code at the top of that page will save you over $200.

    Have a great day,
    Kyle

  81. Brenda
    October 18, 2012

    Hello Kyle,
    My husband and I are looking into getting a tread climber and he is wondering if there is room to place his laptop computer or an attachment for his computer so he can work while exercising?
    Thank-you,
    Brenda

  82. Kyle
    October 18, 2012

    Hi Brenda,

    The SurfShelf might be just what he’s hoping for.

    I’ve heard great things about it from users for treadmills, so I would think it would work with the TreadClimber.

    That said, the TC5′s handle design might not work as well with it as the TC10 (since the TC10′s top is built more like a treadmill).

    Hope that helps!
    Kyle

  83. Michelle
    October 24, 2012

    I received my TreadClimber TC5 today, put it together myself with some assistance, but for the life of me i could not get the side panels lined up and put on!! It’s driving me crazy! I’ve tried several different ways, asked others to make sure i was attempting this the right way, and even watched assembly videos on Youtube. Even after all of this, it just seems like its ending up an epic fail! From what i can tell, its just cosmetic, so im thinking about using it without these panels on. I think its ridiculous to pay someone to come and assemble it when ive done all of the work except the last two steps! Also i am wondering if its normal for it to make the “scratchy noise” sound when you do the TreadClimber motion since its not motorized. Its a little bothersome, but nothing i cant handle, if its normal!

  84. Kyle
    October 25, 2012

    Hi Michelle,

    I haven’t heard of that yet, but it sounds like you’ve done everything right, so I’m guessing the panels have small manufacturing issues.

    You’re right: they’re just cosmetic, so if you’re not worried about it, no big deal. That said, feel free to take a quick picture and email it to Bowflex support to have them send out a tech with new ones. They should be able to do that for free since you’re still in warranty.

    This would be a good idea anyway, because while they’re out you can have them fix the scratchy noise.

    There have been a few people mention that after self-assembly, and the only thing that I know of that causes it is tightening things differently on each side.

    Let us know how it all goes, and enjoy your TC5!
    Kyle

  85. David Hughes
    November 9, 2012

    Hi Kyle. Thank you so much for what you do. I read that the weight limit for the TC5 is 300 pounds. What is the weight limit of the motorized TC10? Is it also 300 pounds? I weigh right at 300 pounds. Which is slightly above the weight rating(275 pounds) of my current treadmill. This causes it to be “jerky”. It has become so annoying, and also painful(the jerky stop/start has caused falling), that i have resorted back to walking outside. And this isnt always the best option. If i invest in the TC10, i don’t want to have this problem. Your input will be much appreciated. Thanks!

  86. Kyle
    November 11, 2012

    Hi David,

    You’re welcome!

    The TC10 does have a 300 pound max weight. I’m sure they allow for a bit of breathing room with these figures (i.e. they wouldn’t round up making it unsafe, but if their tests conclude 307 lbs for instance, they would likely round down to an even 300).

    The machine is also built very differently from a treadmill, with a much smoother motion, so overall I’m guessing you would be much better off with a TC10 than with the treadmill.

    Hope that helps! Take care,
    Kyle

  87. Mike B.
    November 17, 2012

    The previous BowFlex Treadclimbers required you to manually adjust the tension by setting it via the pistons. So, if you wanted greater resistance on the incline part you had to get off to adjust it.

    Does this one require the same? What about the TC10 or higher?

    I have a very old BowFlex, purchased in the 1990s, and it still works today. But, getting older, I need more cardio so while I have a treadmill now which does incline, my problem is due to a military injury with one of my feet, I have to do low impact exercises. Like, I can’t run but I can ride a bike. Even standing for a long time hurts my foot.

    Mike

  88. Kyle
    November 18, 2012

    Hi Mike,

    That’s cool the one from the 90′s still works!

    The new TC5 doesn’t have hydraulic cylinders, so the resistance is automatically determined by the user’s weight and stride.

    The TC10 does have hydraulics with 12 levels of resistance, which can be changed manually. The goal here isn’t to adjust it all the time like with some machines, but rather to find a comfortable level so the treadles move up and down about 3 inches to cushion your steps.

    Let me know if you have any other questions.

    Have a good day Mike,
    Kyle

  89. Christine
    November 21, 2012

    Kyle,
    Thank you for providing this valuable service!
    I have two interrelated questions. Due to cost, I am weighing my options between a new TC5 and a used model such as a TC3000 or TC5000. Since the model naming system seems to have changed, I can’t tell what these used versions might currently compare to in terms of TC 5, 10, or 20. Can you provide some insight?
    Having said that, would you recommend a used TC3000 or TC5000 for around or slightly under $1000 or a new TC5 for basically the same price?
    I appreciate any insight you can provide.
    Thank you,
    Christine

  90. Kyle
    November 21, 2012

    Hi Christine,

    You’re so welcome, thanks for the comment!

    The TC3000 was the base model before the new style launched.

    It’s a tough call, honestly. The best prices I’ve seen for a used TC5000 is around $1,500 or so (an extra $500 – $1,000 above the TC5).

    If you can find it for around $1,000 that’s a much better deal, but it’s still kind of like buying an old used car; you can still get some miles out of it, but it’s all about balancing the features and durability with the cost.

    In this case, in my opinion, since it’s as much or more money for the old models, you’ll likely be better off with the brand new model.

    That said, it’s also important to note that the TC5 does not have a motor, so it’s a different style than the other models.

    My personal favorite balance of cost and features is the TC10, but in the $1,000 price range I would recommend a TC5, unless you can find a TC5000 in good condition.

    Sorry for the random thoughts, just wanted to cover all the angles for you. :)

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  91. Pete
    November 21, 2012

    Christine,
    Keep in mind that the TC5 model is non motorized. I refer to it as the flint stone model. You have to physically move the walking treads rather than walking in a pace with the machine.

    Good luck
    Pete

  92. Kyle
    November 21, 2012

    Haha, Flintstone model…I like that! :)

  93. Christine Rine
    November 22, 2012

    Kyle,
    Thank you for your help. I have located a TC5000 for $900 that appears to be in great shape from the pictures- if this holds true in person, I will likely go for that option. If it is not in good shape, the TC5 is really my only other option due to price. Since I have always been a fan of old used cars (much to my husband’s dismay) I am willing to roll the dice. And buying used is more ‘green’ than buying a new ‘green’ item. :)
    Thanks again and Happy Thanksgiving,
    Christine

  94. Kyle
    November 23, 2012

    Hi Christine,

    That’s awesome! Very good points, and that’s a deal that’s hard to pass up.

    Let us know how you like it.

    Have a good Thanksgiving weekend!
    Kyle

  95. Christine Rine
    November 28, 2012

    Kyle,

    Thanks again for your input, I feel that it helped me make a decision that I am very happy with. I did purchase the used TC5000 I told you about for the low low price of $850! It is in excellent condition- you would think it is brand new by looking at it; the previous owner had to stop using it shortly after purchase due to knee surgery. I was able to find the Users Manual for free online that includes an exercise plan and am loving it so far!

    Unlike my problem with elliptical machines, I have no trouble with my foot going numb and my hips don’t hurt like on a treadmill. I feel that it is giving me the cardio and toning that I was looking for. I am not sure how this works but- it seems like I am feeling this workout in my abs as well.

    Lastly, in terms of comparing buying used to a car, it appears to be made very well which reduces my concerns in that area (and we brought it home on the top of a 1989 Lincoln Mark VIII). :)

    I highly recommend a Treadclimber!
    Christine

  96. Kyle
    November 28, 2012

    Haha, that’s awesome!!! :)

    I’m really glad to hear you like your TreadClimber.

    It’s crazy that the 3-in-1 motion works the abs too, huh?

    Thanks so much for coming back to share your experience with the FitRated community. We all appreciate your feedback.

    Have a great week Christine,
    Kyle

  97. margo
    December 8, 2012

    I just bought a “nearly new” tread climber TC5 for a great price. They had already taken off the upright part so I could get it in my car. I accepted it on trust as it looked in great shape. Got it home and put back together without much trouble. I like it and it will definitely give a workout. I’ll need to use it more to figure out if the noises are normal or need adjustment.

    But here’s my question. How does the console really work? I get that it comes to life when you start moving, but all I ever get after that is the idle mode dashes and a frequent beep with a blinking function button. But no numbers for speed, time, etc appear. And nothing happens when I push start/stop or scan. I have to admit that I haven’t been on it more than 5 minutes.

    Please enlighten me.
    Thanks,

  98. Kyle
    December 9, 2012

    Hi Margo,

    Congrats on getting it at a great price!

    It sounds like the electronics might have been malfunctioning, which might have been why they sold it.

    That said, you should be able to invest a bit of the money you saved to fix the problem with a local fitness equipment repair company.

    This could be a very simple problem they just didn’t know how to fix, and if so you’ll still have an awesome deal.

    Either way, I would call Bowflex to ask them about it in case there’s anything you can do over the phone. Either way, they should be able to help you get it fixed.

    Have a great day Margo!
    Kyle

  99. Tiffa
    December 26, 2012

    I just would like to know how fast it will be shipped.

  100. Kyle
    December 27, 2012

    Hi Tiffa,

    It will leave the warehouse within 2-10 business days of placing your order, and depending on where you live, it can take anywhere from 3-10 days to ship.

    From what we’ve heard, it’s good plan on about 2 weeks from the order date.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  101. Marie
    January 3, 2013

    I ordered the TC5, it is suppose to arrive tomorrow, I am wanting to know how much space I need for it. I am limited on space.

  102. Kyle
    January 3, 2013

    Hi Marie,

    It is 43″ long x 27″ wide.

    Height-wise, add about 19″ to your height for ceiling clearance.

    Have a good day,
    Kyle

  103. Randy
    January 4, 2013

    I’ve followed your reviews from the beginning and at first thought the TC5 was the choice, then, after the horror stories, I thought the TC10. Now, I’m not sure, they’re not cheap. How does an ellypitical compare as far as burning calories and benefits. It’s a lot cheaper.

  104. Kyle
    January 4, 2013

    Hi Randy,

    That’s a great question, and thanks for following!

    Here’s my personal opinion on it:
    - TreadClimbers provide a better workout overall (3-in-1 motion)
    - The TC5′s shipping problems have been fixed (no complaints in months)
    - The TC10 is worth the extra cost, compared to the TC5
    - If you want something good that’s in between the two price-wise, check out the Sole E95

    In general, I would recommend the TC10. Some people prefer to take advantage of Bowflex’s financing option, so that’s worth looking into to pay it off over time (with nothing paid upfront).

    I hope that helps! Have a good one Randy,
    Kyle

  105. Pat
    January 5, 2013

    Hi:
    We received our TC5 yesterday, and my husband assembled it. Today I tried it for the first time. The treads move easily. It is not nearly as noisy as some reviewers claimed. I’m so out of shape I was only able to walk 3 minutes, but I probably was walking too fast. (I suspected my exercise bike wasn’t doing much!)
    I’m still not sure how to get the monitor to work. I did what the instruction manual said, monitor was stubborn until I walked for about 30 seconds, then it began to show speed, calories, etc. Is that normal? The batteries are brand new; nothing showed on the monitor to indicate anything we tried was working.
    Otherwise, I am thrilled with this TC5. Bells and whistles aren’t important to me, and the size is perfect. I intend to get back in shape and build up my endurance. Thanks for a great product.

  106. Kyle
    January 5, 2013

    Hi Pat,

    Glad you’re liking your TC5! Thanks so much for coming back to give your feedback.

    Since it’s not plugged into an outlet, it just needs a little boost to power up.

    Thanks again Pat! Have a good day,
    Kyle

  107. Heather
    January 13, 2013

    I received my TC5 last week. Once we got it assembled, the console wouldn’t work so after taking it all back apart trying to ‘troubleshoot’ the problem, I ended up having to call customer service. They are sending me a new speed sensor and wire that goes to the console but the wait time to talk to someone was pretty long.
    Now my issue is the sound my tread climber makes. It has a lot of resistence which I understand being self propelled, but it is getting louder every time I use it. It started with just a minor scratching sound and now it squeeks horribly. Is there something I can adjust to make resolve this issue. I already have it on a mat.
    Thanks!

  108. Kyle
    January 14, 2013

    Hi Heather,

    Sorry the console gave you trouble! Glad to hear they’re taking care of it for you.

    As for the noise, most customers have been able to remedy this problem by tightening the frame’s hydraulic bolts and making sure everything is aligned and balanced properly.

    Since they are already sending someone out for the console, I would have them take a look at it for you while they’re there. In the meantime, feel free to call (800) 647-3405 to have them walk you through it.

    Have a good day Heather,
    Kyle

  109. Kayla
    January 23, 2013

    Hi I have just got my TC 5 and agree that it gives you a great workout but unfortunately I also have to agree on the horrible squeeking sounds–should I call and try to fix it or will this be an ongoing problem??? can’t stand lots of noise!!!! thanks for you help!!!!

  110. Kyle
    January 24, 2013

    Hi Kayla,

    Tightening the frame’s hydraulic bolts seems to be the best way to fix the squeaky noise.

    If you need help with this, give Bowflex support a call at (800) 647-3405.

    Have a good day Kayla!
    Kyle

  111. Elizabeth
    January 26, 2013

    Hi, Kyle. I love my new Bowflex Treadclimber, but the covering over the treads (sorry, don’t know what that would be called) on my machine are starting to shred! A piece of the covering starts to tear away, and soon it is wrapped around the gears, making the machine whine. I assume this is a product flaw? And I did pay the fee for in-home assembly, so it should be put together properly, I hope. What is causing this? Any help would be great.

  112. Kyle
    January 28, 2013

    Hi Elizabeth,

    If it was professionally-assembled, you’re right: it’s probably a flaw in the part.

    I would call Bowflex support at (800) 647-3405 to have them send someone out to replace them for you.

    This will be free of charge since it’s still in warranty, and hopefully they’ll be out quickly.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  113. Kyle
    February 6, 2013

    I’m really really interested in purchasing the TC5, especially with the current deal they’re having!

    Lot’s of complaints vs praise for this product on this thread, but I’m just curious of your opinion about that. Do you hear from other venues people enjoying this product? It seams like people that have a bad experience will always have the loudest voice.

    Also, I see that there are a few wheels on the unit, is it somewhat easy to maneuver? The room I want to put it in, I may have to move it against the wall when I’m done using it. Do you see that being an issue?

    Thanks!

  114. Kyle
    February 6, 2013

    Excellent question. It’s an awesome deal going for sure. Definitely the biggest sale they’ve ever had, which might make the TC5 a tough call.

    My personal opinion is that the TC10 is worth the added investment.

    That said, they appear to have fixed the shipping issues people were upset about last year, so that takes a big portion of its complaints out of the equation. And you’re right: With reviews, for every issue one customer has, there are a bunch of others that have zero complaints.

    Side note: This is exactly why we took the time to create a rating algorithm that considers everything, rather than just giving our own personal opinions.

    At this point, the TC5 can still get you a great workout, so if the TC10 is above what you want to spend ($1,899), the TC5 is a good choice for this price range.

    As for portability, the wheels do make it easy to transport, so you should be fine moving it after your workout.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  115. Dave M
    March 17, 2013

    Just got our TC5 treadclimber. The belt has lines on it, almost like a rectangular bruise on both sides. The monitor does not work. If I want to return it because of these reasons, and because I did not like the feel of it, how long do I have to wait to call. Also, because there is slight damage, and the monitor, do I need to mention this to them right away. It’s not enough to prevent it being used, but man for 1000 bucks, oh well. Thanks

    Dave

  116. Kyle
    March 18, 2013

    Hi Dave,

    You can call at any point. In this case, I would call (800) 647-3405 today so they can either take care of it for free or send you an RMA number.

    Have a good day!
    Kyle

  117. Stuart
    March 23, 2013

    I just got my TC-5 a couple of days ago. I am so excited! I am 47 and sadly out of shape. Taking an office job a little over a year ago has done nothing for that.

    After months of internal deliberation over spending over $1000 on a machine I may or may not use, I took the plunge. First, assembly: I did not opt for the assembly service. My wife and I moved the base fairly easy to the assembly point. It wasn’t too far away and on the same floor. I took over then. I do recommend that you read all the directions first and gather the extra tools that are not provided. There are only a few (13mm wrench, philips head screwdriver and 6mm allen wrench). A second person is recommended but not necessary. Trust me, recruit someone. It will make it much easier. Before you place the rear panel on, I suggest you do a quick test of the display panel. My unit was not working and I feared that i crimped the cable even though I checked and double checked. When I removed the rear panel to insure everything was in place the panel beeped to life just playing with the cables. I do argue that the instructions could be a bit more detailed. Although, I was able to put everything together with the provided guidance.

    Now the machine itself. Although I didn’t opt for the mat, I think that most people will need it. Use is easy but the controls need to be more responsive. Trying to make them do what you want while bobbing up and down can get frustrating. I am here for a workout, not a light show. So, it isn’t that big of a deal. The first time on I lasted all of 3 minutes. I blame that on 20+ years of smoking and sitting on my rear for 8-10 hours a day over the past year.

    I gave myself a day off as is suggested in most workouts and climbed on again today. I lasted 7 minutes and only got off as to not push too hard after being a sloth for too long. I want to build up and do more good than harm.

    I average about 1.8 mph for now and my heart raced like a scared chihuahua when I climbed down. I don’t get sore from the workouts, but I sure know I have been doing so. That is a huge plus to keep me from getting discouraged and keeping me off the machine.

    My goal is to build up stamina and drop the extra 15 pounds (plus a few more that were already there) that office work has rewarded me with. I am determined to meet my goal and feel this machine will definitely help me get there. I guess if you have the money to spare, the upgraded machines would be nice. I am happy with what I chose. Bells and whistles won’t take the weight off or make me use the machine. I recommend these machines, but when it comes to getting in shape and losing weight, it must be your commitment. If you choose to commit, I am with you in spirit. Here’s to our success.

  118. Kyle
    March 25, 2013

    Awesome feedback, and excellent points, thanks for taking the time to write a review Stuart!

  119. Christy
    April 30, 2013

    How is the TC5 compared with other models for step lengths? I am tall and have had trouble in the past with treadmills that were not long enough for me. I would like to be able to take normal sized steps if possible. Thanks!

  120. Kyle
    April 30, 2013

    Hi Christy,

    I totally understand! I’m tall too, and it’s definitely not good for the workout to constantly feel like you’re going to slip off the back. :)

    That said, this is a much different exercise than a treadmill, so they’re designed to be shorter, more controlled strides. The max speed of around 4 mph means you’ll always be walking, so you’ll never be at full stride, and the upward stair-climbing motion keeps the movement more compact length-wise as well.

    For comparison, the TC5′s treadles are 38.5″ long, the TC10′s are about the same at around 38″ long, and the TC20 was just upgraded with longer treadles at 42″ long.

    Hope that helps! Have a great day,
    Kyle

  121. Mary
    September 19, 2013

    Hi all
    I recently received my TC5 and the boxes too was greatly damaged! Thankfully, I haven’t noticed any damage to the treadclimber! I however was very frustrated with the assembly! When ordering, it sad some assembly required, should have said great deal of assembly required! I contacted customer service about my issue with the oneway bearing not going back in proper position, and although she was a pleasant girl, never helped me at all, cause everything she suggested to do, I had already done, but did it again for her!
    I did get the bearing situated thanks to my next door neighbour! I don’t think assembly should included fixing or adjusting bearings! I’m pretty handy, but I’m not a mechanic and in total took over 4 hrs to assemble! By the time it was assembled I had no interest in trying it out!
    I did get on the treadclimber today, and I found it difficult to keep it at a steady pace! I know it’s the green model, but really don’t think it needs to be as difficult to keep a steady pace!
    I’m determined to give it a honest go, but disappointed! For the price think it could have been more assembly friendly and user friendly..

  122. Kyle
    September 21, 2013

    Thanks for the feedback Mary!

    I’m with you for sure. I’m handy up to a certain point, but when I get a good enough workout assembling something that I don’t feel like working out on it when it’s done, that tells me paying for assembly with delivery would have been worth it.

    It’s not always the best economical decision, but there’s definitely something to be said for avoiding those stressful situations, knowing the person setting it up has done it before.

    Anyway, I’m sorry it was tough to set up, but I’m glad to hear you’re giving it an honest go now that it’s ready!

    Enjoy your workouts, and have a great weekend!
    Kyle

  123. Mary
    September 21, 2013

    Thanks Kyle
    I am pleased to say that I have started my workouts and due to recovering from a knee surgery, I am starting with 15 minute workouts every other day!

    I do believe it will take time to get to a constant steady speed on my TC5. I think it is a great piece of exercise equipment, but if I could have spent the extra I would definitely went with a motorized version. I just didn’t have the extra funds right now!

    But I would definitely advise people who can’t afford the motorized treadclimber to purchase the TC5, cause it is a workout out for sure, but if they can spend the extra I think a motorized treadclimber would be the best option as you would have that constant speed!!

    Wishing everyone a great weekend as well…

  124. daniel
    September 25, 2013

    i got approved to get the TC5 financed for 18 months as is advertised. i want so badly to buy one. there were 489 reviews on the bowflex website and i read all of them. after reading all the reviews i’m still on the fence. the main issues i saw had to do with the treads not staying on and constantly having to re-adjust them. i dont want something that i have to constantly stop and fiddle with. also, alot of people have complained about the screen and its functionality, as in, it doesnt work all the time. some have complained about the treadles being too small and that the mats on the treadles start to fray and tear up. these are all concerns of mine as i would like to avoid buying something that will tear up easily.
    my main concern is this. i understand that the resistance is determined by the weight of the user. the video shows burning calories on a 12 resistance level. how can i determine if the resistance level is at 12 or not? if i lose weight is the resistance level correspondingly going to decrease? i’m 5’9″ , 245lbs. is that enough to make the resistance level a 12 ? alot of people complained about noise and how hard the work out is. those things dont bother me. i tried to look at all the male reviews i could find. seems most of the women love the machine. i’m 28 and played football and baseball in high school so the intensity of the workout i dont expect to be an issue. i’d just really like to know what the guys think. nothing against those who are 50+, but if there are any guys near my age that used to play sports and have one of these, i’d really appreciate the input.
    If anyone has a tc5 and lives in georgia i would be glad to drive where ever you are and try it out.

  125. Terri
    November 4, 2013

    This site is so very helpful and reading all the comments is a big help in pushing me towards making a purchase. I’m closer, but still a little unsure if it will be worth a $1000 + since I will need to purchase the assembly assistance.

    I do have a question on the return policy. If I do decide to return, how do you get it back? I cannot imagine how hard it would be to take apart and then place back in the box for shipment. Is this something that would be covered with the assembly assistance where they would come back and help?

    Also, I will be placing the machine on new carpet, do you recommend that I purchase the pad to help preserve my carpet?

  126. Kyle
    November 5, 2013

    Hi Terri,

    Glad to hear it’s helping!

    All of the fitness equipment manufacturers offer return policies, and all that I can think of require returning the product in “suitable packaging, preferably the original boxes”, and they do not include return shipping in their return policy.

    The odds are pretty low that you would even need to return it, but I won’t sugar coat it…it’s not the easiest thing to ship it back. However, a lot of people think they need to put it in their car and take it to their local UPS or Fedex store. You can actually call and have the driver in your neighborhood pick it up at your door, which makes things a lot easier.

    All that said, if something goes wrong, they will walk you step-by-step through anything you need over the phone (their support team is very knowledgeable).

    To protect your carpet, the machine mat is a good choice.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  127. Tim
    December 2, 2013

    Hi Kyle,
    First, let me echo everyone else here and say that your website and reviews are a great deal of help.

    I am a 59 year old male and am looking to loose some significant weight. I too have seen the commercials and was intrigued. But my concerns are the reviews I’ve read on Amazon.com that are all negative. They talk about the quality of the materials used are substandard and not very sturdy.

    What do you think of the quality of the materials used on the TC 5 and the TC 10?

    Thanks for all your help.

    Tim

  128. Kyle
    December 3, 2013

    Hi Tim,

    Thanks! I’m really glad to hear it’s helping.

    This is a great point you’re bringing up, and something I’ve been meaning to talk about. There are a few important things to note:

    1. Our rating algorithm gave the TC5 a score 16.1% lower than the TC10, so it is not the model I recommend in most cases.

    2. It’s true that in order to get under $1,000 they had to cut some corners. That said, most of the reviews on Amazon are from 2012, when there were lots of issues on arrival, most of which they have fixed in the time since.

    3. Amazon reviews are great. I look at them all the time before making purchases. The problem with them in the fitness equipment space is that the old saying “the squeaky wheel gets the oil” really applies here. I’ve noticed a trend that when a couple people mention something going wrong and new customers see that, it creates a wave of negative reviews. This is true for everything, even books, but it’s worst with big pieces of complex equipment. This isn’t a problem by itself, but rather because it’s common on Amazon for people that get the “please review your purchase” email to totally ignore it…unless something went wrong, so we’re not seeing the whole picture.

    4. They also sell WAY less units on Amazon, so anyone who’s taken a statistics class will tell you that the smaller sample size is not good. :) There are 18 reviews on Amazon, and 490 reviews on the official site. For the TC10, it’s only 9 on Amazon compared to 1,610 on the site.

    5. Speaking of the website, they use an unbiased review platform called PowerReviews, which verifies buyers and lets the customer rate different aspects of the product. Here’s the raw data from verified buyers:

    TC5: 265 customers said it operates smoothly (54%), and 351 said it has a sturdy base (72%). 38 said it wobbles under use (7.7%).

    TC10: 1,341 customers said it operates smoothly (83%), and 1,295 said it has a sturdy base (80%). 45 said it wobbles under use (2.8%).

    To me, that’s the best way to measure the quality of the parts. Comparing the proportion of people that said it operates smoothly to those that said it wobbles, the TC10 has the higher quality by far.

    Note: This is all part of the rating algorithm!

    Hope that helps. Have a great day,
    Kyle

  129. Tim
    December 3, 2013

    Thanks Kyle. I noticed the same thing in the reviews on Amazon. I decided to take your advice and purchase the TC10. Just put the order in last night. I learned a long time ago it’s not only about the money, it’s also about the quality/value of your purchase. And after reading your posts, we decided the TC10 was the way to go.

    Thanks for your reply and the great job you do here. I would not have felt as good about my purchase otherwise. And I want to point out that I don’t know you from Adam, but you come across as a genuine person and only have our best interest at heart.

    I’ll keep you updated on my weight loss/fitness progress as I use the machine. By the way, we did sign up for the in-home setup. And we got a great deal on the unit. They paid shipping and gave me a discount off the price. And in-home setup was only $249.00.

    Thanks again and the best of luck to you.
    Tim

  130. Kyle
    December 3, 2013

    Thanks Tim!! You just made my day man. :)

    Have a good week and enjoy your TC10,
    Kyle

  131. Laura
    January 1, 2014

    Hi
    Let me start out by saying I hate to exercise. :) I am trying to decide between the TC5 and TC10. I like the price of the TC5 much better but I want to make sure I’ll use it. I am 52 and had neck surgery about 7 yrs ago and am so out of shape. I have gained about 30 lbs and want it gone. I use to be able to lift a lot of weight and do a lot physically but not any more, After surgery I was told to not lift more than 30 lbs and to still be careful when I exercise. I really do not need the extras but am not sure if I should opt for the motorized model. I have an excersise bike that I have used in the past but it didn’t seem to do much good. Would this be better?

  132. Kyle
    January 2, 2014

    Hi Laura,

    I totally understand! Thanks for the comment.

    I’ll tackle your second question first: Yes, I believe a TC will be significantly better than the exercise bike you tried before. Recumbent bikes can be great, especially for warmups or longer cardio sessions while watching a show or movie, but they can’t burn nearly as many calories.

    As for which model to invest in, the TC10 has a much better rating and higher customer satisfaction, with less issues. The TC5 is more difficult to operate since it’s all self-powered, so some people don’t like that it’s not a “smooth ride”.

    I hope that helps. Happy New Year!
    Kyle

  133. Laura
    January 2, 2014

    Kyle,
    Thanks for taking time to respond to my message. I have just ordered the TC10. I am hoping that this will help me improve my fitness level better than the bike I was using. Happy new year.
    Thanks again

  134. Tim C
    January 2, 2014

    Hey Kyle & Laura,

    About a month ago Kyle recommended the TC10 and I took that advice. We had the in-house setup and it went great. It was well worth it. Anyway, they set up the TC10 on New Years Eve. I started using it on New Years Day. What a butt kicker. I was only able to do 2-3 minutes at a time. Today I upped it to 6 minutes per session and did 2 session so far.

    I wanted to thank you again for your advice. The TC10 is everything we had hoped for and then some. There is no doubt in my mind that this machine will take off the weight and get me back in shape.

    Laura, I’m 59, about 90 lbs over weight, and I have one bad knee. I also have an artificial heart valve. I’m also restricted on how much weight I can lift. I can’t lift more than 20 lbs. And the only exercise I’m allowed to do is walk. But when I get on the Treadclimber, my knee feels fine. No pain at all. I break a sweat quickly, which is hard for me despite my weight. So, anyone who is on the fence about this machine, get off the fence and take the plunge.

    Kyle is spot on in regards to the TC10. The quality is good and the workout is GREAT.

  135. Kyle
    January 2, 2014

    You’re so welcome Laura, enjoy it!

  136. Kyle
    January 2, 2014

    You’re welcome Tim! And thanks so much for coming back to give feedback.

    We all appreciate you taking the time to follow up. Have a great New Year!

  137. Romeo
    February 23, 2014

    can the incline be adjusted on the bowflex T-5

  138. Kyle
    February 24, 2014

    Hi Romeo,

    Thanks for the question! It does not have an incline setting, because it inclines with each step in the 3-in-1 motion.

    Have a great week,
    Kyle

  139. Eddie G. Daniels
    March 27, 2014

    I own a TC-5. Purchased an assembled it myself. It will give you a good burn if you can stand the effort to use it without the motor. At 62 I have been working out on various equipment for 22 years. I would NOT recommend anyone purchase a non motorized version. After owning it for 3years using it every other day I can only do a 10 minute session at 2.5 mph.
    The smart thing for Nautlis to do would be to offer a motor upgrade that the TC-5 owners could install, but that would cut into the sell of the other machines.

  140. Kyle
    March 27, 2014

    Hi Eddie,

    Thanks for the feedback! I totally agree.

    This is one of the biggest reasons (and the warranty) why we recommend investing in the TC10 over the TC5.

    Thanks again, and have a great day!
    Kyle

Post Comment