Intro

Bowflex TC20 TreadClimberThe Bowflex TC20 is the top-rated of the TreadClimber family and incorporates “G.O. Coach” technology (Goal Oriented programming) to help set, track and meet your specific fitness goals.

Priced the highest of the line, the Bowflex TC20 is definitely not the cheapest product on the market, but if you want the best TreadClimber on the market with top of the line features, this is the one for you.

In addition to the G.O. Coach technology, the TC20 also features 12 levels of resistance, 5 electronic functions, and Wireless Chest Strap Heart Rate. Most importantly, it burns a ton of calories with very low joint impact.

Learn more in our complete Bowflex TreadClimber TC20 review below…


Video

Video Overview of the Bowflex TC20:

If you’re ready to order, click here for $300 OFF + Free Shipping (ends soon).

Still not sure? Compare all 3 TreadClimbers side-by-side.


Coupon

TreadClimber Logo

Looking for the best price?

Click here for a coupon code to save $499!

The link above will get you $300 off and free shipping.

We are always on the lookout for the best deal, and this coupon will get you the best price out there.


Properties

Model Bowflex TC20
Rating

Our custom rating considers the TreadClimber's features, specs, warranties, and 100's of user & expert reviews, to save you time!

95.9/100 Rating
List Price

Suggested retail price, including shipping. Typically higher than the price you'll pay with promotions.

$3,999.00
Best Price

This link goes to the best price we've found online, including shipping (with coupons & sales).

$3,299 $2,999
Resistance

Resistance is what determines calories burned per stride. The more levels, the more precisely you can control the difficulty.

12 Levels
Speed

TreadClimber speed is measured in Miles Per Hour (mph).Average speed for TreadClimbers is around 3.5 mph

0.5 - 4.5 mph
Visit Site

After carefully evaluating each online retailer that offers this TreadClimber, this is the website we recommend purchasing from.

Functions

There are 5 main TreadClimber functions: Speed, Distance, Time, Calories and Heart Rate.

5 Functions
Heart Rate

Heart Rate programs allow you to track how many times your heart is beating per minute (bpm), and some control the workout for you.

Wireless Chest Strap
Display

The Display refers to the screen you'll look at to monitor workouts. LED and LCD displays are similar to TV screens.

Backlit LCD
Max Weight

Max User Weight is the amount of weight, in pounds (lbs), that it can safely support, which can represent durability.

300 lbs
Dimensions

Dimensions are included to help you figure out if this TreadClimber will fit properly (Length x Width x Height and Height x Depth).

Length: 55"
Width: 31.5"
Height: 55.25"
Profiles

The TreadClimber will store and track different users' settings and workout history.

Climb Indicator

The Climb Indicator will visually track the distance you have traveled in miles.

Quick Controls

Quick Controls allow you to select speed, incline and even workout programs with the touch of a button (usually on the handles).

Accessory Tray

Some TreadClimbers include an accessory tray for holding items such as water bottles, wallets, keys, or MP3 players like iPods.

Portable?

Is the TreadClimber easy to move? Does it have wheels? These can be crucial factors when buying a TreadClimber.

Warranty

The warranty is an important part of your investment. The longer the warranty, the longer you can get free/discounted repairs.

3 Years (Entire Machine)
Best Deal

We do not sell TreadClimbers; we are a free TreadClimber reviews service. This link goes to our top-rated retailer for the Bowflex TreadClimber TC20

Full Review

Quick Summary
Rating: 95.9/100. G.O. Coach, 5 Functions, 0.5 to 4.5 mph, Calories Burned Indicator, Climb Indicator, 3 in 1 Workout, Ergonomic Console, 300 lb. max user weight

Coupon Code: Save $499

Get $300 OFF + Free Shipping by entering the coupon code at the top of the discount page (ends soon).

Pros:

- Innovative design burns lots of calories
- Setup custom user profiles
- Progress tracking and coaching technology
- Wireless chest strap included for heart rate
- New Climb Indicator feature included
- 5 electronic functions (can track heart rate)
- 3 years coverage (best package of all TreadClimbers)

Cons:
- Bigger and heavier than the TC10
- Less bells and whistles than most treadmills
- Top speed not competitive with running treadmills

Introduction

The TC20 is the top of the line model by Bowflex.

TreadClimbers offer the “3 for 1″ package meaning not only do you get the forward motion of the treadmill, but also the stepping of the former stair masters and fluid motion of the ellipticals. The concept works for burning a lot of calories and is at its best here.

This model is what you would consider a light-commercial grade product with high quality production and parts, and it’s backed by a good warranty and guarantee.

Workout

The Bowflex TC 20 provides three individual workouts in one fluid motion thanks to the combination of treadmill, elliptical and stairclimber technology. Bowflex is able to accomplish this effect thanks to their patented Dual-Treadles design.

It also comes with an accurate Wireless Heart Rate monitor which tracks your heart rate and helps you to stay in the optimal fat burning zone.

TreadClimbers are proven to burn twice as many calories as standard treadmills at the same speed, so some say they are some of the best weight loss machines on the market.

TreadClimber Features

This high-end model is highlighted by the G.O. Coach Console, a first-of-its-kind interactive program that interacts with the user to establish goals, monitor progress and compare results with previous weeks as well as other users. In addition to the standard workouts, the G.O. Coach has 9 Challenge Landmark Workouts.

Users begin with three landmarks (Lady Liberty, Space Needle, TransAmerica Tower) and earn six additional world landmarks by completing the goals they set with the program.

G.O. Coach is an incredible feature and really makes working out appear worthwhile. You will enjoy earning trophies and unlocking additional landmarks as you progress. The feature makes the TreadClimber one of the most personalized on the market.

The TC also reduces your exercise time with a super-efficient, low impact workout.

Warranty & Guarantee

The Bowflex warranty package covers the entire machine for three years.

Return Policy: 6 weeks, 100% money-back. Call (800) 647-3405 and ship back for refund of purchase price.

Conclusion

Th TC20 is the top-rated model in one of the most innovative product lines to hit the fitness market in a long time. Consumers are no longer forced to pick between treadmill, elliptical or stairclimber, because the TreadClimber provides a 3-in-1 workout motion for an efficient calorie-burning exercise.

The G.O. Coach technology, user profiles and a 3-year full-coverage warranty set this apart from the other models.

If you would like to talk with Bowflex or place an order on the phone, their customer support number is (800) 647-3405.

Where to Buy

To get the best deal on a TC20, click here for $300 OFF + Free Shipping (ends soon).

120 Comments

  1. Beverly Pendergrass
    August 16, 2012

    I have osteoarthritis and RA. I need a very low weight bearing workout. I do not have easy access to a heated pool. Would this product work for me? Is this product available for me to try before I buy? I know they have a 6 week trial but I imagine the shipping cost would be very high and the effort to ship back would be a real pain.

  2. Kyle
    August 16, 2012

    Hi Beverly,

    My Mom has Rheumatoid Arthritis as well, so I totally understand what you’re looking for.

    In terms of a low weight bearing (and low joint impact) workout, a TreadClimber is a fantastic option.

    The only down side to these products is that they’re not sold in stores, so the only ways to try one out are if you know someone who has one, or by taking advantage of their 6-week guarantee like you mentioned.

    They occasionally run free shipping deals too, so check for that in the review as well.

    Let me know if you have any other questions, and please feel free to come back and share your experience with the FitRated community.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  3. Lisa
    December 2, 2012

    Hi-

    I am trying to decide of the difference in price bweteen the 20 and the 10 is worth it. What does the 20 model have that merits the phenomenal price difference? That way I can decide if it’s worth it to me. Also, I heard that the pedals are longer on the 20 model, but I don’t know how much longer, and if that will make any difference in the comfort of the stride for myself and my husband, enough to make it worth the huge price difference…
    lisa

  4. Kyle
    December 3, 2012

    Hi Lisa,

    Thanks for the comment, these are great questions!

    - Treadle length: TC20 – 42″, TC10 – 37.9″
    - Multiple user Profiles: Only on TC20
    - Heart Rate monitor: Only on TC20
    - Warranty (full-coverage): TC20 – 3 years, TC10 – 2 years

    Basically, if you both want to use the built-in personal trainer and progress software (included in both the TC10 and the TC20), but with separate user profiles for each of you, that’s the biggest advantage feature-wise.

    Beyond that, the treadles are about 4 inches longer, you can monitor your heart rate, and the warranty lasts an extra year.

    Hopefully that quick summary will help you decide if it’s worth the extra investment. If not, the TC10 is a great choice too.

    Have a great day Lisa,
    Kyle

  5. Susan
    December 3, 2012

    I am interested in this….TC20. was wondering how this is shipped and what is involved in putting it together. Is it assembly required. I do not like when they show something…then you get it in a giant box…in peices. : ( Please let me know. Would like to try this out. Not sure yet.

  6. Kyle
    December 4, 2012

    Hi Susan,

    Sounds you’re just like me (you don’t want to mess with assembly). You’re totally right: it is a big box with lots to put together…

    So, I would definitely recommend using some of the money you save with the coupon to upgrade the free shipping to in-room delivery and full assembly.

    They will bring in to the room and set the whole thing up right where you want it, then test everything and give you some pointers about the machine. So worth it in my opinion.

    Have a good day!
    Kyle

  7. Jenny
    December 12, 2012

    Kyle,

    My husband and I have been researching treadclimbers for several weeks now. Although I have set my heart on the TC20 series, my husband found dozens of consumer reports stating that this model has a “mother board” issue. How common is this problem with the TC20 model?

    Also, I have been looking at the TC20 model and the TC6000 model. What are the pros and cons to both? I personally like the screen on the TC600 but prefer the specs on the TC20..

    Thanks!
    Jenny

  8. Kyle
    December 12, 2012

    Hi Jenny,

    Thanks for the comment! Great questions…

    1. Your husband is right about the mother board, though we haven’t heard anything about that since they newer models have been released. From what I understand, those issues were addressed (side note: reminds me of auto manufacturers fixing random problems that come up too late to test for), so this shouldn’t be anything to worry about now.

    2. Speaking of the manufacturer making improvements, the TC6000 was massively improved upon with the TC20. They adjusted the treadles dramatically, and improved the electronics. Plus, I haven’t seen an available TC6000 for less than $2,300 (refurbished), and that’s not a very good deal honestly. In that price range, the TC10 is a better bet. The TC6000 does have user profiles, but it doesn’t have the G.O. Coach Technology, so I would definitely recommend the TC20.

    I hope that helps. Let me know if you have any other questions.

    Have a great day Jenny!
    Kyle

  9. Michele
    December 12, 2012

    Kyle …. Thanks for all the reviews, I just ordered my TC20 and I can’t wait to get it and start working out. I also ordered the install package, I read so many reviews about people having issues putting it together. I also ordered the mat and will be putting this on my hardwood floors. Do I need to do anything to my floors to protect them before putting the mat down? I don’t want the mat to stain the floor from the weight of the machine.

    Thanks so much
    Michele

  10. Kyle
    December 13, 2012

    Hi Michele,

    That’s great! The mat was an awesome idea, because it will prevent dents and scratches from the machine moving, and it will dampen any noise you would hear on the hard wood floors.

    As for stains, that’s a good thing to think about and prevent. I haven’t heard anyone mention the mat stained their floors, but since it is dark I suppose it wouldn’t hurt to get a cheap thin towel or something similar to put under the center (leaving around the edges to keep it gripping the floor).

    I normally wouldn’t recommend that, especially with a treadmill, but your TreadClimber won’t slide as much as a treadmill would, so this should be fine with a very thin towel.

    If that doesn’t work, it does have transport wheels, so you could move it every so often to treat/clean the wood if it needs it.

    Hope that helps! Have a good day Michele,
    Kyle

  11. Tom
    December 15, 2012

    Kyle, I can not find information on home delivery and set up cost.

  12. Kyle
    December 16, 2012

    Hi Tom,

    You can check the availability and price of in-home assembly in your area by entering your zip code after clicking the house icon above the rating on its page.

    Have a good day!
    Kyle

  13. Michele
    December 16, 2012

    Kyle ….. One more question if you don’t mind please …. what are the best kind of shoes to wear on the treadclimber? As in walking or running shoes …. Thanks again Michele

  14. Kyle
    December 16, 2012

    Hi Michele,

    Most people wear running shoes or “cross training” shoes.

    In my experience, running shoes are best for distances (and cross training shoes are designed to be good for every type of activity).

    For TreadClimbers specifically, either would work well. Whatever is more comfortable for you to walk in will do well.

    Have a great day Michele,
    Kyle

  15. Adam
    December 21, 2012

    Kyle,

    I weight 270 pounds, should i go with the TC20, or will the TC 10 be okay for my weight. Also, there will be two of us using the machine, I dont think I care about having my own profile, I can track that manually, but is there an app or something that I can use specifically for the TCxx. Thanks

  16. Kyle
    December 21, 2012

    Hi Adam,

    The TC10 also has a max capacity of 300 lbs, so it will work just fine.

    I don’t think there’s an app that tracks TC workouts specifically, but I’ll keep an eye out for one.

    If you don’t want the goal and progress tracking with your own user profile, the TC10 is perfect for you.

    Those are some of the best features of the TC20 (including the extra year on the warranty, etc.), so if you do want them the upgrade is worth it.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  17. Richard
    December 23, 2012

    Do the treads work in a reverse mode too!

  18. Kyle
    December 24, 2012

    Hi Richard,

    The treadles, similar to a traditional treadmill belt, could theoretically move in reverse, but they are not designed to work in reverse mode.

    Have a good day,
    Kyle

  19. Jeannie
    December 28, 2012

    Once built how hard is the TC20 to move?

  20. Kyle
    December 28, 2012

    Great question Jeannie.

    The TC20 weighs 217 lbs, which sounds like a lot, but that’s significantly lighter than a lot of treadmills (some weight more than 300 lbs).

    The key with its portability is that it has easy transport wheels, so you can just tilt it back and roll it wherever it needs to go.

    Happy new year!
    Kyle

  21. Denise
    December 29, 2012

    Hello all, First of all I am just a regular person I have nothing to gain for writing this review, I just wanted to put my experince out there for others.

    My honey bought me the TC20 for christmas, I know what a guy!! Anyway it was ordered on Dec. 17 and it arrived on the 19th wow. My 14 year old and I put it togther it wasn’t horrible at all. I was so excited, I started on the 20th. It kicks my butt, in a good way. I do the 30 minute work out and it is a challange, but that is what I wanted.

    I was able to get on my old treadmill and go for an hour at 4, I built up a sweat, but not like this. I am like a newbie on 2 for 30 with a much better sweat.

    It is a great machine, It was worth every penny….. Thank you Bowflex,
    Denise

  22. Kyle
    December 29, 2012

    Thanks for your feedback Denise!

    Enjoy your TC20. Happy new year,
    Kyle

  23. Bethany
    December 29, 2012

    Hello!

    Could you point out pros/cons of this machine for someone who has knee problems and have been through a knee surgery? I have been reading very conflicting reviews on this. Thanks!

  24. Kyle
    December 29, 2012

    Hi Bethany,

    The treadles move up and down about 3 inches (which can be adjusted) to absorb the impact of your steps, so there’s very little pressure on your knees.

    In this way, TreadClimbers are similar to Ellipticals, which a lot of people with knee problems buy instead of a treadmill.

    I hope that helps. Happy new year!
    Kyle

  25. Michele
    January 1, 2013

    Bethany …. I also had knee surgery and I was pretty scared about getting this because I knew I couldn’t do the bike or stair stepper. I could do the treadmill but I wasn’t getting enough from it. I researched the Bowflex treadclimber for a while before I decided to purchase. I’m so glad I did, I would only say you will need to start off slow. I’m doing 15 minutes at a time and I have no pain a little sore but NO pain.

    I hope this helps you.

    Thanks Michele

  26. Jeff
    January 3, 2013

    I purchased the TC20 about three weeks ago and I love it. I have been using the G.O. Coach to set my weekly goals and track my progress. I received the Bowflex Home Fitness catalog and was reading about my TC20. The catalog states that there are 8 Pre-Programmed Workouts (Pg 3). I haven’t found anything in my Owner’s Manual on how to access these pre-programmed workouts. Could you please let me know how to use access these workouts?

  27. Kyle
    January 4, 2013

    Hi Jeff,

    Glad you like it! The G.O. Coach is awesome, huh?

    That’s an excellent question, thanks for bringing it up. Here’s how the workouts go:

    - 3 Landmark programs (Lady Liberty, Space Needle and TransAmerica Tower)
    - 5 Functions (Speed, Distance, Time, Calories and Heart Rate)
    - This is what they’re calling the 8 “pre-programmed workouts”
    - Unlock 6 more landmarks through G.O. Coach progress

    It’s a little weird that they call the functions workouts, but since you can unlock 6 more landmark programs, there are actually 9 in total.

    Have a good day Jeff!
    Kyle

  28. Devon
    January 4, 2013

    I know purchase from the supplier is probably the best thing but if a TC20 is fairly new and someone is reselling it due to non use or dislike or even as a gift is the warranty still valid if something Happens to it internally or externally.

  29. Kyle
    January 4, 2013

    Hi Devon,

    The warranty is not transferable, so it wouldn’t be covered for the new owner, though if it’s a friend it might be possible for them to submit a repair claim for the new owner.

    Have a good day,
    Kyle

  30. Ana
    January 4, 2013

    Hello, I am very confusing in buying the bowflex treadclimber, I was looking at all the reviews and mostly they all bad I even saw on youtube a video showing the TC10 with bad reviews would you tell me if this machine is worth buying and if is will better the TC20 instead the TC10. I been using a treadmill for many years but lost it with the Sandy storm and the prices on this machines are very high, I do not want to make a mistake in spending all this money in find out that are not good. What do you recommend?

    Thank you

  31. Kyle
    January 4, 2013

    Hi Ana,

    Sorry to hear about your treadmill. I hope things are going better for you and your family since the storm.

    As for the reviews, the vast majority of the poor reviews and complaints about the TreadClimbers were published about previous models.

    The reviews and feedback you’re reading on FitRated are kept up to date (and labeled by when the comments were written), and we have seen a gradual improvement in customer satisfaction and ratings since the new models were released.

    If you decide it’s not for you, the only risk is the shipping cost…they will give you a full refund of the purchase price if you decide to return it in the first 6 weeks of trying it.

    As for which model, the TC20 is the best overall, so if it’s in your budget that’s what I would go with, especially if you want multiple user profiles and an extra year on the warranty.

    Let me know if there’s anything else I can do to help,
    Kyle

  32. Sue
    January 4, 2013

    Hi Kyle
    I injured my back over 12 years ago and have a hard time even just walking thru the store. It really get to bothering me in the winter month here in Michagin. How is the impact on the lower back?
    Is there a model that would fold for storage?
    I have been thinking of trying to get one I need to get some weight off to help with my back.

  33. Kyle
    January 4, 2013

    Hi Sue,

    The impact on the lower back is about the same as walking up a flight of stairs.

    I would recommend asking your doctor to make sure he/she clears you for it, but my guess is it will help.

    They do not fold, though they are very compact (much smaller than treadmills or ellipticals), and if necessary you can always roll them to another spot with the “easy transport wheels”.

    Have a great day Sue!
    Kyle

  34. Karl
    January 7, 2013

    Kyle

    My wife really wants a tread climber…I have seen a Nautilus Commercial TC916 TreadClimber..used… How does this compare to the TC20? What are the pros / cons of the TC916?

    Thanks!

    Karl

  35. Kyle
    January 7, 2013

    Hi Karl,

    I haven’t heard about the TC916 in a while, so I had to look it up, but now I remember…it’s from when Nautilus built the TreadClimbers “backwards” (console and arms are reversed from current design).

    It’s hard to find replacement parts, except for maybe a belt, and you won’t get a warranty with the TC916, which I don’t recommend.

    That said, if you would prefer to buy used, I would recommend finding a TC20 since it has many new features like the G.O. Coach tracker, bigger treadles, the new form factor, and it’s more durable and quieter.

    Overall, I would compare this to buying a 2-year old car versus an 8-year old car; even if it’s in great shape and comes at a good price, it won’t have all the improvements that the newer model does, and it’s likely to need replaced much sooner.

    Hope that helps!
    Kyle

  36. Lucky
    January 8, 2013

    Hello Kyle, I am very interested in purchasing the TC20 but have seen conflicting reviews. I would like to know if I had to return it what is the process? Also, please help me to understand why this is a better choice then all the rest. I don’t want to make a huge mistake in making such a large purchase and lose my money. Thank you

  37. Kyle
    January 8, 2013

    Hi Lucky,

    I totally understand (and feel the same way when buying new equipment).

    Here’s how the money-back guarantee process works:

    1. You receive your TreadClimber
    2. You try it out for up to 6 weeks
    3. If you decide not to keep it, call (800) 647-3405
    4. They give you a Return Merchandise Autohrization (RMA) number
    5. You put it back in its packaging undamaged for shipping
    6. Send it off within 2 weeks of getting your RMA
    7. They refund the full purchase price, not the shipping since that goes to UPS, etc.

    Very few people that buy a TC10 or TC20 return it, but if you decide to for any reason, the worst-case scenario is that you’ll pay to ship it back.

    Since they’re not sold in stores, and there are excellent coupon codes available on top of the 3-year full coverage warranty, it’s a good deal all around.

    Let me know if you have any other questions.
    Kyle

  38. Vana
    January 8, 2013

    My husband and I are in our 50s and we are seriously considering the TC20. We are debating about placing it in the family room, which has hardwood floors with the intention of working out while watching the news or TV shows.Since you have mentioned that it weighs 217 lbs and with our body weights added to it during our usage, would the uneven distribution of weight on one side of the room put a stress on the supporting beams in the basement below? Should we keep moving it at regular intervals? Also would this affect the hardwood floors? How is the noise levels when its operating? Did not see any comments in the reviews on this.
    Is it a better idea to just place it in the basement and not worry about all this? I feel that the chances of us using it regularly is greater if it sits right there in our family room:)

  39. Kyle
    January 8, 2013

    Hi Vana,

    That’s a great point, though I’m almost positive you would be fine using it in the family room.

    If you’re concerned about the support beams specifically, it might be worth having someone check it out for you (I’m definitely not a structural engineer, so I don’t want to steer you wrong there).

    That said, from my experience, I have heard of people using it in high-rise apartments in New York city with no problems, so I’m guessing you wouldn’t have any issues.

    Plus, like you said, if that spot means you’ll be more likely to use it, that’s the most important thing! :)

    Either way, an exercise mat will help tremendously with all of this (making it quieter as well).

    Enjoy!
    Kyle

  40. Shannon Childress
    January 12, 2013

    Is there finacing available

  41. Kyle
    January 14, 2013

    Hi Shannon,

    Yes. Bowflex offers a no-interest financing option (if paid within 18 months).

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  42. Ron Samuelson
    January 16, 2013

    My wife and I have had a treadmill for the last six years and work out regularly here during the winter in northern Illinois (-2 now). We bought the TC20 after plenty of research.

    Really don’t know why we waited so long to buy it.

    Arrived quickly, very easy to assemble in basement and on a carpet. Very easy to move around. I worked out 20 minutes on the treadmill and 20 minutes on the TC20.

    In the same amount of time on the treadmill and switch to the TC20 I burn twice the amount of calories – GO FIGURE………

  43. Kyle
    January 16, 2013

    Hey Ron,

    Negative 2 degrees?! Wow, that’s cold. :)

    Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review!

    Have a good one,
    Kyle

  44. Michael
    January 19, 2013

    How many boxes does the TC20 come in and how heavy are they?

  45. Kyle
    January 19, 2013

    Hi Michael,

    It ships in 4 boxes, and the machine’s total weight is 217 lbs.

    Let me know if you need anything else!
    Kyle

  46. J. Edward
    January 19, 2013

    I purchased the TC20 on January 8, 2013 and it arrived on January 16th by FedEx. My brother-in-law and I put it together in approximately 3 hours (which was not bad as we first thought it would take 2 days). The next day I had an early meeting and could not use the machine; however, the following day (January 17th) I got up at 5:00 AM and got on the machine for 30 minutes and it was great. The next morning (Saturday), I got up and went to workout on the machine and got an error message – H 02 and could not find anything to tell me what was wrong. Consequently, I then call Customer Service to find out they are only available 24 hours a day for those individuals wanting to purchase a machine – to answer a question like mine, I was told to call back Monday – Friday during regular business hours. So now I am stuck until Monday…. personally, I think their Customer Service sucks….

  47. Kyle
    January 21, 2013

    Hi J. Edward,

    Sorry to hear about the error! I haven’t heard of that before, so I’ll check on it.

    I hope you get in touch with them today and they help you fix it as quickly as possible.

    Have a good one!
    Kyle

  48. Amanda
    January 30, 2013

    I know that the TC10′s treadles don’t move on their own, they require body weight. Does the TC20 actualy move or is it all the person using it?

  49. Kyle
    January 30, 2013

    Hi Amanda,

    Excellent question. Thanks for bringing this up.

    The treadles move up and down entirely by the user’s steps, but the hydraulics create resistance (based on how you set them, with the goal of leaving about 3 inches to absorb the impact of your steps).

    The motor is there to control the movement and speed of the treadle’s belts.

    Have a good day Amanda!
    Kyle

  50. Marian
    January 31, 2013

    Have the tc 20. Arrived first week of January. Problem with the shocks. They have to pump up on start up and after approx. 15 minutes they start returning to the top postion with a bang. The machine is very noisy when they start doing this.

    Called customer service was told the shocks should not be doing this, so they sent out a new pair of shocks. Installed them tonight and they are worse then the ones that we just replaced.

    Should the shocks be doing this? I feel that they should not have to pump up on start up and that they should glide up and down not glide down and bang up.

    Any ideas love the machine hate the banging of the shocks.

  51. Kyle
    February 1, 2013

    Hi Marian,

    I haven’t heard of this until now, but that has to be frustrating! I’m confident you will get it working just fine though.

    Since it happened to two sets of shocks in a row and this is a unique issue, it’s possible that this could have started during assembly.

    Page 18 of the TC20′s assembly manual says:
    “The settings dial on the cylinders must be up, with the white arrow to the inside of the machine. Attach to Treadles before the Uprights.”

    For example, maybe the cylinders were attached to the uprights before the treadles, or possibly not lined up or tightened properly.

    Also, the getting started videos mention making sure the arrows on the cylinders are lined up and on the same setting (1-12).

    If it is caused by any of these things, it’s possible that going back over those steps could solve the problem.

    Either way, I would recommend calling Bowflex service at (800) 647-3405 to have them walk you through potential solutions over the phone and/or to schedule an appointment to have a technician fix it for you.

    The appointment would be best, because there is the possibility that they will need to replace a different part with a manufacturing flaw. In that case, it’s still under warranty so there would be no charge for you.

    I hope that helps! Have a great weekend Marian,
    Kyle

  52. Linda Williams
    February 3, 2013

    Hello,

    I was told last summer by a rep. at Bowflex that the tredles of the TC20 moved automatically, different from the TC10. After reading the reviews, I’m confused of the differences between the 2 models. I was told that the automatic movement would make the TC20 easier to use than the TC10.
    Can one use the discount on the interest free option for 18 months? Would credit be notified? I’m interested because we are considering refinancing our home, and often this type of financing could go against us. We are regular payers of our bills and would pay regularly and on time if not before the 18 mns. Thanks, Linda

  53. Linda Williams
    February 3, 2013

    How much does it cost for one to come in and set the machine up?

    If one was to decide to return within the first 6 wks., will UPS pick up?

    If there is a mechanical problem within the first 3 years of the TC20, will someone come into the home to repair? Or, how does it work for repair service?

    Thanks,
    DW & Linnie

  54. Kyle
    February 5, 2013

    Hi Linda,

    Sorry for the delayed reply. All awesome questions, thanks!

    1. Both the TC10 and the TC20 are motorized, so the movement and speed of the treadle belts is controlled by the motor. The stepping motion is controlled by the user (with the hydraulic cylinders). Both of these high-end models are much easier to use than the TC5 (which is completely powered by the user – no motor).

    2. I believe you can use the coupon codes with the interest free option, yes. Once you start the checkout process and choose your payment option, you will see the discount in your shopping cart. At that point, you could apply for the interest-free financing, or give them a quick call to make sure the discount will still apply if you’d like.

    3. To be approved for the financing option, they will need to check your credit, so the bureaus they check will likely be notified (similar to a credit card). This is a great option since you pay things off regularly anyway.

    4. Professional in-home assembly costs $249, and includes putting it where you want it, assembling the entire machine, testing and calibrating, and cleaning up the mess. Totally worth it in my opinion. :)

    5. If you decide to get your money back, I believe you can have UPS pick it up to ship it out for you. I haven’t heard of anyone returning the TC20, and I’m sure this depends on whether or not you have a local UPS store nearby, but I have heard of them doing this in my area for an extra charge (compared to dropping it off at UPS yourself).

    6. The 3 year full-coverage warranty covers in-home repairs, so they will send someone out to fix the machine for you if necessary.

    I hope that helps! Have a great day,
    Kyle

  55. Eli
    February 15, 2013

    I just purchased the TC-20 treadclimber. I received it today, & the assembly team will be coming next week to assemble it. Am I supposed to keep all the boxes that it comes in, just in case I have to return it within the 6 weeks I get to try it out?? Where am I supposed to keep so many clumsy boxes??? It really doesn’t make sense! Would it be possible to repackage it in my own boxes, if I throw out all the packaging? (I really hope I wont have to send it back! I’m just wondering, worst case scenario. Can you get back to me quickly, because I have to know what to do, once the assembly team comes! Thanks a ton!!

  56. Kyle
    February 15, 2013

    Hi Eli,

    No problem, I totally understand. You’re right: you probably won’t need to send it back, but just in case here’s what the return policy says about packaging:

    “Products must be returned undamaged in suitable packaging (preferably original cartons).”

    So basically, if you have some boxes that could keep things safe, or would prefer to throw the original boxes out and get some at UPS or something, that would work too.

    In all likelihood, you won’t have to worry about any of that though. :)

    Enjoy your new TC20!
    Kyle

  57. Melissa
    February 16, 2013

    Hello!

    I recently purchased the TC20. I was a little disappointed that it took almost a month to get my machine. I kept calling, and everytime was told it would ship in the next 2 days. Finally I threatened to cancel my order and POOF! My machine was shipped the next day.

    Assembly wasnt too bad. Some parts are really heavy so it takes more than one person, but I was able to put most of it together myself in 2.5 hours. The instructions are pretty simple, but you have to read them thoroughly. I missed a plastic piece on the handle bars from step 3 or 4 and didnt realise til I had the machine all put together.

    As for actually using the machine, I have only used it a couple of times but I really like it. I have trouble with my knees but not at all with this machine. And the workout I get is crazy. After about 10 minutes I exhausted and I can feel muscles getting tired. I havent quite figured out out to use the GO Coach,I just set the time I want to do and go.

    Anyways, that’s my review. Overall, I would recommend this machine if you can afford it. But if you’re going to spend that kind of money, make sure you use it!!

  58. Kyle
    February 19, 2013

    Hi Melissa,

    Great feedback, thank you!

    Enjoy your TC20,
    Kyle

  59. John H
    February 27, 2013

    Just to let folks on your site know, I had a TC3000 that my wife and I had purchased 4 or so years ago in an effort to lose weight and get in shape. Unfortunately, my wife developed cancer and passed away without getting much of a chance to use it, but I’ve been using mine between 4 and 7 times a week to try and keep the weight off and avoid going on blood pressure medicine. I usually do 2 miles during my workouts on weekdays and try to do 3 to 4 on weekends. I’ve put the machine through a lot and have gone through two pistons when one went bad and the replacement was also bad but the machine seems pretty durable. I received and offer to upgrade to the TC20 with a substantial discount and free shipping so I’ve placed my order and am very excited about the new machine since I maxed out the speed of the 3000 and I can’t wait to try the Go Coach functions.

    If there are any folks out there still on the fence about trying one of the treadclimbers, I would highly recommend them and the customer service I’ve received from Bowflex has been very good any time I’ve had a question that I couldn’t find in the manual.

    Cheers

  60. Kyle
    February 27, 2013

    Hi John,

    Thanks so much for the review! I’m so sorry for your loss, but glad to hear you’re doing well and enjoying working out on your TreadClimber. You’ll love the new one!

    Have a great day,
    Kyle

  61. Kalah Byman
    March 1, 2013

    Can the treadclimber be put on carpet? I don’t have any other flooring in my home. Thank you.

  62. Kyle
    March 3, 2013

    Hi Kalah,

    Yes, carpeted flooring is perfectly fine.

    For added protection of your carpet, it’s worth considering an exercise mat.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  63. Mars Bacani
    March 4, 2013

    Hi Kyle,

    What is the size of the rubber mat for tc20..I just ordered my TC20 and I can’t wait to get it and start my work out but rubbermat is not included.

    Mars

  64. Kyle
    March 4, 2013

    Hi Mars,

    Congrats! You’re going to love it.

    The mat is 4 ft 9 in long, and 2 ft 11 in wide.

    Have a great day,
    Kyle

  65. Manuel Bujan
    March 8, 2013

    I am 6’2” and my wife is 5’2” tall; I am looking at a TC10 vs TC20. From a stride perspective, which would accommodate us the best?

  66. Kyle
    March 11, 2013

    Hi Manuel,

    The strides will feel similar (especially for her), though the treadles are longer on the TC20, so it will be even more comfortable for you.

    Also, the G.O. Coach feature can store a separate profile for each of you, which is a big plus.

    Have a good day!
    Kyle

  67. Tonia
    March 16, 2013

    Just wondering how much it roughly is to return the machine. Would it be more then the $250 they charge?

  68. Kyle
    March 16, 2013

    Hi Tonia,

    If you decide to return your TC20, you will get a refund that covers the entire machine, but because the shipping and assembly are paid to other companies and they can’t get their money back, Bowflex cannot pay that back. The $250 is only paid if you want to have someone assemble it for you.

    Luckily, the current sale includes free shipping, so that part isn’t a problem…the only thing you would have to pay is to ship it back. That amount depends on where you are, what company you use, etc. but to answer your question (finally :)) it probably wouldn’t be more than $250.

    I’ll keep an eye out for more specific numbers, but I haven’t heard of customers returning the TC20, so I don’t know the exact shipping cost.

    Have a good day!
    Kyle

  69. Vese
    April 3, 2013

    I am really considering buying the TC20 but skeptical. Can you you give me an example of how many calories I would burn if I used it for 30 minutes? I am about 130 pounds, if that helps. I am just trying to determine the difference between this product and a basic elliptical.

  70. Kyle
    April 4, 2013

    Hi Vese,

    That’s totally reasonable! I’ve heard personal trainers say they don’t think it will be a tough workout since it’s “just walking”, then they try it and see how the 3-in-1 motion works, and start recommending it to their clients.

    The amount of calories burned will be different for everyone, since the formula includes gender, weight, age, etc. So, Bowflex claims you can burn “up to 3.5x the calories” compared to using a treadmill at the same speed.

    Now, I’ve talked to a lot of people that walk on a treadmill for 30+ minutes. At a brisk walking pace of 3.5 mph, that’s 1.75 miles walked. Using a basic calories burned formula, a 150 lb person would burn about 150 calories from this treadmill workout.

    The idea is that same 150 lb person could do 3.5 mph for 30 minutes on a TreadClimber, and burn up to 525 calories because of the 3-in-1 motion making more muscles work harder.

    For many people at an average fitness level, walking on flat ground for 30 minutes is super easy. But, if they walk up a couple flights of stairs, they have to catch their breath, even though they’re probably climbing stairs slower than the speed they would walk.

    That’s why climbing, propelling yourself forward on the treadle belts, and doing the elliptical motion all at the same time, while moving at the brisk pace you would walk on flat ground, burns significantly more calories.

    Let me know if you have any other questions!

    Have a great day,
    Kyle

  71. Jenny
    April 4, 2013

    Hello there,

    I have had my Bowflex TC20 Treadclimber for nearly three months now. Based on my own usage, I thought I would give Vese a realistic example of how many calories are burned in 30 minutes at 3.5mph and at middle resistance. I burn 100 calories/10min. Going faster than 3.5 only increases caloric burn slightly.

    So in all honestly I completely recommend the Treadclimber because it gives a great workout but the calorie burn that Bowflex advertises is inflated. Hope this helps!

    Kindest Regards,
    Jenny

  72. Kyle
    April 4, 2013

    Great feedback, thanks for your input Jenny!

  73. Chris
    April 20, 2013

    Hi,
    I purchased TC20 in January 2013. Great workout and makes me sweat like no other workout machine. I am 5′ 8″ and now at 180 lbs. This machine has helped me lose 30 pounds in 8 weeks. I really enjoy the TC20 and the success I have had with it! But it has recently become problematic after 2 months of ownership.

    After 2 months of regular (5+ workouts per week) by both my wife and I, we started having problems. The right side shock would bottom out and only return 1/2 way up. It felt like you were limping badly if you tried using the machine. I called Bowflex and they sent new shocks to me, 3 weeks after my call.

    Immediately after installing new shock, right side shock would return with loud bang. This gets louder and worse as your workout continues. I called Bowflex and they said issue is with shocks and sent another new pair of shocks. After waiting weeks (again) for new shocks, I installed them only to be disappointed again. The third set of shocks return with very loud, distracting bang on the return up.

    I am finding myself spending more time on the phone with customer service and wrenching on the TC20, then I get to exercise on it. I believe they are having issues with their shock manufacturing quality and haven’t figured out the issue yet.

  74. Kyle
    April 22, 2013

    Thanks for the feedback Chris! I haven’t heard much about the shocks doing this, so I’m glad you brought it up. I’ll keep an eye on it in case it’s something new in a recent batch.

    They’ll take good care of you for sure, things just take some time when they need to order replacement parts. Either way, I hope they get it taken care of quickly for you!

    Thanks again and have a great day,
    Kyle

  75. Sanjana
    May 5, 2013

    I bought the T20 after reading the great reviews, it was great working out but the issues I have been having are really irritating. It is barely 4 weeks since I got the machine , I had an H05 error and I called customer service which only works week days by the way ( I had to stay at home from work to talk to someone). She made me pull the wires and reattach them and I put the all together again. Now today while working out the screen froze again. It gave me an error H06. The machine kept stopping while working out. It has been a week, I think I have been given a defective machine. How any more days do I have to stay away from work before I can work out properly. Am really disappointed and this is exasperating calling the customer service screwing and unscrewing parts.

  76. Kyle
    May 6, 2013

    Hi Sanjana,

    I’m glad to hear you liked the workout! Sorry to hear about the errors you’ve seen. I think you’re right…it sounds like you may have received a machine with an electronics defect. Thankfully though, that is covered under warranty, so don’t hesitate to tell them you would like to have them come out and replace parts for you. If they find that it’s better to replace the entire machine for you, they will do that to make sure you’re happy with your investment. This will take time, and I know it’s not fun to wait for manufacturing and shipping, but it will be worth it for the workouts you’ll get once it’s all set. If you don’t want to wait, it’s also good to mention that you can still get your money back since you’re in the 6-week money back guarantee. Either way, let them know that this is a recurring issue, and that you need someone to come out and fix it or bring a new one for you. I’m sure it will all go well for you!

    Have a great day,
    Kyle

  77. Anne
    May 19, 2013

    I am looking at being able to purchase a used TC20 from a private party. I realize the warranty is not transferable but am I able to call BowFlex for any issues (if they arise) and be able to purchase service and/or parts? Will I be treated the same as a direct BowFlex customer? Thank you!

  78. Kyle
    May 20, 2013

    Hi Anne,

    That’s a great question, thanks! I didn’t know this one, so I just called customer support to check on it for you.

    After the warranty expires, or if you purchase your TreadClimber through a 3rd party like you mentioned, you can still order replacement parts if needed.

    If you would like to have a technician install the parts to fix the machine, service calls are $169 to book the service and have them come out when it’s convenient for you. They will install the replacement part you ordered and check to make sure everything is working, with a 30-day guarantee on the service.

    Let me know if you have any other questions!
    Kyle

  79. Pat
    June 10, 2013

    I just recieved my TC20. Great workout. Assembly 3 hours. I too am having the shocks bang on the upswing and the tread paddles are noisy. My wife doesn’t have the issue when she uses it. I think if you push down hard it rebounds with a bang but if you just use a walking motion it doesn’t.

  80. Kyle
    June 10, 2013

    Thanks for the feedback Pat!

    I have heard a couple TC20 owners say a quick call to support helped them remedy this issue by tightening/loosening some things based on the support team’s guidance from the noise, but it’s good to know that the regular walking motion is working fine for you.

    Please feel free to let us know if they’re able to help you totally solve that, or if you find a solution yourself.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  81. Chris
    June 11, 2013

    Just wanted to give an update to my last post (April 20th) regarding the shock issue. To date Bowflex Customer service has sent me 3 new pairs of shocks, with the same clunking noise on the shocks return up. A technician came and was unable to resolve the issue as well. Just a few days, an entirely new machine arrived and the previous one is being sent back. My experience on the new machine was improved. The shocks on this machine still returns with a quieter clunking sound, but only after it gets warmed up from extended use over 20 minutes. However, when my wife uses the TC20, she has no issues. I think the shock starts making this noise from overheating during normal use.

    Despite the noise issue with the shock, I still enjoy the machine and have no plans to return it! It gives me a great workout and keeps me motivated to stick with exercising.

    Bowflex customer service has been exceptional and very professional. They are definitely standing behind their product and trying everything to resolve my issue. I am hopeful and confident that sometime soon I will have a smoothly operating machine. I still highly recommend the TC20 for giving a great workout, it’s just been a bit noisy.

  82. Kyle
    June 11, 2013

    Thanks for the feedback Chris!

  83. Diane
    June 17, 2013

    Kyle,

    We are thinking of purchasing the TC20 but I was just wondering if one user opens the other programs does that mean it is also opened to the other user too? Also I had a hip replacement is this machine good for the hip. I do use the treadmill. Thank You!

  84. Kyle
    June 18, 2013

    Hi Diane,

    The landmark workouts are earned by each user as they track their progress, so I don’t think there’s a way to unlock them for all users at once.

    As for your hip, I’m not a physician, but I believe a good rule of thumb for this is that as long as you don’t feel any pain or discomfort walking up the stairs, the TreadClimber’s 3-in-1 motion should feel comfortable for you. Since you are already using a treadmill, I’m even more confident you will be fine since your legs are already used to getting a good workout.

    Another test would be to try out the incline at 5% or even 10% to see how that feels.

    Have a good day!
    Kyle

  85. Diane
    June 18, 2013

    Kyle,

    Thank you for getting back to me. We ordered the TC20.

  86. Mike
    July 1, 2013

    I have also experienced problems with the cylinders (shocks) on my TC20. I am on my 3rd set and they are banging and not retracting sufficiently. Based on the comments above, it seems that Nautilus/Bowflex is aware of this, but continues to do the same thing again (sending out replacement sets), rather than addressing the root cause. If they expect a different result, that as we all know would be the definition of insanity. I somehow think the company is smarter than that. They have a design problem or quality control issue. The shocks need to be a heavier grade and the fluid needs to be changed to something that can take the heat generated by the useage without preventing retraction. BTW, customer service has been excellent – I will give them a chance to resolve this, but just replacing shocks is not the answer.
    Good luck to all of you that are trying to resolve the same and other problems.

  87. Kyle
    July 2, 2013

    Thanks for the feedback Mike!

    I totally agree. This is an interesting situation, because it seems to be a rare issue, but I’m confident they’re working on a more permanent solution to reduce/eliminate these occurrences.

    Have a great day,
    Kyle

  88. Jenn
    July 17, 2013

    How does the TC20 compare with a treadmill that has an incline as far as calories burned?

  89. Kyle
    July 17, 2013

    Hi Jenn,

    The University of Wisconsin did a study that showed people burned about 3.5x the calories on a TreadClimber compared to walking on a treadmill at the same speed.

    Using an incline on a treadmill will help to increase the calories burned, but it’s still substantially more calories burned due to the 3-in-1 motion.

    A lot of people, including some personal trainers, have scoffed at the idea of walking at 4mph or less to burn calories, but once they try it they realize how beneficial it can be for a low-impact workout. In short: it’s a lot better than walking. :)

    I hope that helps! Have a great day,
    Kyle

  90. Jack Snyder
    August 3, 2013

    I am 63 years old (this month) I bought the TC 20, which was delivered last Wednesday. I paid the $250 and had it professionally installed (highly recommend) the company installer was on time and courteous. He was alone and installed the TC 20 in a little over an hour.

    I have used all kinds of exercise equipment, I have always had shin splint problems and have developed hip issues. My wife and I used the TC 4 times, I am up to 25 min/2 mph/250 cal/135 HR. I have had NO shin or joint problems. We both are very happy with the TC. We were not exercising before we bought it and we’re worried about the high price, so far this was a great purchase.

    Initially I did have a problem with the treadles bottoming out, I changed the travel setting to “min”, made sure my stride stayed a little behiind the piston and increased my speed to 1.5 mph and that solved the problem.

    My basic question is what are reasonable “sustainable” goals/settings for my age? I plan on using the TC 4-6 days a week for 30 minutes.

    in short, the TC 20 is worth the money. I found your site very helpful before I bought the my Bowflex TC 20.

  91. Kyle
    August 5, 2013

    Hi Jack,

    Glad to hear you’re enjoying it and that your shins and joints are feeling good!

    It sounds like you’re doing great with your goals, honestly.

    A lot of people really enjoy the built-in Goal Oriented technology, so I would definitely take advantage of that to unlock the landmarks and mix things up.

    In general, I would try to do at least 5 days per week, and 30 minutes is awesome. Over time, you could increase your speed and the duration of the workout to gradually keep pushing yourself and avoid plateauing.

    Enjoy!
    Kyle

  92. Jeff
    September 16, 2013

    I am willing to pay for top of the line. I need something that is easy enough for my wife, so she will not quit. I also need something that is hard enough for me to at least get my heart rate up to 130-140. I can get it past 160 on a treadmill. I like to do interval training. I am a member of a gym so I have used a lot of aerobic machines. Some are just no good. They are just to easy. I actually have a hard time getting my heart rate past 100 on some of the machines. Will this machine give me the workout I am looking for? I have been injured using a treadmill, or I would just buy one of these. I want something that I can use 4-5 times per week. All of the models have a smile while they are using this. It made me wonder.

  93. Scott
    September 17, 2013

    Hello,

    I am wondering what the minimum temperature is for the machine to work correctly. We are considering putting it in an insulated, but not heated, garage in South Dakota.

    Thank-you.

  94. Kyle
    September 17, 2013

    Hi Jeff,

    That’s great! It’s awesome that you’re so focused on getting a challenging workout. That’s what it’s all about.

    The TreadClimber is definitely one of those things that looks a lot easier than it really is, and you’re totally right about the models making it look almost too easy. Those video clips are taken before they start sweating and the real workout begins. Plus, they’re models so they are in great shape to begin with. :)

    Anyway, you will definitely get a good hard workout from this. It won’t do interval training since the range of speeds isn’t as large, but the 3-in-1 motion is what really gets the job done. It sounds like you’re in really good shape, so you will probably skip the lower speeds and short exercises, jumping straight to 30 minutes at 4mph – it sounds easy since we’re used to treadmill speeds, but it’s a LOT harder than it would be on a treadmill!

    Also, in terms of getting your heart rate up, the G.O. Coach programs will help keep things challenging for you, and you could always add in some dumbbell or bodyweight exercises before your TC workout to get warmed up.

    Have a good day Jeff!
    Kyle

  95. Kyle
    September 17, 2013

    Hi Scott,

    That’s a very interesting question!

    I’ve never thought of that until now, though I will say it’s very common for people to put them in basements which are typically around 65 degrees.

    With any machine, being in extreme temperatures could cause issues, so to be safe I would recommend calling (800) 647-3405 just to make sure it will be alright in the garage.

    Sorry I couldn’t give you a more definitive answer on this. Feel free to come back and let us know how this turns out!

    Have a good one,
    Kyle

  96. Sandra
    October 8, 2013

    I am so excited about this machine. Question…how many users can enter a profile and use the G O Coach?

    Sincerely,
    Sandra in Texas

  97. Kyle
    October 8, 2013

    Hi Sandra,

    You can setup G.O. Coach with 2 users, each with their own “customized programming and goal progress displays”.

    It is possible that people could share a profile too, if needed, but it’s designed for one person per profile to make sure all the progress is logged by the same person’s workouts.

    If you have other people in the house that would like to use it, they don’t have to use the G.O. Coach feature, so guests or other family members could use it too.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  98. Mary
    November 5, 2013

    I am 59. Unfortunately I weigh 200 lbs. I am only 5 feet tall. I have no problems walking and I work full time (mostly standing). I had total knee replacement 2-1/2 years ago. I remember my pt guy warning me about elliptical machines. He said that they are NOT for the vertically challenged. Do you think that the tread climber will work for me?

  99. Kyle
    November 6, 2013

    Hi Mary,

    Great question, thanks for reaching out!

    I agree with him about ellipticals for sure. Because their pedals have to be fixed, the elliptical motion can be difficult for those with shorter legs than the engineers planned on (or more accurately, on the more vertically-challenged end of their tested spectrum :)).

    With the TC though, the length of your legs shouldn’t have any effect because the treadles are so close together and you don’t have to hold on to hand rails that go back and forth – which relies on height and arm length for ellipticals.

    Also, to give you a quick comparison: The TC is 4 feet 7 inches tall in total, and the editor’s choice elliptical is 5 feet 2 inches tall.

    Hope that helps! Have a good day Mary,
    Kyle

  100. Jack Snyder
    November 6, 2013

    I find it very low impact and I am not in pain when I am done. I am a 63 yr old male, 5’10″ 200. I recommend but it might help if you can find one to try. Trying to send back after purchase is not very easy

  101. Kyle
    November 7, 2013

    Hi Jack,

    Thanks for the feedback! Glad to hear it’s working well for you!

    Have a good day,
    Kyle

  102. Kyle
    November 7, 2013

    For readers concerned about shipping it back:

    You have 6 weeks to try it out. If something is wrong or you need help, you can get step-by-step support on a phone call, and they will send replacement parts if needed (though this isn’t needed most the time).

    If you have tried it out and want to return it – whether it’s working perfectly and you just don’t like it, or if something isn’t working and you would rather return it than replace the part – you can get a refund for the purchase price, but they can’t cover shipping. Boxing it up and taking it to your local UPS or Fedex would be difficult, but you can call either company and have them pick it up on their normal route in your neighborhood, which makes it much easier.

    If you’re able to check it out at a friend’s house or a gym, that’s awesome. If not, the risk is still low. In the end, the most important thing to remember is that this worst-case scenario is rare. The vast majority of the customers I have spoken with are very happy with their investment.

  103. Bob
    November 9, 2013

    I’m looking at the TC20 and trying to decide between buy new or used. I see where there were a lot of issues with motherboard with earlier models. My question is what are considered as an earlier model and have they fixed the problems with the cylinders/shocks on the TC 20 that were mentioned in a July post.

  104. Kyle
    November 11, 2013

    Hi Bob,

    Thanks for the comment! I haven’t heard any more about the cylinders/shocks in the past 4 months, so it seems like the issue has not been happening recently.

    Either way, the new vs used question is a great one. I personally prefer to buy new fitness equipment because it’s worth the investment in my opinion for the warranty and how long it will last (typically a few years longer with new).

    For example, say someone used it for 2 years, then sells it to you for $2,000 (the going price on eBay right now). You saved $1,000 (compared to the coupon code), but you don’t get the warranty and it’s already been used for 2 years, so the odds are higher that you would need to need to call for a replacement part or repair in the next couple years.

    I prefer to invest more upfront to know that I will have a nice new machine to use for years to come, and all the features are up to date. If you would rather not pay full price for the TC20, I would consider the TC10 (it’s the same price as a used TC20 with the coupon code).

    Hope that helps! Have a good one,
    Kyle

  105. Joe
    November 30, 2013

    Hi Kyle,

    Good site. Based on the comments and thoughtful responses, I ordered mine today. We have used our Nordic Trac stationary bike for over a year and love it. But, it was getting a little mundane. This additional piece of equipment should mix it up for us for the next few years.

    Thanks,

    Joe

  106. Kyle
    December 1, 2013

    Thanks Joe! Glad it helped out.

    Great idea. It’s always good to mix up your workouts to stay motivated.

    Enjoy!
    Kyle

  107. Connie Hval
    December 1, 2013

    Kyle,

    I am but a button away from purchasing the TC20. However, I do have one question dealing with my husband’s height. He is 6’5″. How much headroom does one need when on this machine? As far as I know, we have a standard day-light basement.

    Thanks,
    Connie

  108. Kyle
    December 2, 2013

    Hi Connie,

    At their highest point, the treadles are 17 inches from the floor.

    Since he’s 6′ 5″, his head will reach 7′ 10″ at the highest point.

    Leaving a couple inches of clearance is fine since he’s not running (some people bounce more on treadmills, but that’s not an issue with a TreadClimber), so an 8 ft ceiling would be fine.

    Have a good day!
    Kyle

  109. Jessica
    December 26, 2013

    Kyle,
    I’m 5’2 and 190 pounds. I’m considering purchasing the tc20. I was thinking of doing 30 minute sessions two times day. Would this be overkill? Also with people having problems with the shock would you not recommend the two workouts a day?

    Thanks,
    Jessica

  110. Kyle
    December 26, 2013

    Hi Jessica,

    I would recommend sticking to one 30-minute session per day, while gradually increasing the intensity settings.

    If you’d like to do more, there’s nothing wrong with being an overachiever! :)

    In that case, just don’t overdo it to keep from getting injured, but I would recommend adding strength training to your routine as well.

    You can do bodyweight exercises or get some dumbbells, but either way it will boost your metabolism and help with toning, which is a great combination with the TC.

    Hope that helps! Have a good day,
    Kyle

  111. Jessica
    January 31, 2014

    Hi Kyle,

    I am thinking about purchasing either this machine or the TC10 for my parents. As you noted in a prior comment, the only way to try it is by ordering it – so before I take that risk, I was wondering if you had any experience or thoughts on how well this works for two middle-aged, non-athletic, very overweight people? I am most am concerned about the TC being too difficult for them to use – I know if it is, they are never going to use it.

    They are both in their mid 50’s, extremely overweight (and have been for over 10 years), do not work out, and never really have. I love the idea of a TC because they both need something low impact that doesn’t require hours of daily use to be effective. BUT, it is important that I do not reinforce their already-negative self-image by getting them something that is too challenging. Any wisdom would be appreciated.

    Thank you so much,
    Jessica

  112. Kyle
    January 31, 2014

    Hi Jessica,

    Thanks for reaching out! I totally understand.

    It can be a very challenging workout, but fortunately it’s easy to adjust the resistance, speed and workout time, so they’ll be able to start off as slowly as they like, and gradually increase the intensity as their stamina improves.

    Have a great weekend!
    Kyle

  113. Lorraine
    February 10, 2014

    Hello, I have a treadmill, bike and elliptical. I’m planning on selling my treadmill as I hardly use it any more. I have real bad knees, had scope done on one and now I have the same problem with the other one.
    My question is, would it be a waste of money for me to purchase a Bowflex Treadclimber T20, as I kind of have all the machines, that the Treadclimber has into one? I find that because my knees are giving problems, that I’m exercising less and less and that is not good for me, as the scale is goinf the oposite way. And I’m not getting any younger. I need to find something that I can do everyday, and feel no pain on my knees.
    Thanking you in advance.
    Lorraine

  114. Kyle
    February 10, 2014

    Hi Lorraine,

    This is a perfect scenario for selling the old machines and consolidating them down to one with the 3-in-1 motion and low impact on your knees.

    In this case, I would recommend it, and you’ll save a ton of space with two less pieces of equipment too! :)

    Have a great day,
    Kyle

  115. Jack Snyder
    February 10, 2014

    I have trouble with shinsplints and now I have a TC 20 and I can walk 2 miles at 3 miles an hour 40 minutes with no pain. I am 63 years old.

  116. Kyle
    February 11, 2014

    That’s great Jack, thanks for sharing your experience with us!

  117. Jim Warren
    February 13, 2014

    Hi Kyle

    Have owned the TC10 for over a year with no issues until now. One shock starting to make a little noise. Am in the process of replacing TC10 with the TC20 for the extra features and treadle length. Hope it is as good as what I now have.

    Have read a lot of the questions and reviews. For those worried about not getting enough of a workout, don’t, as that will not happen – just increase the speed. If you are that good and this is not enough for you (not likely) it is still easy to fix – start wearing a weight belt and adjust resistance accordingly (same as on a treadmill and works great) and problem solved.

    Appreciate your informed comments. Thanks.

  118. Kyle
    February 14, 2014

    You’re so welcome, thanks for stopping by Jim!

    Have a great weekend,
    Kyle

  119. Vince
    February 26, 2014

    My issue is my weight (I am 6′ 4″ and 360 lbs). I want to get a TC20 to get rid of 120 pounds or so but Bowflex says it has a 300 pound limit. Is that just to cover them legally or will the machine just not work at all for me. I know for example an aluminum step ladder may have a 250 lb limit but I can climb up and down on it all day with no problems. I just don’t want to spend this kind of money and have it not work at all. I’ve tried to find blogs or somebody that has had one that was over the limit to know that it will handle the weight for a little while until I get below 300.

  120. Kyle
    February 26, 2014

    Hi Vince,

    I totally understand! I agree that companies have to cover themselves and sometimes the legal team can be pretty conservative compared to what the engineers might feel is possible, and this is a good example of that.

    I’d guess that you could use this since it’s not a high-impact machine like a treadmill, but I’m not positive that that they would honor the warranty if something did go wrong with it. That’s the only tricky part, but as long as it’s in good condition you could ship it back for a refund in the first 6 weeks if you feel like it’s not sturdy enough too.

    Hope that helps! Have a good day,
    Kyle

Post Comment